嶺南大學博雅教育之特點

Liberal Arts Environment

嶺南大學的博雅教育旨在建立學生的公民意識,並培育他們的知識、技能及洞察力,使他們畢業後能在瞬息萬變的環境中,追求自己的目標。嶺大畢業生將具備廣闊且深遠的視野、服務社會的熱忱和能力、理解複雜問題的智慧、面對窘局的忍耐力和成熟的判斷力。嶺大學生受惠於多元教學模式,不論成為領袖或僱員,均同樣出色。

Liberal Arts Environment

Our Education Characteristics

課程

課程

嶺大開辦的本科課程、修課式研究生課程和研究生課程,涵蓋人文學、商學及社會科學三大範疇。我們設有基礎廣闊的課程,內容涵蓋通識及跨學科科目,以鞏固學生不同學科的知識基礎。核心課程是本科生課程的重要組成部分。

教與學

教與學

嶺南大學推行以學生為本的教學模式,注重師生的緊密關係,更強調雙向的互動教學方法。此外,我們亦提供實習、海外遊學、沉浸式語文研習、指導研究、協作學習及行動學習等機會。

校園生活

校園生活

宿舍生活及其他各式各樣的活動為學生提供課外的寶貴經驗,並提升他們的溝通技巧和慎思明辨的能力。學生亦有廣泛的交流、獎學金及實習機會,全面發展潛能。

國際化

國際化

我們致力拓展學生的國際視野,尤其着重雙向文化交流。我們已經與分佈於近43個國家,超過210所伙伴院校簽訂協議,讓超過八成半本科生可參與學生交換計劃、暑期或冬季課程。教職員中佔半數具國際背景,而約有七分之一學生是修讀整個學位的外來生或只是個別學期課程的交換生。此外,我們亦與世界博雅學府聯盟的成員學府及其他院校交流合作,促進嶺大國際化的進程。

社區服務

社區服務

社區服務是嶺大教育不可或缺的部分。我們強調多元化教學,以「作育英才.服務社會」為校訓,給予學生許多參與各類型社會服務項目的機會。從2016-17學年開始,融合服務研習元素的課程成為所有本科生的必修科,這反映我們十分重視社區參與,並希望同學通過實際經驗深化學習過程。

Liberal arts education at Lingnan University aims to instil a sense of civic duty in our students and to cultivate skills, competences and sensibilities that enable graduates to pursue their goals in a rapidly changing social, cultural and economic environment. Lingnan graduates will have breadth and depth of vision, the desire and capacity for public service, an awareness of the complexities that characterise enduring human dilemmas, and, accordingly, maturity of judgement. Excellent as leaders and employees, Lingnan graduates will be the beneficiaries of a multi-dimensional approach to learning.

Liberal arts education at Lingnan University aims to instil a sense of civic duty in our students and to cultivate skills, competences and sensibilities that enable graduates to pursue their goals in a rapidly changing social, cultural and economic environment. Lingnan graduates will have breadth and depth of vision, the desire and capacity for public service, an awareness of the complexities that characterise enduring human dilemmas, and, accordingly, maturity of judgement. Excellent as leaders and employees, Lingnan graduates will be the beneficiaries of a multi-dimensional approach to learning.

嶺南大學的博雅教育旨在建立學生的公民意識,並培育他們的知識、技能及洞察力,使他們畢業後能在瞬息萬變的社會、文化及經濟環境中,追求自己的目標。嶺大畢業生將具備廣闊且深遠的視野、服務社會的熱忱和能力、理解複雜問題的智慧、面對窘局的忍耐力和成熟的判斷力。嶺大學生受惠於多元教學模式,不論成為領袖或當僱員,均同樣出色。

Lingnan's Liberal Arts Education

Liberal Arts Environment

Liberal arts education at Lingnan University aims to instil a sense of civic duty in our students and to cultivate skills, competences and sensibilities that enable graduates to pursue their goals in a rapidly changing social, cultural and economic environment. Lingnan graduates will have breadth and depth of vision, the desire and capacity for public service, an awareness of the complexities that characterise enduring human dilemmas, and, accordingly, maturity of judgement. Excellent as leaders and employees, Lingnan graduates will be the beneficiaries of a multi-dimensional approach to learning.

Liberal Arts Environment

Our Education Characteristics

Curricula

Curricula

We offer undergraduate, taught postgraduate and research postgraduate programmes in the areas of Arts, Business and Social Sciences, and our broad curriculum covers an array of general education and interdisciplinary courses to provide students with a firm knowledge foundation across different subjects. The Core Curriculum is an essential part of our undergraduate curriculum.

Teaching and Learning

Teaching and Learning

We adopt a student-oriented teaching and learning approach, emphasise close faculty-student relationship and stress interactive teaching and learning modes. We also provide internships, overseas field trips, immersion language studies, directed research projects, cooperative learning and action learning.

Campus Life

Campus Life

Hostel life and other diverse programmes give students valuable, out-of-class experiences and enhance their communication skills as well as critical thinking abilities. Students also have a wide range of exchange, scholarships and internship opportunities to develop their full potentials.

Internationalisation

Internationalisation

We provide students with international exposure, particularly through bilateral cultural exchange. To date, we have more than 210 partner institutions in about 43 countries and over 85% of our undergraduates go on exchange or participate in summer or winter programmes. Half of our faculty have international background while one-seventh of our student population are non-local full-programme or semester-long exchange students. We also enhance our internationalisation efforts through collaborative initiatives with other institutions including those of Global Liberal Arts Alliance.

Community Service

Community Service

Community service is an integral part of Lingnan’s education. We emphasise diversity in both teaching and learning, and use “Education for Service” as our guiding motto. Students are given many chances to engage in various service projects. Starting from 2016-17, S-L will become a graduate requirement for undergraduate studies, signifying our commitment to community engagement and deep learning through experience.

Graduate Attributes

Graduate Attributes

Liberal arts education at Lingnan University aims to instil a sense of civic duty in our students and to cultivate skills, competences and sensibilities that enable graduates to pursue their goals in a rapidly changing social, cultural and economic environment. Lingnan graduates will have breadth and depth of vision, the desire and capacity for public service, an awareness of the complexities that characterise enduring human dilemmas, and, accordingly, maturity of judgement. Excellent as leaders and employees, Lingnan graduates will be the beneficiaries of a multi-dimensional approach to learning.