跳到內容
開始內容

嶺大焦點

Darrell Rowbottom教授獲頒高等博士銜

Darrell Rowbottom教授獲頒高等博士銜

嶺大哲學系教授及系主任Darrell Rowbottom教授,獲英國杜倫大學於1月12日舉行的學位頒授儀式上,頒授榮譽文學博士(Doctor of Letters)銜。

 

由杜倫大學頒授的榮譽文學博士銜乃一項高等博士榮銜,旨在表揚最傑出、在其學術領域有巨大和原創性的貢獻、並已經發表或已獲接納發表的學術成果。一般而言,高等博士銜只會頒授予有傑出成就及在學術上具有高度影響力的學者。

 

Rowbottom教授於2011年加入嶺大哲學系,並自2015年起出任該系系主任。他專注的學術領域包括科學哲學、形式和非形式知識論(特別是或然性的基礎)、形而上學以及教育哲學。他的著作廣泛,現時為杜倫大學榮譽教授以及Australasian Journal of Philosophy的副編輯。

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Lingnan Highlights

Prof Darrell Rowbottom receives prestigious higher doctorate

Prof Darrell Rowbottom receives prestigious higher doctorate

Prof Darrell Rowbottom, Professor and Head of Lingnan University’s Department of Philosophy, was conferred the degree of Doctor of Letters by Durham University in the UK at its Congregation held on 12 January.

 

The Doctor of Letters is a Higher Doctorate awarded by Durham University in consideration of work which is of high distinction, constituting a substantial and original contribution to scholarship in the field, and which has already been published or accepted for publication. Higher Doctorates are normally awarded only to those with distinguished work of considerable scholarly impact.

 

Prof Rowbottom joined the Department of Philosophy of Lingnan University in 2011 and assumed the position of department head in 2015. His key areas of expertise are philosophy of science, formal and informal epistemology (especially foundations of probability), metaphysics and philosophy of education. He publishes extensively and is currently an Honorary Professor of Durham University and an Associate Editor of the Australasian Journal of Philosophy.