背景
LU

嶺南大學始創於1888年的廣州,其後於1967年在香港復辦,是現時香港唯一一所博雅大學。嶺大透過通識教育、兩文三語的訓練,以及資訊知識的灌輸,擴闊學生的跨文化視野。為達致全人教育的最終目標,嶺大將課堂學習、宿舍生活和校園活動結合為一,積極培育學生的邏輯和批判性思維、美學判斷、道德承擔和領導才能。此外,學生亦可以透過嶺大的生活,學會如何處理人際關係,並加深對文化和歷史的認識。

 

嶺大一直致力提供優質教育,培養學生成為關懷他人、有廣博學識,並關心香港和世界事務的公民。正如嶺大校訓:「作育英才,服務社會」,服務社群是我們嶺南人引以為榮、不懈承傳的悠久傳統。

 

服務研習之路始於2004年:在群芳慈善基金會 (Kwan Fong Charitable Foundation) 大力資助下,嶺大開展了本地服務研習計劃 (Service-Learning and Research Scheme, SLRS) ,這標示著嶺大發展服務研習的第一步。當時,本地服務研習計劃共有三個分支,分別是嶺南健康服務大使(LHCA)、 嶺南社區研究員(LCR), 以及嶺南跨文化之友(LCCB)。自計劃開展以來,一共有200位學生為超過2100 位社區人士提供服務,對象包括:兒童、長者、家長、少數族裔和學習障礙者。

 

LU

承蒙惠安集團有限公司執行主席梁啟雄先生的500萬港元捐款,連同大學資助委員會的高等院校配對補助金,服務研習處於2006年11月正式成立,成為全港首個獨立統籌服務研習的大學部門。自成立以來,服務研習處致力推廣體驗式學習,鼓勵學生透過參與具意義的服務,應用學科知識,藉此培訓他們成為創變者。

Background
LU

Lingnan University was founded in Guangzhou in 1888 and re-established in Hong Kong in 1967. Lingnan University is currently the only liberal arts university in Hong Kong. To broaden its students' outlook, it places equal emphasis on professional training and language and information technology literacy. In addition, Lingnan seeks to integrate classroom learning, hostel life, and campus activities in order to achieve whole-person development and nurture students' ability in critical thinking, appreciation of aesthetics, ethics, and leadership skills. Students also learn to interact with others, and acquire an understanding of history and culture.

Lingnan has always been committed to providing quality education that prepares students to become caring, knowledgeable and responsible citizens, not only of Hong Kong but also of the global community. As encapsulated in school motto “Education for Service”, the University has a long-standing tradition of community service that all Lingnanians take pride in and strive to carry forward.

The story of Service-Learning at Lingnan started at 2004: Service-Learning and Research Scheme (SLRS), mainly funded by a donation from Kwan Fong Charitable Foundation, was designed as pilot program to aid the development of university-wide Service-Learning Programs in Lingnan University. Three distinctive programs were launched under the SLRS: Lingnan Health Care Ambassadors (LHCA), Lingnan Community Researchers (LCR) and Lingnan Cross-Cultural Buddies (LCCB), and with three forms of service practicum. A total of 200 students have served over 2100 individuals in the community since its kickoff, including children, the elderly, parents, ethnic minorities and people with learning disabilities.

 

LU Office of Service-Learning (OSL) was set up in November 2006 with the 5 million donations from Mr. LEUNG Kai Hung, Michael, Executive Chairman of Onwel Groups of Companies, and the matching grant from the University Grant Committee (UGC). It is the first stand-alone Service-Learning office among the universities in Hong Kong, which dedicates itself to nurturing change makers by encouraging students to engage in community service with academic knowledge through the experiential learning model.