教職員獎項

獎項目的
「服務研習」教職員獎項嘉許那些能夠把社區服務入教學工作,並履行嶺南大學使命的教職員。榮獲獎項的教職員需達到以下的條件:

1) 促成學生和社區之間的互惠互利

2) 為學生的學習和成長帶來正面的影響

3) 透過服務研習提升教與學的效能

 

2013/14得獎者
陳婷婷教授 (管理學學系 助理教授)
tingting

「服務研習結合了教學和社區需要,讓同學們透過進行服務研習計劃,把課堂上的知識帶到社區,藉此獲得難忘的學習經驗。。同學們除了加深了對學科知識的理解,亦從中得到一種成就感,並學會關愛他人。我十分感激服務研習為我建立了這個了不起的教學平台。」

- 陳教授

 

陳婷婷教授致力促進學生的專業和個人發展,並全力投入HRM352領導及團體合作和BUS301策略管理兩科的服務研習,為提升服務研習的影響力出一分力。

 

陳教授將運用「服務研習」教職員獎項的獎金,推動一項關於服務研習如何影響學生學習的比較研究,並嘗試根據研究成果在課程設計上作出改良。她現正聘請一些同學加入她的研究團隊,藉此提供一個訓練同學的機會。

 

羅淑敏教授 (視覺研究系 副教授)
Sophia

「我經常因為看到服務研習為學生所帶來的正面影響而感動。透過服務研習的平台,我的學生能夠運用藝術知識幫助有需要的人士,讓他們接觸和嘗試關心不同的社群。

過程中,我看到他們並不視服務為施予,反而視之為自我責任。我看得出他們是從心裡渴望服務他人的。」 - 羅教授

 

作為研究者、教育工作者和公共服務提倡者,羅淑敏教授在上述範疇均擁有顯赫的成績。2008年,羅教授推行了她的服務研習課程VIS255藝術與身心康健。此後,她設計了四個計劃方案,並與12個機構開展合作。透過參與服務研習,她為同學提供一個全面的教育平台,同時亦出版了不少學術刊物。詳細資料如下:

 

2012. Enhancing the study of art and community through service-learning, in New Horizons in Education 
60(2):64-75.
2012. Connecting art and community through service-learning. The 12th IARSLCE Annual Conference Proceeding

 

羅教授會運用「服務研習」教職員獎項的獎金,開展有關如何透過藝術促進與痴呆症患者的溝通的研究,以及為她現時開設的服務研習課程進行優化工作。

Faculty Award

Objectives
The Faculty "Education for Service" Award honors faculty members who have made public service an integral part of their teaching and is committed to fulfilling the mission of the Lingnan University:

1) Provide reciprocal benefits to the student participant and the community;

2) Produce a positive developmental impact on student learning and growth;

3) Enhance learning and teaching efficacy through Service-Learning.

 

Award Winners 2013/14
Prof. CHEN Tingting (Assistant Professor, Department of Management )
tingting

"By perfectly aligning the needs of teaching and learning with the needs of the community, Service-Learning projects provide students with a memorable learning experience to apply their subject-related knowledge to contribute to the community. Students make great progresses, as well as develop a sense of achievement and caring disposition during the course. I deeply appreciate this wonderful platform that Service-Learning creates." - Prof. CHEN

 

Prof. CHEN Tingting, who exemplifies a deep dedication to fostering the professional and personal development of her students, has set a high standard for personal commitment, involvement, integrity, and dedication for improving Service-Learning education through her efforts in HRM 352 Leadership & Teamwork and BUS 301 Strategic Management courses.

 

Prof. CHEN will use the "Education for Service" Faculty Award to facilitate a comparative research study on how Service-Learning impacts student learning and try to further improve course design based on her findings. She is also offering wonderful opportunities to students by training and hiring a few to take part in her research team.

 

Prof. LAW Suk Mun, Sophia (Associate Professor, Department of Visual Studies)
Sophia

"I am always touched by the impact of Service-Learning on my students. Using their knowledge of art as a language to help people in need, my students get connected with different communities and start to care for others. The process is so natural that they do not see it as giving, but as taking responsibility. I have witnessed, namely a natural cultivation of the desire to serve among my students." -Prof. LAW

 

Prof. Sophia LAW has demonstrated a superb record of achievement as a researcher, educator, and public service advocate. In 2008, Prof. LAW launched her Service-Learning course VIS255 Art and Well Being, ever since she has designed four schemes and worked with a total of 12 agencies, providing her students with a well-rounded education and advancing her record of publications such as follows:

 

2012. Enhancing the study of art and community through service-learning, in New Horizons in Education 
60(2):64-75.
2012. Connecting art and community through service-learning. The 12th IARSLCE Annual Conference Proceeding

 

Prof. LAW will use the "Education for Service" Faculty Award to further research how art facilitates expression and communication of people with dementia as well as to enhance her existing Service-Learning course.