跳到内容
开始内容

研究

岭大调查发现多达14%合资格香港长者没申领现金福利补贴

岭大调查发现多达14%合资格香港长者没申领现金福利补贴

岭大联同香港教育大学进行的研究发现,有百分之11至14的合资格长者没有申领现时三项政府专为长者而设的现金福利补贴,主要由於申请程序繁复、交易成本高,以及有耻辱感。

 

研究团队於2020年1月至9月期间调查长者就三项现金福利计划,包括长者综援、高额长者生活津贴,以及普通长者生活津贴的不申请比率。

 

调查以面对面访问形式,随机抽样访问合共3,299名65岁及以上香港长者。结果发现,有百分之11至14符合该三项现金福利计划申请资格的受访长者,没有申领补贴。

 

合资格而没有申领长者综援及高额长者生活津贴的受访者,主要认为申请的交易成本(即申请过程所需的时间和精力,例如填写表格、提交文件等)过高。受访者亦指出,申请程序繁复、津贴金额不足、申请所需的资讯搜集成本(即在申请过程中寻找相关资讯花费的时间和精力)过高,都是不申领的因素。受访者领取补贴所产生的个人耻辱感或公众耻辱感,亦是他们不申领的原因。

 

在不申领普通长者生活津贴的合资格长者当中,交易成本高亦是主因。相比之下,津贴金额不足、申请所需的资讯搜集成本、个人耻辱感以及公众耻辱感,与不申请普通长者生活津贴的决定并没有明显关系。

 

另外,患有慢性疾病的合资格申请者,亦较少申领各项现金福利计划。

 

领导研究的岭大社会学及社会政策系副教授Stefan Kühner教授表示,特区政府应采取政策和措施简化当中涉及的行政程序。「心理成本方面,政府应革新长者现金福利计划,减少申领所产生的耻辱感,以改善计划公众形象。」他说。

 

详细调查结果请按此

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Research

Study finds as many as 14% eligible Hong Kong older adults do not claim cash welfare subsidies

Study finds as many as 14% eligible Hong Kong older adults do not claim cash welfare subsidies

A recent survey conducted by LU and the Education University of Hong Kong finds that 11 to 14 per cent of older adults eligible for the current three cash welfare subsidies do not claim them, mainly because of the complexity of application procedures, high transaction costs and perceived stigma.

 

The survey was conducted between January and September 2020 by the research team which examined the rate of non take-up of three means-tested welfare schemes: Old-age Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (Old-age CSSA), Higher Old Age Living Allowance (Higher OALA) and Normal Old Age Living Allowance (Normal OALA).

 

A total of 3,299 Hong Kongers aged 65 and above were randomly selected for face-to-face interviews.

 

The most common reason why the elderly do not claim government subsidies for Old-age CSSA and Higher OALA is the high perceived transaction costs, i.e. the time and effort spent in the claiming process itself, filling in forms, documentation, etc. Respondents who perceive the application procedure as complex, the benefits to be insufficient, and who were concerned about information costs, i.e. the time and effort needed to find information about the benefits, are likely not to claim. Participants perceiving personal stigma or stigmatisation by the public in receiving benefits are also likely not to claim.

 

Among those eligible who had not claimed Normal OALA, transaction costs were again the strongest predictor of non take-up. In contrast, the perceived insufficiency of the benefit, information costs, personal stigma, and stigmatisation by the public were not significantly associated with the decision to apply for Normal OALA.

 

Eligible participants with chronic illnesses were less likely to claim all three types of welfare programmes’ full cash payments.

 

Project leader Prof Stefan Kühner, Associate Professor of Department of Sociology and Social Policy of LU, suggested the HKSAR Government should adopt policies and measures to simplify the administrative procedures of the existing cash benefit programmes. “For psychological cost,” he added, “the Government should rebrand welfare subsidies for older adults to minimise the perceived stigma and improve the public image of these programmes.”

 

Click here for the research details.