Skip to Main Content
Start Main Content

Walking with Lingnanians 2018 Fundraising Walkathon

21 Oct 2018

The guest of honour, Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung Yun-hung, JP (4th from right) kicks off the Walk with a horn-blasting, together with Deputy Chairman of the Council, Mr Simon Ip Shing-hing (3rd from right), President Leonard K Cheng (4th from left), Chairman of Institutional Advancement Committee, Mr Michael Ngai (2nd from right), representatives of sponsors and all participants.

The annual Walking with Lingnanians Fundraising Walkathon was held on 21 October with over a thousand students, teachers, alumni and friends of Lingnan University participating in the event. The donation raised in this event will support the University development and provide financial support to students in need, especially those being the first generation in their families who receive university education, to enjoy all-round student development programmes.

The event was honoured by the presence of Mr Kevin Yeung Yun-Hung, JP, Secretary for Education of the HKSAR Government as the officiating guest. Honourable guests and all other participants started the Walk at the Lingnan University campus, and completed the 5km circle walk between the campus and Tuen Mun Riverside Park.

The success of the Fundraising Walkathon could not be made possible without the generous support from the Diamond Sponsor Bright Future Charitable Foundation and the Gold Sponsors Agricultural Bank of China Hong Kong Branch, Lee & Man Paper Manufacturing Limited, Lingnan University Alumni Association (Hong Kong), Hong Kong Shine Tak Foundation and Shui On Group.

Awards were presented to top individual and team fundraisers as well as teams with the highest number of participants. Details as follows:

Top Fundraiser Awards for Individuals
Champion: Ms Hermia Sze
First Runner-up: Dr Frank Law Sai Kit
Second Runner-up: Dr Peter Wong Pak Heung

Top Fundraiser Awards for Teams
Champion: Department of Management, Lingnan University
First Runner-up: Lingnan University Accountancy Education Foundation Ltd
Second Runner-up: Lingnan Hang Yee Memorial Secondary School

Awards for Teams with the Highest Number of Participants
Champion: Lingnan Secondary School
First Runner-up: Lingnan Hang Yee Memorial Secondary School
Second Runner-up: Lingnan Dr. Chung Wing Kwong Memorial Secondary School

For more photos of the event, please click here.