教職員參與

p1服務研習處為教職員提供各式各樣參與服務研習,以及社區為本研究的機會,當中包活:訓練工作坊、會議、刊物、退修會和年度美國大學訪問之旅等。同時,我們亦設有教職員獎項和教學資助,以肯定教職員在推動服務研習的投入和貢獻,並協助他們繼續進行相關的研究工作和社區參與。為營造參與的氣氛,我們丕但為教職員提供參與服務研習的機會,更協助他們尋找開展合作或實施新計劃所需的資源。

 

 

美國大學訪問之旅 (年度)

p2服務研習將在2016-17學年成為嶺南大學其中一個畢業要求。為此,服務研習處會舉辦年度美國大學訪問之旅,讓教職員藉此認識服務研習在美國的發展。這是一個難得的機會,讓教職員與海外大學就博雅教育 和服務研習進行交流。服務研習結合嚴格的學術學習和具意意的社區服務,不但能夠提升學生的表現,更在批判思考和自我反思的過程中,加強同學的對學科的認知。

 

參加者在交流期間,能夠親身了解到服務研習對學生、項目統籌員、服務機構和課程導師等持份者的影響,並得到一次透過參與積極教育,回應社區需要的機會。

 

教職員退修會 (年度)
p3

教職員退修會是一個讓教職員就服務研習,進行跨學系合作和交流的最佳平台。教職員退修會的形式包括:探訪本地社會企業、參與正在進行的服務研習計劃或社區事務,以及出席工作坊等。

 

於來年的教職員退修會,服務研習處將會與國際十字路會合作,邀請教職員參加環球 X-體驗中的體驗式學習。通過模擬體驗活動,教職員踏進他人的鞋履,了解有需要幫助的人。在模擬活動後,教職員會進行反思工作坊,討論他們如何把服務研習融入工作之中,以及更投入參與社區服務。

 

社區午餐聚會
p3

服務研習處會舉辦社區午餐聚會,鼓勵教職員參與社區研究和服務研習。在社區夥伴的支持下,參與聚會的教職員有機會與社區夥伴會面,並商討未來合作事宜。由於聚會在社企舉行,教職員不但能夠進一步了解香港社企的發展,亦在與社區夥伴交流的過程中,加深對社區需要的認識、認識新的社區夥伴,甚或建立出個人的服務研習模式。

Faculty Engagement

There are many opportunities for faculty members to engage in Service-Learning and community- based research. The Office of Service-Learning supports faculty development through training workshops, conferences, publications, retreats, as well as the anp1nual US Delegation. We recognize our faculty members' achievements through the Service-Learning Award and Mini-Grant, supporting them to continue their research and community involvement.

 

As part of our mission to cultivate engagement, we want to help faculty members find the resources they need to participate in Service-Learning opportunities, collaborate with others, or initiate a great idea.

 

U.S. Delegation

Since Service-Learning will become a graduation requirement in 2016-2017 at Lingnan University , the Office of Service-Learning holds an annual Delegation to study Service-Learning development in the United States. This is an excellent opportunity to examine liberal arts teaching methods and Service-Learning within foreign universities. Service-Learning p2is truly one of a kind; its combination of rigorous academic study with voluntary community service increases students' performance levels and reinforces their academic study through the process of critical thought and self-reflection.

 

Delegates will witness first-hand how Service-Learning offers all its stakeholders, including students, program coordinators, service agencies and courses instructors, a chance to take part in active education, while addressing the needs of communities.

 

Faculty Retreat (Annually)
p3

The Faculty Retreat is an opportunity to bring faculty members together across the departments to collaborate and explore the best practices of Service-Learning. In the past, Faculty Retreat was in the form of the visit of local social enterprises, participation in on-going Service-Learning projects, community engagement, or participation in workshops.

 

The Office of Service-Learning will partner with Crossroads Foundation for the next Faculty Retreat, inviting faculty members to participate in experiential learning through the Global X-perience. Faculty members will briefly step "into the shoes," through simulation, of those who are in need. Following the simulation, faculty members will have a reflection workshop, discussing how they can incorporate Service-Learning into their work and engage the community more.

 

Faculty-Community Luncheon
p3

To engage our faculty members with the community in research or Service-Learning, the Office of Service-Learning will organize the Faculty-Community Luncheon. With the support from our community partners, participating faculty members will have a chance to meet and connect with community partners for future collaborations and to know more about the development of a social enterprise in Hong Kong. The Faculty-Community Luncheon will be an opportunity for faculty members to know more about the needs of our community, and to meet new partners and develop own Service-Learning pedagogy.

 

Academic Seminars/ Workshops
p3

In order to provide scholars and practitioners with a platform to exchange ideas on publication opportunities and assessment in Service-Learning, the Office of Service-Learning organize the academic seminars/workshops for faculty members which aims to enhance the quality of teaching and learning by using Service-Learning as a pedagogy in promoting a real-life experiential classroom.