跳到內容
開始內容

嶺大視角

非洲博士生研究揭示長者健康保障需求

非洲博士生研究揭示長者健康保障需求

從香港到遠至非洲的加納,全球幾乎每個國家或地區都感受到人口老化及其所帶來的健康問題。來自加納、取得的嶺大社會政策博士硏究生Razak Mohammed Gyasi,最近就在其故鄉進行了一項研究,了解當地長者的醫療保健需求及追求健康的行為,希望可改善當地長者的健康保障、長者政策框架及實施。

 

一向對人口老化及健康議題感興趣的Razak,於2015年9月到嶺大修讀博士課程,因嶺大在文科及社會科學方面表現卓越:「其實我來香港前,亦考取了其他國家大學的獎學金,但我選擇了嶺大,因為我想體驗嶺大著名的優質博雅教育。」

 

來到嶺大一年後,Razak最近在加納進行了一項健康硏究。根據統計資料,加納人口在本世紀一直老化:2015年該國人口中有7%為60歲或以上,預計到2030年將增至約9.5%,而到2050年更將增至12%。人口老化已引發愈來愈多健康問題,包括受傷、行動不便、慢性非傳染病,這些都在長者中常見。然而,加納與撒哈拉以南非洲其他地區一樣,醫療費用昂貴,而且服務不足以滿足民眾需要,特別是長者等弱勢社群。熱愛祖國的Razak決定了解有關情況,希望為此做一點事。他說:「了解長者醫療需求及追求健康的行為,是保障長者健康及改善人口老化政策框架及施行相關措施的基石。令人驚訝的是,對加納長者生活質素及醫療服務使用軌跡的研究仍不太多。」

 

為了尋找答案,Razak近期在加納進行了一項研究。是項硏究採用了一種使用多種混合設計的實用主義研究範式,向當地6個隨機抽樣的政治和行政區中1,200名50歲或以上的成年人進行問卷調查,另增加了69個深度訪談及非正式對話。

 

健康差 難獲醫療服務

 

儘管有關硏究的實際數據分析還未開始,但當中已可得出一些見解。一般來說,加納大多數長者均認為自己的健康欠佳,他們可能患上慢性非傳染疾病,例如高血壓、糖尿病、動脈炎、哮喘、呼吸道疾病、癌症、中風、慢性腎病及眼疾。另外,即使是適度的體育活動,例如園藝、慢跑、進行基本家務、上樓梯,對很多長者來說,都是艱鉅任務。一名75歲女長者在研究中說:「我沒有我想要的力量,今天很虛弱,有很多疾病纏擾我。我已患上柏金遜症多年,身體不斷顫抖。我亦患有痔瘡及排便困難。總之就是多病。」

 

此外,加納長者認為他們在得到常規醫療服務上有困難,主要是因為不方便及成本高昂,而長者的國家健康保險已失去信譽。因此,使用傳統、補充及替代藥物已成了當地大部分長者追求健康的方法。再者,由於不少年輕人離鄉別井及面臨經濟壓力,當地長者難以獲得來自年輕人的家庭跨代支持,在個人和社會孝道意識減弱下,長者的情緒健康受到嚴重影響。一名85歲男長者的評論或可說明這一點:「你看,我身體不好,但支付我的醫院賬單是非常昂貴的,我們沒有錢做到這一點。我的孩子們都搬到城市去討生活,他們偶爾會寄東西給我,但這沒有太多幫助。我亦得不到其他幫助。於是,我經常使用草藥和其他傳統藥材,這些似乎較容易獲得。」

 

長者健康研究應優先進行

 

Razak說:「這些初步結果說明,加納迫切需要一套明確及以實踐為基礎的長者政策框架,特別是政府的配合,以尋求及保障加納長者的醫療保健需求。他希望今次研究能為了解加納長者醫療保健問題提供開創性貢獻,並有助加納及其他地區實施針對長者的醫療政策,因為撒哈拉以南非洲地區及其他中低收入國家的人口,與加納長者人口在人口特徵、社會文化及經濟方面都有類似特徵。」

 

隨着人口老化成為全球現象,Razak認為,有關老化動力學、醫療保健特別需要及長者追求健康的決定的研究應優先進行,以解決人口老化所帶來的健康影響。

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Insights

Research by African PhD student unveils needs for elderly health protection

Research by African PhD student unveils needs for elderly health protection

From Hong Kong to Ghana, ageing population with its concomitant health implications is being felt in almost every region or country across the globe. Razak Mohammed Gyasi, a Lingnan PhD scholar in Social Policy from Ghana, has recently conducted a health research in his home country to understand the healthcare needs and health-seeking behaviour of the elderly, with the goal of improving elderly’s health protection and ageing policy framework and practice in Ghana.

 

Interested in ageing and health issues, Razak came to Lingnan to pursue his PhD in September 2015, due to Lingnan’s excellent performance in arts and social sciences. “Before I came to Hong Kong, I got scholarships from institutions in other countries too, but I chose Lingnan because I wanted to experience the quality liberal arts education that Lingnan is famous for,” said Razak.

 

Having come to Lingnan for a year, Razak recently has conducted a health research in Ghana. According to statistics, Ghana’s population has been growing older this century: 7% of Ghana’s population was aged 60 or above in 2015, and it will continue to increase to about 9.5% in 2030 and 12% in 2050. Ageing has led to increasing health challenges, including injuries, disabilities and chronic non-communicable diseases that are common in the elderly. However, like other parts of the sub-Saharan Africa, the healthcare service in Ghana was costly and inadequate for citizens, especially for disadvantaged groups including the elderly. Out of love for his home country, Razak decided to do something for the situation by finding out more, “Understanding the healthcare needs and health-seeking behaviour of the elderly is the cornerstone for elderly health protection and improvement towards a healthy, productive and successful ageing policy framework and practice in Ghana. Astonishingly, research on the quality of life and health service utilisation trajectories among elders in Ghana remains uncharted,” said Razak.

 

To find out the answers, Razak has conducted a study which adopts a pragmatist research paradigm making use of multiple mixed designs. Survey questionnaires were administered to 1,200 adults aged 50 years or older, across six randomly sampled political and administrative districts. This was augmented with 69 in-depth interviews and informal conversations.

 

Poor health and hard access to healthcare

 

Though the actual data analysis is yet to begin, certain insights have emerged from the data.  Generally, most of the elderly in Ghana perceive their health as poor, who may be imperiled with chronic non-communicable diseases, such as hypertension, diabetes, arteritis, asthma, respiratory disease, cancers, stroke, chronic kidney disease and eye problems. Besides, engaging in moderate physical activities such as gardening, jogging, performing basic household chores and climbing up steps are a difficult task for many. A 75-year-old female stated in the study: “I do not have the strength I would have preferred. I am very weak today.  There are so many diseases affecting me in particular. I have been suffering from Parkinson’s disease for years now. I keep shaking due to that. I also suffer from piles and have difficulty with bowel movement. As for the diseases, they are a lot.”

 

In addition, the elderly find it relatively difficult to get access to conventional healthcare, particularly due to poor access and high cost obligations, while the national health insurance for the elderly has lost its credibility. In this regard, traditional, complementary and alternative medicines constituted the vast majority of healthcare-seeking by older populations. Moreover, intergenerational support from the family for the elderly was poor due to migration and economic pressure for young adults. The utility of individual and societal filial piety was abated leading to serious implications for the emotional well-being of the elderly. A comment from an 85-year-old man may illustrate this: “I am not well but it is very expensive to pay for my hospital bills; no money to do this. My children have all moved to the urban communities to fend for themselves. They occasionally send in something but that cannot do much. There is no help from anywhere else. I always make use of herbs and other forms of traditional medicine which seem to be easily accessible.”

 

Research on elderly health should be prioritised

 

“These preliminary findings suggest that there is a critical need for a well-articulated and practice-based elderly policy framework, especially from the government arena, that will seek and protect the healthcare needs of the elderly in Ghana,” said Razak. He hopes this study is able to provide groundbreaking contributions to understanding elderly healthcare issues, and broadly towards elderly health policy implementation in Ghana and beyond, as populations in sub-Saharan Africa and other low- and middle-income countries share similar characteristics to the Ghanaian older adulthood in terms of demographic, sociocultural and economic strands.

 

As ageing population has become a global phenomenon, Razak thinks that research focusing on ageing dynamics, healthcare-specific needs and health-seeking decisions among the elderly should be prioritised, so as to address the attendant health implications.