跳到内容
开始内容

研究与影响

追踪及保护濒危野生龟

追踪及保护濒危野生龟

科学教研组的方健恩教授利用新的环境DNA 技术追踪淡水龟。

淡水龟在整个亚洲濒临绝种,原因是人们捕捉它们作食品及宠物贩卖用途。中国文化一直视龟为吉祥和长寿的象徵,它们亦在生态系统的养分循环方面担当重要角色。寻找及保护野生种群乃刻不容缓之事;不过,利用捕捉器的传统方法,需耗费大量时间和精力,成功率却偏低,像在只有数尾鱼的大湖内捉鱼那么困难。

 

环境DNA 新技术有助寻找淡水龟

科学教研组助理教授方健恩获「优配研究金」及「杰出青年学者计划」的拨款,展开一个为期四年的研究项目。他说:「香港仍然有野生龟种群存在,因此,这是香港提供一个保护淡水龟的难得机遇。」方教授将会利用一种新的环境DNA 技术,追踪香港淡水龟的所在位置。

 

方教授认为,与诱捕方法比较,环境DNA 技术更快速,成本更低,侦查敏感度亦较高。生物会在环境里遗留细胞,例如皮肤、配子、粪便及血液等,只要提取到这些环境DNA 的重要线索,便可研究生物是否能在某些地方生存的问题,甚至可掌握其生存数量之多少。方教授收集水样本后,过滤当中的细胞,然后利用名为聚合酶链反应的标准实验室技术,了解是否有淡水龟在该地区生活。方教授解释说:「研究已证明,环境DNA方法有助寻找包括龟在内的多种水生脊椎动物。其他国家早已采用环境DNA 方法,但香港仍未广泛使用。我的目标是改进目前的环境DNA 方法,藉以寻找、监察和保护香港的淡水龟。」

 

保护本地原生品种

方教授对寻找五种香港原生品种特别感兴趣,它们包括:三线闭壳龟、大头龟、中华鳖、眼斑水龟及草龟。研究所得数据将有助日后进一步的探索,并提供基线数据作长期监察用途。此外,方教授亦将追踪红耳龟的活动习惯(别名巴西龟,学名Trachemys scripta elegans),这是北美洲原生品种,但已入侵香港。由於红耳龟经常与本地原生品种竞争生存空间,迫使后者濒临绝种;方教授通过分析红耳龟的环境DNA,追踪它们的散布情况,从而了解其对本地品种所造成的影响。

 

在未来三年,方教授将在香港50 个位於河流及湖泊的地点,收集水和泥土样本。样本将会在校园内新设立的「生物多样性及环境研究实验室」进行处理。方教授说:「环境DNA 研究有不少优点,其中之一是非科学专家也能收集样本。我希望学生能够参与这项目,让他们获得科学研究的实际经验。」这是新实验室成立以来首个重要的项目。

 

研究成果的应用

在完成整合研究数据后,方教授将会与政府及非政府组织合作,制定适当的保育策略。这些组织包括渔护署、嘉道理农场暨植物园及世界自然基金会。

 

除了保护香港本地品种的野生龟外,这项研究亦可展示如何利用环境DNA 保育淡水龟,并发挥模范作用,将来可扩大规模对整个中国、亚洲以至世界其他地方的濒临绝种淡水龟进行研究。

 

方教授最后分享说:「我从小热爱所有生物。小时候会到户外观看蜘蛛结网,或拿起石头看看下面隐藏了甚麽东西。我一直对龟类动物很感兴趣,无论它们去哪里都会带着自己的「家」作保护,令小时候的我很惊讶。」

 

Wild Turtles

更多 研究与影响

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Research & Impact

Tracking and conserving endangered wild turtles

Tracking and conserving endangered wild turtles

Prof Jonathan Fong in the Science Unit uses new eDNA techniques to track freshwater turtles.

Freshwater turtles are going extinct across Asia because of the food and pet trade. In addition to being an important symbol in Chinese culture, turtles play an important role cycling nutrients in an ecosystem. Locating and protecting the wild populations is urgent, yet the traditional method of using traps takes a lot of time and energy, and has a low probabilityof success — like fishing in a large lake with few fish.

 

New eDNA techniques to locate turtles

“Hong Kong provides a unique conservation opportunity because turtle populations still exist in the wild,” said Prof Jonathan Fong, Assistant Professor in the Science Unit, who has started a four-year research project supported by the General Research Fund and the Early Career Scheme. He will use new environmental DNA (eDNA) techniques to track the existence of freshwater turtles in Hong Kong.

 

Compared to trapping methods, the eDNA method is described by Prof Fong as faster, cheaper and more sensitive for detection. All living things naturally release their cells (such as skin, gametes, faeces and blood) into the environment. This eDNA can be extracted, which becomes a clue of an organism’s existence and even quantity in the area. Prof Fong collects water samples, filters out the cells, and uses a standard laboratory technique called polymerase chain reaction to see if turtles live in the area. “Studies have validated eDNA approaches for many aquatic vertebrates, including turtles. The eDNA approaches have been used in other countries but have not been widely adopted in Hong Kong. My objective is to refine existing eDNA methods to locate, monitor and protect Hong Kong’s freshwater turtles,” said Prof Fong.

 

Conservation of native species

Prof Fong is particularly interested in locating Hong Kong’s five native species, namely the Golden coin turtle, Big-headed turtle, Chinese softshell turtle, Beal’s eyed turtle and Chinese pond turtle. The data will be used to facilitate future studies and provide baseline data for long-term monitoring. Additionally, he will track the existence of Red-eared sliders (Trachemys scripta elegans), a species native to North America that is invasive to Hong Kong. Since Red-eared sliders often compete with native species and push them to extinction, analyzing their eDNA will allow Prof Fong to track their spread and understand its impact on native species.

 

In the coming three years, Prof Fong will collect water and soil samples from approximately 50 sites in Hong Kong’s rivers and lakes. The samples will be processed in the new Biodiversity and Environmental Research Laboratory on campus. “One advantage of studying eDNA is that you don’t have to be an expert in science to collect the samples. I’m hoping to involve students in this project so as to give them hands-on experience of doing scientific research,” said Prof Fong. This is the first research project benefited from the establishment of the new laboratory.

 

Application of research outcomes

After consolidating his research data, Prof Fong will work alongside governmental and non-governmental organisations such as Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden, and World Widlife Fund to develop appropriate conservation strategies.

 

Apart from protecting the habitats of turtles in Hong Kong, the research project will demonstrate the utility of eDNA for turtle conservation and serve as a model that can be scaled up to study endangered turtles across China, Asia and the rest of the world.

 

“I have always loved living things. I was the type of kid who would go outside to watch spiders build webs and lift up rocks to see what was underneath. Turtles have always been interesting to me because I was always amazed that they carry their home and protection with them wherever they go,” shared Prof Fong.

 

Wild Turtles

More in Research & Impact