學生分享
彭嘉琳同學(中文系)
Helen

教學助理

 

學習,本來是一種樂趣,但面對著功課、考試的重擔,同學怎樣才能享受當中的樂趣?這個問題一直在任職教學助理的彭嘉琳同學的腦海之中。今年,他負責統籌「古典小說」一科的服務研習計劃,讓他首次接觸大學的教學領域,並為纏繞多時的問題找到了答案。

 

嘉琳坦言起初亦曾擔心同學會以應付學科要求的心態來參與計劃,但當他看到同學與長者之間的互動,便發現自己多慮了。「同學需要為患有初期認知障礙症的長者撰寫短篇小說,透過採訪、整理、思考、撰寫、修改,將長者的故事以小說形式呈現出來。我穿梭在各組之中,很高興看到同學們都認真地與長者玩遊戲和傾談,並建立了深厚的關係。」

同學投入學習的舉動,讓參與計劃的人士均享受整個合作過程。至學期末,同學舉辦最後一次的集體活動,向長者派發合眾人之力完成的小說集,一同分享成果的喜悅。嘉琳憶述雙方見面時的熱情舉動,直言那個深刻的畫面,啟發了他對學習的理解。他表示:「同學與長者一見面就已經手牽手,交流近況。由於計劃快將結束,有些同學甚至即時與長者相約下次見面的時間...... 看到他們在短短兩個多月中建立了如此深厚的關係,讓我明白到『享受學習過程』是同學投入學習的關鍵。」學習,需要結合理性的知識和感性的關係,這樣才能讓同學找到當中的樂趣。

黃浚偉同學(社會科學院)
Helen

服務研習實習生

 

近年,坊間有不少批評90後工作表現不濟的聲音,當中的「罪名」包括工作態度差、捱不了苦、不成熟、只顧個人利益云云。縱然部份批評有以偏概全之嫌,但學校亦應在教導學生書本知識的同時,培養他們正面的工作態度和就業技能,為往後投身社會大學作好準備。為鼓勵嶺大同學將關心社會的心轉化為生涯規劃的一部份,服務研習處設有服務研習實習生的職位,讓同學獲得不一樣的工作體驗。

 

服務研習實習生的工作不但讓浚偉獲得真實的職場體驗,亦為他帶來了與長者親身接觸的機會,甚至打破了他對「長者」二字的想像。他表示:「以往我以為年紀大就等於難在社會上找到自己的位置,但與長者學苑的『老友記』接觸後,發現他們均多才多藝、獨當一面。或許,在旁人眼中我和其他實習生在幫助他們處理種種的行政工作,但其實我們在與他們接觸、交流期間,同樣學會了不少。」

吳詠欣同學(財務及保險學系)
Helen

青年學人社區為本研究計劃

 

詠欣初嚐研究成果,更被邀請參與「世界盲人聯會亞太區中期會議」,見識到來自世界各地的知識份子如何拆解視障人士所面對的問題,讓她獲益不少。此外,她和一班青年學人在服務研習處的鼓勵下,積極在不同平台發表研究所得,期望能為社會帶來正面的影響。

「我不但向同學分享研究成果,亦邀請他們參與嶺大的平等機會週,為視障長者舉辦參觀校園的活動。透過與視障人士親身接觸,同學們發現他們有著不少簡單而有創意的生活小智慧,其自理能力絕不低於健視人士。」詠欣喜見自己的研究能喚醒身邊人對視障人士的關注,甚至改變了社會對視障人士的既有印象。
倪曉琳同學 (市場學)
Helen

教學助理

 

服務研習處提供不同的服務研習計劃,讓我有機會從服務中學習、反思及成長。在SLP 101服務研習之社區參與 課堂上,我學懂有組織地表達自己的想法,令我成為一個更有自信和成熟的人,一改以往害羞和擔心進行匯報的自己。現在,我在匯報的時候變得更有信心了。服務研習處給了我一個機會成為他們的一份子 — 教學助理。這個機會不但可以豐富我的履歷表,亦幫助我與不同人士的溝通技巧,同時亦改善了我的時間管理能力。

顏芷程同學 (社會及公共政策)
Bridget

實習生和IARSLCE會議

 

服務研習提供一個有趣的方式給我們學習。在課堂以外的服務中,我應用了在課堂中學到的知識。所以,服務研習十分有意義。再者,作為一個實習生,我亦有機會學習到如何籌辦不同的計劃,例如服務研習藝行大使和長者學苑。這些經驗啟發了我寫一個分析服務研習如何鼓勵社區參與的研究報告。在美國舉行的國際學術會議中,服務研習處給予我一個講解研究的機會。

陳翠玲同學 (視覺研究)
Ling

教學助理和服務研習學生組織

 

我叫Ling,現在是一名三年級學生。在大學生涯中,我曾擔任服務研習處實習生、教學助理和服務研習學生組織的成員之一。服務研習處給予我一個參加學長計劃和出席美國大學訪問之旅的機會。同時,我亦得到很多探索不同方面的工作和真實的世界的機會。在服務研習處中獲得的經驗除了有助我成長和享受大學的生活之外,亦為未來事業做好準備。服務研習處為同學提供一個參與不同種類活動的平台,不但只是學術上的課程,而有關社會上的事務和經驗都能涉獵。服務研習處職員擔任一個主導的角色,他們會訓練同學並且分享自身的經驗給我們。再者,職員們亦會鼓勵同學發展領導和專業的技能。服務研習處就如一個全能的部門,協助同學的身心發展。

崔健怡同學 (現代社會行政及政治)
Coke

教學助理

 

大家好,我叫Coke。成為教學助理是我精彩旅程的第一站。服務研習處給予我很多學習的機會。我從有關發展和事業的訓練中,學會了專業的技能。例如對學習上有幫助的學習方法、與本地和外地的持份者建立更強的社交網絡。自我成為教學助理後,我的領導、溝通和時間管理的能力都大大地進步了。

Our Students
Mr. PANG Ka Lam, Eddie (Department of Chinese)
Helen

Teaching Assistant (TA)

 

Learning is fun. However, can students enjoy learning when it is also combined with hours of homework and examinations? This question is often in the mind of Mr. PANG Ka Lam, Eddie, who served as a TA in the course “Classical Chinese Fiction”. By helping to facilitate the course’s Service-Learning project, Eddie was given the opportunity to understand the experiences of university professors for the first time and explore the answer to the above question.

 

At first, Eddie worried that the Service-Learning students were only engaging in Service-Learning to fulfill the course requirement. However, this concern faded away when he observed the interaction between the Service-Learning students and the service recipients, the elderly. “Students had to write a short novel for elderly with stage 1 dementia. Their stories were collected through a variety of methods, including interviews, data collection, and writing. I was glad to see the students playing and talking with the elderly. It was clear that they developed a close relationship.”

Mr. WONG Tsun Wai, Sunny (Faculty of Social Sciences)
Helen

Project Trainee (PT)

 

In recent years, some people have criticized the unsatisfactory job performance of the 90s, resulting from employees’ poor working attitude, inability to overcome setbacks, immaturity and selfishness. While these criticisms may be biased, it is imperative that schools strive to develop students who not only acquire knowledge from books, but also demonstrate a positive working attitude and skill-set. In doing so, students can be well-prepared for entering the workforce before graduation. In order to encourage Lingnan students to integrate social awareness into their daily life, the OSL created the position of PT, to provide students a unique working experience.

 

Through his PT work, Sunny not only gained real workplace experience, but also had the opportunity to connect with the elderly. His experience even changed his perspective toward the elderly. “In the past, I thought that elderly would not be able to fit certain roles and positions in society. However, after working closely with them, I realized that many elderly are versatile. Others may think that the other PTs and I were helping the elderly handle different kinds of administrative works. However, what others do not know, is that we learned the most through our communication with them,” he explained.

Ms. NG Wing Yan, Winnie (Department of Finance and Insurance)
Helen

Young Scholars' Community-Based Research Program

 

When we are young, we love to ask adults many questions. As we grow older, society faces new and evolving problems that were different from those of our childhood. As adults, do we explore the origin of evolving problems and find solutions to address these issues? Through participating in the Young Scholars’ (YS) Community-Based Research Program, Ms. NG Wing Yan, Winnie had the opportunity to integrate her academic knowledge and passion to contribute to positive change in the community.

 

Winnie stated, “I not only shared the achievements of my research with other students, but also invited peers to organize a campus visit for individuals with visual impairments during the Equal Opportunities Awareness Week at Lingnan University. Through their interaction with individuals with visual impairments, students recognized that these group of people have many similar life experiences as those without visual impairments.” From this experience, Winnie was happy to see that her research encouraged other students to care about individuals with visual impairments and changed the public’s perception of this group of people.

Ms. NGAI Hiu Lam, Helen (Marketing)
Helen

Teaching Assistant (TA)

 

OSL has provided me with various chances to serve others and learn though different projects. It is true that you can learn and grow more through actions as well as through reflections.  I have experienced how to organize and present my ideas through the SLP 101 course, Community Engagement through Service-Learning. I used to be shy and often worried about making presentations This course has turned me into a much more confident and mature person, and now I have more confident in making presentations.  OSL also provided me a chance to be part of their office as a teaching assistant.  This position not only enriched my CV, but it also helped me to enhance communication skills with a variety of different parties, along with improving my time management. 

Ms. NGAN Tsz Ching, Bridget (Social and Public Policy)
Bridget

Project Trainee (PT) and IARSLCE Conference

 

Service-Learning is an interesting way to learn. It allows me to apply the knowledge that I learn inside the classroom to the service I am doing outside of the classroom. Thus, Service-Learning is very meaningful. Moreover, I work as a Project Trainee (PT) to help organize different programs such as the Cultural Service Learning Ambassadors and the Elderly Academy. These experiences inspired me to create a research report examining how Service-Learning can encourage community engagement. OSL has given me the opportunity to present this research at an international academic conference in the United States.

Ms. CHAN Chui Ling, Ling (Visual Studies)
Ling

Teaching Assistant (TA) and SLSA

 

I am Ling, a final year student now! I was a Project Trainee (PT), Teaching Assistant (TA) and committee member of SLSA, the student association of the Office of Service-Learning, in my university life. OSL also gave me the opportunity to join a mentoring programme and attend a Delegation Conference in the United States. OSL gave me a lot of opportunities to explore different aspects of work and real world situations. My experience in OSL allowed me to grow and enjoy my university life. OSL also prepared me for my career. OSL gives students a platform to participate in different kinds of activities - not only academic programmes, but social affairs and experiences as well. OSL staff serve an active role, as they train students and share their experiences with us. They encourage students to develop and increase their leadership and professional skills. It is such a comprehensive department. It allows students to develop physically and mentally.

Ms. CHUI Kin Yi, Coke (Contemporary Social Issues and Policy)
Coke

Teaching Assistant (TA)

 

Hello, I am Coke. Being a Teaching Assistance (TA) is the start of an amazing journey. OSL provides me with many learning opportunities. I can gain professional skills from development and career trainings; learn more about a useful academic learning method; and build stronger social networks with both local and overseas stakeholders. My leadership, communication and time management skills have significantly improved since I became a TA.