Skip to Main Content
Liberal Arts Education Transformation For Life Emerald Publishing
Start main Content


Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Arts

The Faculty of Arts includes seven Departments, two Language Centres and four Research Centres. It currently offers 10 undergraduate major programmes and a self-financing bachelor degree programme. All of the majors simultaneously teach advanced disciplinary competence so that interested students may pursue postgraduate studies, and important transferrable skills such as textual and logical analysis and effective written and spoken communication that prepare our graduates for careers in business, government, creative industries, and education.


Students are welcome to apply directly to seven majors (Chinese, Contemporary English Studies, Cultural Studies, History, Philosophy, Translation and Visual Studies). They may also consider applying for interdisciplinary majors (Chinese Literature, History and Philosophy; Film and Media Studies; Student-designed major) during their studies.


Most of our programmes are interdisciplinary in nature. For example, Visual Studies combines aesthetics, art history, and film studies, while Contemporary English Studies combines the study of literature and applied linguistics. The Faculty also offers a self-financing bachelor degree programme in Animation and Digital Arts starting from 2019 intake in order to cultivate talents in the creative industries.