跳到内容
博雅教育成就一生
开始内容

大学发展

2013

 

田家炳内地学者及高级行政人员交流计划 2013

一 年一度的「田家炳内地学者及高级行政人员交流计划」已於2013年11月3至9日在岭大校园举行。今年,共有11位来自上海财经大学、天津大学、北京师范 大学、西北师范大学、东华大学、武汉大学、华中科技大学、福建师范大学、对外经济贸易大学、沈阳师范大学等高校的学者及高级行政人员来港参加。

交流计划内容包括由岭大各部门主管和代表,分享岭大具博雅教育特色的课程及活动。今年,岭大更获澳门大学副校长 (学生事务) 程海东教授与一众参加者分享其对博雅教育的认识,以及多年以来在台湾及澳门推行博雅教育的宝贵经验。

此 交流计划是田家炳博士的善举之一。田博士一直热心支持岭大博雅教育的发展,自2008年起,田家炳基金会合共捐资360万港元予岭大,加上香港特区政府 「配对补助金计划」的补助金,为岭大设立「田家炳教育基金」,每年透过举行「田家炳内地学者及高级行政人员交流计划」,向内地院校推广博雅教育的理念。
 
田家炳内地学者及高级行政人员交流计划 2013 picture 1 
岭大谘议会主席罗世杰医生(前排左四)、郑国汉校长(前排中)、田家炳基金会董事局董事戴希立先生(前排左买右四)与一众嘉宾及交流计划参加者合照。
 

 

岭步同行筹款日2013

第 四届「岭步同行筹款日2013」於2013年10月20日(星期日)举行,为一年一度的「岭南大学周」揭开序幕。是次活动有逾850名学生、校友、教职员 及各界友好参与,并筹得超过180万港元善款,为学生全人发展项目提供经费。今年的步行路径由红磡大环山公园,沿海滨长廊步行至尖沙咀星光大道。

开步典礼的主礼嘉宾包括:教育局常任秘书长谢凌洁贞太平绅士、岭大校董会主席陈智思议员太平绅士、校董会副主席欧阳伯权先生、大学发展委员会主席叶毓强教授及郑国汉校长。

是次活动所筹得的善款将向政府申请第六轮「配对补助金计划」的补助金。

本年度筹款金额最高的个人、队伍及参加人数最多的队伍和学生宿舍如下:

个人最高筹款奖
冠军:叶毓强教授
亚军:罗世杰医生、高静芝太平绅士
季军:施永青先生

队伍最高筹款奖
冠军:岭南钟荣光博士纪念中学
亚军:岭南大学管理学学系
季军:岭南中学

队伍最多人数参与奖
冠军:岭南钟荣光博士纪念中学
亚军:岭南大学学生服务中心
季军:岭南中学

学生宿舍最多人数参与奖
岭南大学忠信・逸民堂


岭步同行筹款日2013 picture 1  岭步同行筹款日2013 picture 2

岭步同行筹款日2013 picture 3  岭步同行筹款日2013 picture 4 
 
 

 

第十三及十四期粤东地区高级管理人员香港研讨班

 
第十三及十四期粤东地区高级管理人员香港研讨班分别於9月8日至14日及9月22日至28日在岭大校园举行。

岭大已连续第四年与香港潮属社团总会合办每年两期的研讨班。今年的研讨班主题为「社会管理与慈善事业」及「食物安全与品牌信誉」,分别有38及32位粤东地区的政府部门首长或领导参加。

研 讨班举行期间,岭大安排了一系列讲座,并邀请岭大教授、政府部门及来自不同机构的主讲嘉宾,与一众学员分享及畅谈经验。此外,又安排主题导赏及参观等活 动,让学员实地考察,加深对主题的了解。两期研讨班均获得香港潮属社团总会慷慨资助,旨在推动及加强本地与内地管理人员的知识交流。

第十三及十四期粤东地区高级管理人员香港研讨班 picture 1 第十三及十四期粤东地区高级管理人员香港研讨班 picture 2
(左) 香港潮属社团总会创会主席陈伟南先生(前排左七)、香港潮属社团总会主席陈幼南博士(前排右八)、郑国汉校长(前排右九)及第十三期研讨班学员合照。

(右) 第十四期研讨班学员在岭大校园合照
 

 

美国岭南基金会代表团到访岭大


美国岭南基金会代表团於2013年6月6日到访岭大,与校长、协理副校长、学术事务长及各受资助部门的要员会面,以了解大学的资助需要及各受资助项目的推行进度。

美国岭南基金会代表团到访岭大 picture
(前排由左至右) Ms Shenyu Belsky, 李经文教授, Dr Jane Permaul, 陈玉树校长, Dr Ding-Jo Currie 及李雄溪教授
(后排由左至右) 黎咏嫺女士、谢霍坚教授、乐美德教授、马学嘉博士、陈章明教授、刘燕萍教授、魏向东教授、毛南杰先生及罗丽芝女士

 

香港中华厂商联合会代表团到访岭大


香港中华厂商联合会代表团於2013年6月4日到访岭大,到访成员包括会长施荣怀太平绅士、副会长颜吴余英太平绅士、行政总裁梁世华先生、副行政总裁罗蕙英女士和秘书处职员,并由校董会主席陈智思议员太平绅士、陈玉树校长、大学发展委员会主席叶毓强教授及大学发展及校友事务处处长毛南杰先生接待。

香港中华厂商联合会代表团到访岭大 picture

(左五) 厂商会会长施荣怀太平绅士、(左六)厂商会副会长颜吴余英太平绅士、
(左四) 校董会主席陈智思议员太平绅士及(左七)陈玉树校长

 
 

 

岭南教育机构大使委任仪式

岭南教育机构大使委 任仪式已於2013 年5月21日假岭南会所圆满举行。由岭南教育机构主席陈斌博士及岭南大学校长陈玉树教授主礼,并颁发委任状予获委任的学生。今年,共有61名学生获委任为 岭南教育机构大使,他们肩负发扬岭南传统精神的重任,并秉承「作育英才,服务社会」的宗旨,贡献社会。

「岭南教育机构大使」十年计划由岭南教育机构慷慨资助,透过颁发不同的奖学金和奖项,鼓励成绩优异及在社会服务方面表现突出的学生,同时资助有经济困难的学生到国内或海外交流。获选的学生同时获委任为岭南教育机构大使。

岭南教育机构大使委任仪式 picture
一众岭南教育机构大使与岭南教育机构主席陈斌博士(右四)及陈玉树校长(右五)合照。
 

 

择善奖学金颁赠典礼

岭南大学於2013年5月3日颁发择善奖学金予20位成绩优异的学生,资助他们於2013/14年度前往海外或内地作一个学期的交流。

去年获奖并完成交流计划的同学,分享交流当地的热门话题和交流期间的感受,议题包括荷兰的性工作合法化、墨西哥的教育政策及极具争议性的美国枪械管制问题等。择善基金会项目总监陈淑茵女士与学生分享交流的经验,又勉励学生珍惜交流的机会。

择善奖学金成立於2006年,目的为资助成绩优异的学生出国交流一个学期,吸取宝贵的交流经验。直至2013/14学年为止,基金会已捐款港币共85万元正予87位学生。

择善奖学金颁赠典礼  picture 1
择善基金会项目总监陈淑茵女士。
择善奖学金颁赠典礼  picture 2
去年获奖学生分享对交流当地热门话题的观察和感想。
 

 

Effort 雕塑揭幕典礼

岭 南大学为答谢墨西哥雕塑家José Sacal先生慷慨捐赠其作品 Effort (西班牙语原名Esfuerzo),於2013年4月29日举行雕塑揭幕典礼。揭幕典礼的主礼嘉宾包括José Sacal先生、墨西哥驻港澳总领事Alicia Buenrostro Massieu女士、校董会主席陈智思议员太平绅士、陈玉树校长及副校长施雅德教授。

著名墨西哥雕塑及陶瓷艺术家José Sacal先生出生於墨西哥Cuernavaca市,曾在墨西哥城的国立艺术学院进修,师从Francisco Zuñiga、Arthur Khronengold及Enrique Altamirano等著名艺术家。Sacal先生曾在墨西哥、中国、韩国、法国、意大利、以色列、西班牙、南美洲多个国家及美国各大城市举行大型个人作 品展览,其作品往往能表达出他内心深处的澎湃情感,获誉为艺术精品。Sacal先生捐赠予岭大的雕塑,象徵人类力求进步、努力不懈学习以超越自我的精神。 雕塑放置於大学校园内的现代花园。


Effort 雕塑揭幕典礼 picture 1

(左起) 副校长施雅德教授、陈玉树校长、墨西哥驻港澳总领事Alicia Buenrostro Massieu女士、José Sacal先生及校董会主席陈智思议员太平绅士。

Effort 雕塑揭幕典礼 picture 2

一众嘉宾在典礼中留影。

Skip to Main Content
Liberal Arts Education Transformation For Life
Start main Content

Institutional Advancement

2013

Tin Ka Ping Mainland Scholars and Senior Administrators Exchange Programme 2013

The annual programme, “Tin Ka Ping Mainland Scholars and Senior Administrators Exchange Programme”, was held on 3-9 November 2013 on campus. There were 11 scholars and senior administrators from Beijing Normal University, Donghua University, Fujian Normal University, Huazhong University of Science & Technology, Northwest Normal University, Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, Shenyang Normal University, Tianjin University, University of International Business and Economics and Wuhan University participated in the Programme this year.

The Heads and representatives of academic departments and administrative units introduced and expounded programmes with liberal arts characteristics to the participants. Featured guest, Prof Haydn H D Chen, Vice Rector (Student Affairs) of the University of Macau was invited to share his distinctive insight and experience in promoting and implementing liberal arts education in Taiwan and Macau.

The Programme is a philanthropic act of Dr Tin Ka Ping, a keen supporter of Lingnan’s liberal arts education. The Tin Ka Ping Foundation has donated a total of HK$3.6 million to Lingnan University since 2008. Together with the matched grants under the government’s Matching Grant Schemes, the “Tin Ka Ping Education Fund” was established to finance the Programme with the aim of promoting liberal arts education in mainland China.
 
Tin Ka Ping Mainland Scholars and Senior Administrators Exchange Programme 2013 picture 
Chairman of the Court, Dr Frank Law (4th from left, front row), President Leonard K Cheng (centre, front row), Mr Tai Hay Lap, Directors of Tin Ka Ping Foundation (4th from right, front row) and the guests and participants of the Programme.

 

"Walking with Lingnanians" Fundraising Walkathon 2013

The fourth “Walking with Lingnanians” Fundraising Walkathon 2013 was held on 20 October 2013 (Sunday) with the participation of more than 850 students, alumni, teachers, staff and friends of Lingnan University. As the opening event of “Lingnan University Week 2013”, an annual array of activities of the University, the Walkathon started from Tai Wan Shan Park, Hung Hom and proceeded to the Avenue of Stars, Tsim Sha Tsui. Over HK$1.8 million was raised in support of the University’s whole-person development programmes.

Officiating guests of the kick-off ceremony included Mrs Cherry Tse, JP, Permanent Secretary for Education, Government of HKSAR; The Hon Bernard Charnwut Chan, GBS, JP, Chairman of the University Council; Mr Rex Auyeung Pak-kuen, Deputy Chairman of the University Council; Prof Albert Ip Yuk-keung, Chairman of the University Institutional Advancement Committee and President Leonard K Cheng, JP

Every dollar raised from the Walkathon will be counted in Lingnan’s application for matching grants under the Government’s Sixth Matching Grant Scheme.

Awards were presented to top individual and team fundraisers as well as the team and student hostel with the highest number of participants:

Highest amount of donation: Individual
Champion: Prof Albert Ip Yuk-keung
First Runners-up: Dr Frank Law Sai-kit and Ms Sophia Kao Ching-chi
Second Runner-up: Mr Shih Wing-ching

Highest amount of donation: Team
Champion: Lingnan Dr Chung Wing Kwong Memorial Secondary School
First Runner-up: Department of Management, Lingnan University
Second Runner-up: Lingnan Secondary School

Highest number of participants: Team
Champion: Lingnan Dr Chung Wing Kwong Memorial Secondary School
First Runner-up: Student Services Centre, Lingnan University
Second Runner-up: Lingnan Secondary School

Highest number of participants: Student Hostel
Chung Shun Yee Min Hall (Hall C)


 

 
 
 
 

 

The 13th and 14th Seminar for Senior Administrators from East Guangdong Region

Lingnan University and the Federation of Hong Kong Chiu Chow Community Organizations co-organised “The 13th and 14th Seminars for Senior Administrators from the East Guangdong Region” on 8-14 and 22-28 September respectively on campus.

This marks the fourth consecutive year of co-operation between the University and the Federation in organising these annual seminars, with 38 and 32 senior administrators from East Guangdong participating under the themes of “Social Management and Philanthropy” and “Food Safety and Brand Reputation” respectively.
 
Professors of Lingnan University and experts from government departments and corporations shared their experience with the attendees. Thematic tours and visits were also arranged to enrich participants’ understanding towards the themes. The seminars were sponsored by the Federation of Hong Kong Chiu Chow Community Organizations to strengthen the knowledge exchange between local and Mainland senior administrators. 

The 13th and 14th Seminar for Senior Administrators from East Guangdong Region picture 1 The 13th and 14th Seminar for Senior Administrators from East Guangdong Region picture 2
(Left) The Founding President of the Federation of Hong Kong Chiu Chow Community Organizations, Mr Chan Wai Nam (7th from the left, first row), President of the Federation of Hong Kong Chiu Chow Community Organizations, Dr Ian Chan Yau Nam (8th from the right, first row), President Leonard K Cheng (9th from the right, first row) and the senior administrators of the 13th seminar.

(Right) The senior administrators of the 14th seminar. 
 

 

A delegation from Lingnan Foundation pays visit to Lingnan

Dr Jane Permaul, President, Ms Shenyu Belsky, Trustee and Dr Ding-Jo Currie, Executive Director of Lingnan Foundation paid a visit to Lingnan University on 6 June 2013. During the visit, trustees met with the President, Associate Vice-Presidents, faculty Deans and staff from sponsored departments such as Office of Mainland and International Programmes and Department of Visual Studies to learn about the funding needs of the University and also the progress of the sponsored programmes.

The Lingnan Foundation, an American philanthropy, seeks to contribute to the advancement of higher education in South China and, in this process, promote understanding between Chinese and Americans. Since 1998, Lingnan Foundation continues to support Lingnan University in different programmes such as Artist-in-Residence Programme, Outgoing Exchange Student Need-based Financial Aid Scheme and Visiting Service-Learning Tutor Scheme, etc. 

IA delegation from Lingnan Foundation pays visit to Lingnan picture

(1st row, from left to right) Ms Shenyu Belsky, Prof William Lee, Dr Jane Permaul, Prof Chan Yuk-Shee, Dr Ding-Jo Currie and Prof Lee Hung Kai
(2nd row, from left to right) Ms Joanne Lai, Prof Dean Tjosvold, Prof Mette Hjort, Dr Carol Ma, Prof Alfred Chan, Prof Grace Lau, Prof Wei Xiangdong, Mr Matthew Mo and Ms Jessie Law
 
 

 

A delegation of the Chinese Manufacturer's Association of Hong Kong visits our campus

A delegation from The Chinese Manufacturer’s Association of Hong Kong paid a visit to Lingnan on 4 June 2013. The delegation included President Mr Irons Sze, Vice President Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu Ying, Chief Executive Officer Mr Paul S W Leung, Deputy Chief Executive Officer Ms Rosita Law and staff from the Secretariat. They were warmly received by the University’s Council Chairman the Hon Bernard Charnwut Chan, President Chan Yuk-Shee and the University’s Institutional Advancement Committee Chairman Prof Albert Ip Yuk Keung and Director of Institutional Advancement and Alumni Affairs Mr Matthew Mo.

A delegation of the Chinese Manufacturer's Association of Hong Kong visits our campus picture
(5th from left) CMA President Mr Irons Sze,  (6th from left) CMA Vice President Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu Ling, (4th from left) Council Chairman The Hon Bernard Charnwut Chan, and (7th from left) President Chan Yuk-Shee
 

 

Lingnan Education Organization Ambassadors Appointment Ceremony

The Lingnan Education Organization (LEO) Ambassadors Appointment Ceremony was held at Lingnan Club on 21 May 2013. Dr David Pun Chan, Chairman of LEO and Prof Chan Yuk-Shee, President of Lingnan University, officiated at the Ceremony and presented certificates of appointment to the students. This year, 61 students were appointed LEO Ambassadors who will help promote Lingnan’s fine traditions and carry out its noble mission of “Education for Service”.

Generously supported by LEO, the 10-year “LEO Ambassadors Programme” provides awards and scholarships to recognise students with outstanding academic performance and social service commitment, and to support needy students to go on exchange. Awardees of the Programme are appointed LEO Ambassadors.

Lingnan Education Organization Ambassadors Appointment Ceremony picture
LEO Ambassdors take group photo with LEO Chairman Dr David Pun Chan (4th from right) and President Chan Yuk-Shee (5th from right).

 

 

 
 

ZeShan Foundation Scholarships Presentation Ceremony

On 3 May 2013, 20 scholarships were awarded by ZeShan Foundation to support students going on exchange for one semester in the academic year 2013/14.

Last year’s scholarship recipients who had returned from their exchange shared their observations and opinion on controversial social issues in their host countries, such as legalization of sex work in the Netherlands; education policies in Mexico; as well as the hotly debated gun policy in the US. Ms Yan Chan, Programme Director of ZeShan Foundation, joined in the exchange experience sharing session and encouraged students to treasure the exchange opportunities.

The "ZeShan Foundation Scholarships" was established in 2006 to support students with good academic performance to go on exchange for one academic semester. Up to 2013/14, the Foundation has awarded scholarships amounting HK$850,000 to 87 students.


ZeShan Foundation Scholarships Presentation Ceremony picture 1
Ms Yan Chan, Programme Director of ZeShan Foundation.
ZeShan Foundation Scholarships Presentation Ceremony picture 2
Exchange returnees give their presentations on controversial social issues in their host countries.
 
 

 

The Unveiling Ceremony of the Sculpture "Effort" by Mr José Sacal

In appreciation of the generous donation by renowned Mexican sculptor Mr José Sacal of his work "Effort" ("Esfuerzo" in Spanish) to Lingnan University, an unveiling ceremony was held on 29 April 2013. Officiating guests of the ceremony included Mr José Sacal, Ambassador Alicia Buenrostro Massieu, Consul General of Mexico in Hong Kong and Macao, the University’s Council Chairman the Hon Bernard Charnwut Chan, President Chan Yuk-Shee and Vice-President Prof Jesús Seade.

Mr Sacal is a renowned sculptor and ceramist born in Cuernavaca, Mexico. He studied at the National Institute of Fine Arts in Mexico City and trained with Francisco Zuñiga, Arthur Khronengold and Enrique Altamirano. Mr Sacal has held major solo exhibitions in Mexico, China, Korea, France, Italy, Israel, Spain, various countries in South America and major locations in the US. His work has been described as essence because it arrives from the deepest of his feelings expressed through the beings he creates. The sculpture “Effort” donated by Mr Sacal, which symbolises man’s struggle to improve or better himself through education, is erected at the Contemporary Garden of the University’s campus.

The Unveiling Ceremony of the Sculpture
(From left) Vice-President Prof Jesús Seade, President Chan Yuk-Shee, Consul General of Mexico in Hong Kong and Macao Amb Alicia Buenrostro Massieu, Mr José Sacal and Council Chairman The Hon Bernard Charnwut Chan.
The Unveiling Ceremony of the Sculpture
Guests take group photos at the Ceremony.