跳到内容
开始内容

合作计划

鲨鱼和椰子,谁更像「冷血杀手」?

鲨鱼和椰子,谁更像「冷血杀手」?

与香港海洋公园合作下,课程组别科目「生命科学:探索生命如何运作」的学生於4月3至4日在天幕主持了一个游戏学习摊位,宣扬鲨鱼保育。

 

该科目由科学教研组助理教授方健恩教授指导,个中包含服务研习的元素,修读学生须为海洋公园担任义工,向大众传授有关野生动物保育的知识。

 

热爱科学的韩国交流生Mina表示:「我喜欢亲近动物,这是我第一次参观海洋公园,在那里我看到很多鲨鱼和海豹,园内职员为我们介绍它们的摄食习惯和栖息环境,加深我对野生动物的了解。起初,我以为鲨鱼是凶狠无比的『人类杀手』,实则非然。」她说,「就每年杀害的人数而言,河马是『头号杀手』,掉落的椰子和闪电是其次,反而鲨鱼在这四类中所杀害的人类数目最少。」

 

另一位来自中国内地的交流生Clara分享道:「这趟海洋公园之旅让我获益匪浅,在培训中我认识到不同动物的习性和寿命。我一直觉得鲨鱼喜欢攻击人类,事实却并非如此。这让我反思对鲨鱼的保育,我们应该向鱼翅说不,杜绝捕鲨割鳍的行为。」

 

岭大学生欧阳诗雅分享了她作为该科目服务研习教学助理的体会:「我们班上共有超过40位学生,当中更包括长者学员。经过海洋公园一整天的培训,这群学生在两个观光景点担任导赏员。基於签证所限,交流生们则把导赏摊位移师校园,与岭大同学分享大自然的生态乐。」

Ocean Park   Ocean Park

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Engagements

Who kills more in a year, shark or coconut?

Who kills more in a year, sharks or coconuts?

In collaboration with the Ocean Park Hong Kong, students of the cluster course “Life Sciences: The Way Life Works” hosted a narration and game booth at the Skylight from 3 to 4 April to arouse protection of sharks.

 

Instructed by Prof Jonathan FONG, Assistant Professor of the Science Unit, the course carries a Service-Learning component that turns students into volunteers for the Ocean Park to conduct public narrations on wildlife conservation.

 

A fan of science, Mina, an exchange student from Korea said, “I love animals and it’s my first time to visit the Ocean Park, where I saw and learned a lot about sharks and seals. At first, I thought sharks are aggressive human-eaters but in fact they aren’t,” she said.

 

She pointed out that in terms of numbers of 'killing' each year, hippos top the list, then is the falling of coconuts and thunderbolts. Sharks are the least among these four.

 

“The trip to Ocean Park was wonderful and gave us a training about the diet and lifespan of different animal species,” said Clara, another exchange student from Mainland China, “I used to believe that sharks always attack humans and surprisingly they don’t. We should stop consuming shark fins that would encourage shark finning.”

 

Lingnan student Cecilia AUYEUNG Sze-Nga shared her experience as a Service-Learning Teaching Assistant for the course. “We are a relatively big class with over 40 students including some elders too. After a day of training at the Ocean Park, the students served as tour guides at two attractions there. Due to visa conditions, our exchange students hold the narration booth on campus instead, which allows them to share the eco-fun with fellow Lingnan students.”

Ocean Park   Ocean Park