LINGNAN UNIVERSITY

A Summary of Discussions and the Decisions of the Council Meeting Held on 12 January 2016

- 1. The Council WELCOMED five new lay Council members, viz Ms Maggie CHAN Man-ki, Dr Junius HO Kwan-yiu, Mr Armstrong LEE Hon-cheung, Ms Anthea LO Wing-sze and Mr Michael NGAI Ming-tak, three new staff Council members, viz Professor Peter BAEHR, Professor Annie CHAN Hau-nung, and Professor WEI Xiangdong and the Vice-President, Professor Joshua MOK Ka-ho for attending the Council meeting for the first time.
- 2. The Council RECORDED a vote of thanks to five lay Council members, viz. Mr Bernard AUYANG Pak-hong, Professor Albert IP Yuk-kueng, Ms Anna KWONG Sum-yee, Ms Nikki NG Mien-hua, Mr Douglas WOO Chun-kuen, and three staff Council members, viz. Professor CHAN Koon-hung, Professor Mette HJORT and Dr Tommy YEUNG Kai-yin whose term of office completed on 21 October 2015.
- 3. The Council RECEIVED a report from the President on the activities of the University, including
 - (a) The University has signed inter-institutional agreements of cooperation with the following institutions, viz. School of Humanities, University of Mannheim (Germany), Carthage College (USA), and the Underwood International College of Yonsei University (Korea).
 - (b) The University has signed a Memorandum of Understanding and Student Exchange Agreement with Radboud University Nijmegen (the Netherlands), and a Framework Cooperation Agreement and Working Programme no. 1 to the Framework Cooperation Agreement with Cracow University of Economics (Poland).
 - (c) The University has signed an agreement of student exchange with High Point University (USA).
 - (d) The University has also renewed inter-institutional agreements of cooperation with Bellarmine University (USA) and Utica College (USA), Koç University (Turkey) and Augustana College (USA). Areas of cooperation include student and faculty/staff exchange programmes, etc. In addition, the agreement for academic exchange with International Christian University (Japan) has also been renewed.
 - (e) The University has renewed the memorandum of agreement with HKMA for the Advanced Diploma in Management Studies (ADMS) Programme and the Advanced Diploma in Business Management (ADBM) Programme.
 - (f) The Science Unit has been established under the Core Curriculum and General Education Office since 2014.
 - (g) In the QS University Rankings for 2015, in the subject of philosophy Lingman was placed in the ranges of 9 16 and 100 150 in Asia and worldwide, respectively. According to this ranking, Lingman is one of the top sixteen universities in Asia in the subject of philosophy.
 - (h) Forbes named Lingnan as one of the "Top 10 Liberal Arts Colleges in Asia" in 2015.

- (i) The University organised the Naming Ceremony of "The Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong Integrated IT Study Centre" on 24 November 2015 in appreciation of the generosity of The Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong to establish the "First Generation University Education Fund".
- (j) The University received a donation of over 130 books from the Royal Thai Consulate-General in Hong Kong in celebration of the 60th birthday of Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn of Thailand, a Lingnan honorary doctorate recipient.
- (k) Lingnan scholars have successfully obtained funding support for 13 General Research Fund (GRF) and 5 Early Career Scheme (ECS) projects totaling over HK\$6.8 million in the 2015-16 funding exercise of the Research Grants Council. For GRF applications, Lingnan has 13 projects funded out of 36 applications, ranking second among all the eight UGC-funded institutions.
- (l) Professor Victoria Yeung Wai-lan of the Department of Applied Psychology has been selected as one of the two recipients of the Fulbright-RGC Hong Kong Senior Research Scholar Award in 2015-16.
- (m) Mr Peter Law, an MPhil graduate from the Department of History, was granted The Swire Scholarship in Chinese History of over £73,000 to support his PhD study at the prestigious School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London in September 2015.
- (n) Assistant Professor Alex Wong and PhD student Haftom Bayray Kahsay, in a teacher-student partnership of the Department of Economics, initiated a project to alleviate poverty of North Ethiopian farmers. They were awarded a €300,000-Euro research grant by WOTRO Science for Global Development under the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) to conduct a two-year study on "The Cost Effectiveness of Integrating Weather Index Agricultural Insurance into the Productive Safety Net Program in Ethiopia".
- (o) The Service-Learning project entitled "Think, Act, Contribute", a unique way to promote healthy living in Tuen Mun District, received the "Outstanding Health Promotion Project Award" at the Health Promotion Symposium 2015 organised by the Food and Health Bureau in November 2015 in recognition of its outstanding contributions to health promotion and disease prevention.
- 4. The Council RECEIVED the following:
 - (a) Report from the Appeals Committee;
 - (b) Report from the Audit Committee;
 - (c) Report from the Career Development Committee;
 - (d) Report from the Christian Activities Committee;
 - (e) Report from the Finance Committee; and
 - (f) Report from the Institutional Advancement Committee.
- 5. The Council RE-APPOINTED Mr Anthony NG Kwai-wah as the Vice-Chairman of the Christian Activities Committee for a term of two years from 20 February 2016.
- 6. The Council NOTED the general situation of the progress/updates of the following building projects on campus:
 - (a) the Jockey Club New Hall;

- (b) the Simon and Eleanor Kwok Building, Wong Hoo Chuen Hall & Wu Jieh Yee Hall;
- (c) the footbridge linking the Patrick Lee Wan Keung Academic Building and indoor sports complex to the existing public footbridge;
- (d) improvement works to Mr and Mrs Lam Kau Yui Fitness Centre and changing rooms at indoor sports complex and extension of spectator stand at outdoor sports ground;
- (e) improvement works to the existing disabled lift at the Chan Tak Tai Auditorium, and re-arrangement of the Fong Sum Wood Library's study area at 2/F and 3/F of Patrick Lee Wan Keung Academic Building and Wong Administration Building;
- (f) design of the new covered walkway connecting the existing Jockey Club Hall covered walkway to entrance of Student Function Hall; and
- (g) improvement works to the student bedrooms, common corridors, bathroom and lavatory facilities of the student hostels.

* * * * *