Student Disciplinary Committee (SDC)

Membership*:

Chairman: To be appointed by the President from among

2023-24
Prof. Chi-pang Lau

the Associate Vice-Presidents

Members: Deans of the three Faculties Prof. Emilie Yeh (Arts)

Prof. Mingming Leng (Bus)
Prof. William Hayward (SocSc)

Dean of the School of Graduate Studies[#] Prof. Sam Kwong

One Warden who is a member of academic

staff, appointed by the President

Prof. William Liu

Mr. Sai-hong Lok Sky^

One current full-time student nominated by the

Students' Union by name, not by position,

appointed by the President

Co-opted One co-opted member appointed by the

Member: President, if appropriate

Secretary: A staff member of the Registry Ms. Margaret Cheung

As at 22 March 2024

^{*} If any member has played a significant role in earlier stages of the case under consideration, that member will be excused from the Committee and will not participate in the Committee's action on that particular case.

If the Deanship of the School of Graduate Studies is assumed on a concurrent basis by the Vice President, who is Chair of the Student Disciplinary Appeals Committee, the Associate Dean of the School of Graduate Studies will serve on the SDC as the Dean's representative.

[^] Until 28 February 2025

Sub-group on Academic Misconduct Appeals

Membership [^]: <u>2023-24</u>

Chairman: A member of academic staff at the rank of

Associate Professor or above, appointed by the

President

Members: One representative from each of the three

Faculties

Prof. Darryl Sterk (Arts)

Prof. Li-ping Liang #

Prof. Jiang Cheng (Bus)

Prof. Simon Fan (SocSc)

Mr. Sai-hong Lok Sky*

One representative from the School of Graduate

Studies

Prof. Baohua Yu

Co-opted

One co-opted member appointed by the

Member: Chairman, if appropriate

Observer: One full-time student nominated by the Students'

Union by name, not by position, appointed by

the Chairman

Secretary: A member of staff of the Registry Ms. Vicky Pang

As at 22 March 2024

[^] If any member has played a significant role in earlier stages of the case under consideration, that member will be excused from the Sub-group and will not participate in the Sub-group's action on that particular case. An alternate member may be appointed by the Dean of the Faculties/School of Graduate Studies concerned to consider the case.

^{*} Until 28 February 2025

Prof. Man-leung Wong serves as the Interim Chairman in 1st Term 2023-24 during the sabbatical of Prof. Liang