The Liberal Art University in Hong Kong
列印 | 字型大小: 字型大小: 較小 字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大

2015年9月25日

President's photo各位嶺南人:

在新學年開始之際,我很高興跟你們分享一個令人振奮的消息:嶺南大學被《福布斯》評為「亞洲十大頂尖博雅學院」之一!

《福布斯》的「亞洲十大頂尖博雅學院」排名是參考「2014年QS亞洲大學排名」的九個指標而分析得出的結果,該些指標包括:(1) 學術聲譽、(2) 僱主聲譽、(3) 師生比例、(4) 論文平均被引用次數、(5) 教員平均論文數量、(6) 國際教員比例、(7) 國際學生比例、(8) 外來交流生比例;及 (9) 外出交流生比例。

不同的排名活動各有它們獨特的排名方法及局限,但我很高興看到《福布斯》帶頭把博雅學府作為一個單獨的高等教育機構組別來比較。因為教與學對博雅教育的重要性,假如排名方法也包括一些反映學生學習體驗質量的主要指標,那就更能真確反映博雅學府的高低了。無論如何,這個成績肯定了一代又一代嶺南人為把大學辦成亞洲最佳博雅學府所付出的努力。我深信這種肯定,將會鼓舞我們更加努力,做得更好。

歡迎新生及新教職員加入嶺大家庭

夏天對我來說總是一個令人振奮的季節,因為每年這個時間,嶺大這個學習和研究學問的地方,都會迎來一批充滿活力的年輕人。

我於8月21日在新生迎新營與今年加入嶺大的新生首次見面,感受到這些年輕人即將為大學未來發展注入的能量和動力,覺得十分興奮。數日後,我於8月25日歡迎一批於今個學年加入嶺大,充滿熱誠和朝氣的教職員,同樣感到高興和欣慰。我謹藉此機會歡迎加入嶺大這個大家庭的一眾新生和同事!這批新一代的嶺南人,將肩負重任,延續我們博雅教育的傳統,以及我們引以為傲的「嶺南精神」!

新管理層成員帶來新動力

對於大學管理層團隊的同事滿懷熱誠,無私奉獻,帶領嶺大迎接各種挑戰和把握發展機遇,我深為欣慰。自8月起,以下教員接受了新的行政職務:副校長莫家豪教授、協理副校長(學術素質保證與國際事務)夏爾馬教授、協理副校長(學術)王耀宗教授、協理副校長(學生事務)李東輝博士、以及文學院院長孫藝風教授。在過去同事所奠定的基礎上,加上大學同仁的支持,我確信新的管理層團隊將能令嶺大繼續茁壯成長,以他們的新動力進一步提升我們的博雅教育。

科學教研組充實博雅教育

最近一項令人振奮的策略性發展,就是在核心課程及通識教育辦事處之下成立「科學教研組」,令嶺大的博雅教育更充實。由本學期開始,Mark Alan McGinley教授成為教研組的教授兼主任,方健恩教授則出任助理教授。憑著他們為博雅院校設計和教授科學課程的經驗,我相信科學教研組將能大大提升嶺大本科核心課程中「科學、科技與社會」課程組别的質素和內涵,成為博雅教育全面知識基礎的重要元素。

研究資助局2015/16年度撥款申請成績優異

我十分高興向你們滙報在研究資助局2015/16年度撥款申請中,嶺大學者成功申請13個「優配研究金」及5個「傑出青年學者計劃」項目,取得合共逾680萬元撥款,為去年金額310萬元的兩倍以上。

「優配研究金」方面,嶺大申請的成功率達36.1%,在八所資助院校之中排行第二。嶺大在當中的「人文學及社會科學」學科小組申請成功率達47.4%,更為八大院校之冠。「傑出青年學者計劃」方面,嶺大申請的成功率達71.4%,在八大院校中居首。在「人文學及社會科學」學科小組,我們的申請成功率達66.7%,在八大院校中亦居首位。嶺大提交的「傑出青年學者計劃」項目質素獲高度評價,當中43%取得4.5或5的評分(評分標準為1至5),遠高於各院校平均的20%。這些令人鼓舞的結果,反映出嶺大學者的研究實力。

處理食水中鉛含量的措施

校方於九月一日公佈第一輪為校園內不同地點抽取水樣本進行含鉛量化驗的結果,並於9月24日公佈第二輪包括其他地點,以及在第一輪化驗時發現兩處含鉛量過高地點的水樣本化驗結果。因為教職員及同學的安全和健康是大學最關注的事項,在每輪化驗後,校方都即時安排暫停有含鉛量過高問題的供水,提供蒸餾水,以及加裝NSF53認證濾水器,並在知會受影響的師生後,再通知全校師生和傳媒。

新行人天橋開通連結整個校園

我很高興向大家宣佈,連接商學院所在的郭少明伉儷樓、黃浩川堂、伍絜宜堂、室外運動場和主校園的行人天橋,經歷一些延誤後,終於在9月21日正式開通。今後我們的同學和教職員,可以毋須橫過校園外兩條交通繁忙的道路而穿梭整個校園。幾位商學院的同事告訴我,該條行人天橋讓他們感覺到整個校園真正地連結在一起。這實在是我於2013年9月加入嶺大以來,在天橋工程尚未動工之前就一直期待的日子。

閱讀發掘新知識滿足求知慾

除校務之外,亦讓我和大家分享一些個人的生活點滴。我繼續享受著學習本人學術領域以外的知識。我習慣在睡前閱讀讓自已放鬆,並把握這個時間慢慢讀畢了諾貝爾獎得主莫言的長篇小說《豐乳肥臀》。我現在正閱讀他的另一短篇小說《蛙》。兩本著作均幫助我從人的層面,了解中國經歷的社會動盪和政經變遷。

此外,我亦維持閱讀《紐約時報國際版》的習慣,去認識世界事務和最新的科學發現。最近南非的考古學家取得一項令人興奮的發現。由約翰內斯堡金山大學美籍古人類學家Lee R. Berger教授率領,超過60名科學家組成的國際團隊,發掘出一種之前未被發現,名為 “Homo naledi” 的古人類化石。在當地的語言中,“naledi” 解作「星」。有關方面的專家指出這是一次重要發現,因為它似乎根本地動搖了被廣泛地接受的人類進化理論。主因是與以雙腳行走的古人類物種比較, “Homo naledi” 有部份特徵較為先進,但有些則較落後。

或許你未必和我一樣對這則報導產生興趣,但說不定你會被其他領域的新發現所吸引,例如星球、海洋、氣候、藥物、電腦、自行生產或修補的機器、電動車、電腦操控汽車,又或是美國和伊朗核協議及背後的核子科學。我期盼我們同學的好奇心,能驅使他們廣泛地閱讀,因為學習和共同學習能夠帶給他們的滿足感,不是用金錢可以獲得的。

在這個學年的稍後時間,我會再次向大家滙報嶺大的最新發展。在此之前,我十分希望能夠於10月25日在觀塘海濱花園舉行的「嶺步同行籌款日」和大家見面。請大家把握機會,和一眾嶺南人攜手支持嶺大!

最後,謹祝大家和家人共渡愉快的中秋佳節!

 

校長鄭國漢謹啟

The Liberal Art University in Hong Kong
Print Friendly | Text size: Decrease font Default font Increase font

 

25 September 2015

President Leonard K ChengDear Lingnanians,

At the very beginning of this academic year, I am happy to share with you an exciting news: Lingnan University was named as one of the “Top 10 Liberal Arts Colleges in Asia” by Forbes earlier this year!

The top 10 list is based on the 2014 QS University Rankings for Asia, which uses nine indicators to compile its rankings including (1) academic reputation, (2) employer reputation, (3) faculty/student ratio, (4) citations per paper, (5) papers per faculty, (6) proportion of international faculty, (7) proportion of international students, (8) proportion of inbound exchange students and (9) proportion of outbound exchanges students.

While different ranking exercises have their own methodologies and limitations, I am happy to see that Forbes has taken an initiative to compare liberal arts institutions as a separate category of higher education institutions.  Given the importance of teaching and learning to liberal arts education, it would better reflect the relative standing of liberal arts institutions had the ranking included some key measures of the quality of students’ learning experience.  In any event, this result recognises the efforts of generations of Lingnanians in making the University one of the best liberal arts institutions in Asia.  I trust the recognition will encourage us to work even harder and do even better.

Welcoming new staff and students to the Lingnan community

Summer is always a heart-warming season for me, because it is the time to welcome energetic young men and women to the Lingnan community of learning and discovery.

On 21 August when I met with new students who joined Lingnan this year at the New Students Orientation, I was thrilled to experience the vigour and momentum these young people are going to inject into Lingnan to propel us forward.  I felt the same sense of excitement and optimism a few days later on 25 August when I greeted a group of passionate, dynamic academic and administrative staff who joined Lingnan starting this academic year.  May I take this opportunity to give a warm welcome to our new students and colleagues to the Lingnan family!  This new generation of Lingnanians will play a crucial role in carrying on our fine liberal arts tradition and our proud “Lingnan Spirit”. 

New senior management team brings new energy

I am deeply gratified by the enthusiasm and dedication of our senior management team which will lead the University in addressing challenges and realizing opportunities.  Starting from August, the following faculty members have taken up new administrative posts: Prof Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Vice-President; Prof Shalendra Sharma, Associate Vice-President (Academic Quality Assurance and Internationalisation); Prof Wong Yiu-chung, Associate Vice-President (Academic Affairs); Dr Li Donghui, Associate Vice-President (Student Affairs) and Prof Sun Yifeng, Dean of the Faculty of Arts.  On the solid foundation laid down by their predecessors and together with the support by fellow colleagues, I am confident that the new senior management team will develop Lingnan into a stronger institution and further enhance our liberal arts education with their new energy.

New Science Unit enriches liberal arts education

An exciting strategic development that contributes to the enrichment of liberal arts education is the establishment of the Science Unit under the Core Curriculum and General Education Office.  Starting this semester, Prof Mark Alan McGinley is the Unit’s Professor and Head, with Prof Jonathan Fong serving as Assistant Professor.  With their experience in designing and teaching science courses in liberal arts institutions, I am confident that the Science Unit will greatly enhance the quality and content of the “Science, Technology and Society” cluster of our undergraduate Core Curriculum, an essential element of the broad-based foundation of liberal arts education.

Outstanding performance in 2015/16 RGC funding exercise

I am happy to share with you that in the 2015/16 funding exercise of the Research Grants Council (RGC) Lingnan scholars have successfully obtained funding support for 13 General Research Fund (GRF) and five Early Career Scheme (ECS) projects totaling over HK$6.8 million, which is more than doubling last year’s HK$3.1 million. 

For GRF applications, our success rate of 36.1% ranks second among all the eight UGC-funded institutions, and under the panel of Humanities & Social Sciences our success rate is 47.4%, the highest among the institutions.  For ECS applications, our performance topped the chart with a success rate of 71.4%, and under the panel of Humanities and Social Sciences we again came in first with a success rate of 66.7%.  Among the ECS proposals submitted, 43% have been evaluated as having high quality with ranks of 4.5 or 5 (on a scale of 1 to 5), which is much higher than the sector-wide average of 20%. These encouraging results demonstrate our faculty’s research strength.

Measures to deal with lead levels in drinking water

On 1 September, the University announced the findings of the first round of tests conducted to determine the presence of lead in water samples taken from different locations throughout the campus. On 24 September, it announced the findings of a second round of tests conducted for other locations as well as two locations where lead levels were found to be excessive in the first round.  As safety and health of our staff and students are our uncompromised concern, in both rounds the University discontinued the supply of problematic water, provided distilled water dispensers, and installed NSF53 certified water filters. The affected students and staff were first notified before announcements were made to all students and staff and the media.

Integrated and connected campus with new footbridge opened

I am really pleased to report that, after some delay, the footbridge that links the Simon and Eleanor Kwok Building (which houses the Business Faculty), the Wong Ho Chuen Hall and Wu Jieh Yee Hall, and the Outdoor Sports Ground to our main campus was finally opened on 21 September.  As a result, our students and staff are able to navigate the entire campus without having to worry about cars on two busy off-campus roads.  Several Business faculty members have told me that the footbridge had given them the good feeling of an integrated and connected campus.  Needless to say, I have been looking forward to this date since I joined the University in September 2013 even before construction was started.     

Reading for new discoveries to satisfy the curious mind

As a personal note, let me share with you that I continue to enjoy learning about things outside my own academic discipline.  Bit by bit, as bedside reading late at night that helps me to unwind , I have finished a long fiction by the Nobel Laureate Mo Yan, 《豐乳肥臀》 (translated as Big Breasts and Wide Hips).  I am now reading a shorter fiction of his《蛙》(Frog). Both help me to understand the social turmoil and political and economic changes China had gone through at a human level. 

Also, I continue to learn about world affairs and new scientific discoveries by reading the International New York Times regularly.  Recently, an exciting discovery has been made by archaeologists in South Africa.  Led by an American paleoanthropologist (where “paleo” means ancient and pre-historical) Prof Lee R. Berger of the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, an international team of over 60 scientists has uncovered a previously unknown pre-human species which they call “Homo naledi”, where “naledi” means “star” in the local language.  According to some experts in the field, this discovery is a very big deal, because it seems to have shaken the received theory about human evolution to its core.  The main reason is that some parts of Homo naledi appear to be more advanced than, but some other parts appear to lag behind, ancient human-like animals that walked upright on two feet.

Perhaps you may not be as interested as me in this story, but perhaps you will be interested in new discoveries in some other fields, such as those about stars, planets, oceans, climate, drugs, computers, self-producing or self-mending machines, electric cars, cars that are driven by computers, etc, or stories on Iran-US nuclear agreement and the nuclear science behind it.  I hope our students’ curiosity will drive them to read broadly, as their learning and co-learning would give them satisfaction that no money can buy.

As the new academic year proceeds, I shall update you about our University’s new developments.  Before then, I sincerely look forward to seeing you at the annual “Walking with Lingnanians” Fundraising Walkathon to be held on 25 October at Kwun Tong Promenade.  Please take the opportunity to join fellow Lingnanians in supporting our University.

Finally, may I also take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy Mid-Autumn Festival!

Leonard K Cheng
President