Skip to main content
博雅教育 成就一生
Start main content

組織心理學與教育管理社會科學碩士

全日制
1年
兼讀制
2年
申請時間
2019年10月1日 - 2020年6月15日
查詢
(852) 2616-7819 opem_admission@LN.edu.hk
課程詳情 組織心理學與教育管理社會科學碩士

助您成為教育界的明日領袖

在2019/20學年開辦的組織心理學與教育管理社會科學碩士(OPEM)為一年全日制或兩年兼讀制課程,內容結合具深度的教育管理概論與組織心理學,理論與實用性兼備。

嶺大副教授(教學)兼課程主任王曉勤教授指出,此碩士課程填補了全港現有的應用心理學及教育管理課程的空隙,致力教授教育界中的人事管理哲學、策略及方法,再加入心理學的元素,適合所有教育從業員報讀。「這全新的課程涵蓋教育界各學級、各層面的管理方法及相關知識,幫助從業員或有志投身教育界的人事,成為管理人才及領袖。」

心理學及管理學 各取其長

由嶺大研究生院及應用心理學系共同設計及策辦,OPEM融合心理學及管理學,為教育人員的培訓開展了新的一頁。

心理學知識對管理人員而言十分重要。由解決紛爭到資源分配,一所教育機構的管理層必須具備豐富的人力資源經驗及良好溝通技能,方能帶領團隊解決困難,及消除同事間的隔膜與分歧。這正正是開辦OPEM的原因。

組織心理學能幫助教育管理人員及領導層,建構出一個不管是學生及教職員也樂於「學習」的環境,同時,老師亦可因材施教,給予學生最佳的教育成果及滿足課堂需要。學員能運用學到的心理學知識,以分析及管理在校內個人或團體的活動,提升團隊的效率及溝通,最終達致整體管治能力的優化。以上種種因素,都讓與時並進的OPEM課程成為現今教育行政人員進修的不二之選。

以人為本的教學

本課程旨在教授學員各方面的組織心理學知識,以助他們勝任教育界的領導層。此外, 正如所有嶺大畢業生一樣,課程畢業生將是具備獨立思考和慎思明辨能力的人才,以透轍的視野解決教育管理的問題及挑戰。「課程為學員提供眾多體驗性的學習機會,訓練他們的批判分析能力及擴闊他們的視野,包括政策發展及研究。」王教授說。

她續說,相比其他博雅及人文科目或課程,OPEM除了著重學員的全人發展,亦致力加強學員對人類行為的認識,教育機構及組織的運作及管理。 「換言之,相比起其他傳統、概括性的教育哲學的課程,此課程提供更專門、更具實用性的內容。」

無論是本地還是國際環境,教育界及其管理人員正面對著前所未有的挑戰及沖擊,故本課程的設計及其著眼點,不但從現今實際環境及案例出發,並由在職從業員及前線人員教授,以確保學員認識到最新的組織心理學及教育管理學的理論,及得到實用的知識及技能。學員必能在資深教授及業界翹楚身上,得到課本以外的知識。

特設一年週末上課模式 切合在職人士需要

課程主要為教育院校的老師、課程主管、校長及管理人員而設,學生能深入瞭解組織心理學及教育管理等知識範疇,在職場中運用所學發揮所長。學生畢業後可於各級學校、大專院校、政府、非政府組織、智庫及人力資源管理等不同領域擔任各種教育政策和管理崗位。全職工作的學員,可選擇報讀全日制(週末課堂),只需在星期六上課,善用工餘時間,於一年內完成課程。

申請人需持有認可大學一級或二級榮譽的學士學位。於其他認可考試取得同等資格者,本課程將因應個別情況作考慮。

持有非英語教學大學學位的申請人必須符合以下英語水平的最低要求,包括托福 (TOEFL)筆試550分;或托福機考213分;或托福網考79分。考取雅思國際英語語言測試 (IELTS) 的申請人則須達6.5分或以上。

擴闊視野 向世界出發

全球一體化或國際化為各行各業及社會帶來前所未有的沖擊及改變。OPEM課程的著眼點之一,就是透過跨學科、跨領域的教育模式,讓學員了解事物的多元面。王教授指出,學科如「全球一體化、政策及社會」和「國際化教育:組織性的策略與發展」將以國際角度出發,加深同學對亞洲地區以外的教育議題的認識。又例如「大中華及東亞之教育管理研究」學科,將深入探討與香港相連之地區在教育管理上的發展。

除了課堂研習,學員將有機會到台灣及其他東南亞城市,作一星期的學習及交流。此外,學員亦可在第一學期結束後及暑假期間,到美國及英國著名大學交流體驗,向世界學府的頂尖學者學習最新的教育管理發展。

Skip to main content
Liberal Arts Education Transformation For Life
Start main content

Master of Social Sciences in Organisational Psychology and Education Management

Full Time
1 year
Part Time
2 years
Application Period
1 October 2019 – 15 June 2020
Enquiries
(852) 2616-7819 opem_admission@LN.edu.hk
Programme Details Master of Social Sciences in Organisational Psychology and Education Management

An effective pathway to becoming a leader in the education sector

Starting class in the academic year 2019/20, the Master of Social Sciences in Organisational Psychology and Education Management (OPEM) is a one-year full-time – or two-year part-time – programme with the incentive of offering insights in organisational psychology and an advanced training in education management.

According to Professor Ada Wong Hiu-kan, Associate Professor of Teaching and Programme Director designate of OPEM, the postgraduate programme aims to fill in the gaps in the study scope of existing applied psychology and education management courses in Hong Kong, by offering a course that specialises in people management in an education setting on all levels. “The new programme will cover management topics from primary school to higher education, which makes it an apt choice of further study for individuals who are currently in, or aspire to play, a leadership role in their respective teaching environment,” Wong says.

Best of both worlds: Psychology + Management

Co-launched by the School of Graduate Studies and the Department of Applied Psychology, OPEM effectively marries the distinctive fields of psychology and management within the education context. Understanding psychology has been proved to be pivotal for managerial roles for a number of reasons.

From mediating disputes to allocating resources, the managing team of an institute will need the expediency of human resources and effective communication to lead the team in tackling problems and breaking down barriers between staff members. This is where OPEM comes in.

Organisational psychology helps education managers design a work environment and policies that motivate “learning” among students and teaching staff, while prompting teachers to adapt their teaching style in order to cater to diversified learning abilities and needs within a classroom.

Students can apply the psychological knowledge they learn in the programme on analysing and managing the individual and group activities within the education setting, as a way to strengthen group dynamics and facilitating communication to improve the efficiency of management. These factors all make OPEM a choice programme that meets the trend and demands in modern education leadership.

A human-centred approach

Through fulfilling the key objective of equipping students with a broad knowledge of organisational psychology in order to prepare them for leadership roles in the education sector, the programme focuses on nurturing critical thinkers and problem solvers who are able to tackle issues in education management with a holistic approach,

“The programme offers a wide range of experiential learning opportunities for critical analysis and review of educational management in a wider policy context,” Wong adds.

Comparing to other liberal arts subjects on offer at the university, OPEM emphasises whole-person development and sharpens students’ understanding of human behaviours as well as the dynamics in organisational and educational settings. “In other words, the programme adopts a more specialist and practical training than conventional generalist liberal arts education philosophy,” Wong points out.

In an effort to prepare students for the rigours of education management amidst the dynamic landscape of education in the local and international context, each training module covers not only up-to-date organisational psychology and education management theories, but also case studies presented by instructors and teachers currently working within the respective fields. Students could attend seminars and talks delivered by prominent scholars, and engage with practitioners in the education and applied psychology sectors in events to conduct policy analysis and organisational research.

A flexible course in career and study mode

Putting together a balanced mix of practicum and theory, the programme is carefully curated for, but not limited to, managers, senior teachers, subject panel heads, principals and administrators from all levels of education institutions. Full-time working students can opt for the weekend mode, which comprises 8-hour full-day learning on Saturdays and occasional Sunday classes. 

Course prerequisites include the ownership of a bachelor’s degree with a first or second class honours from a recognised tertiary institution, while equivalent qualifications and experiences will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Applicants from non-English-medium tertiary institutions are required to obtain in the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) a minimum score of 550 (paper-based test); or 213 (computer-based test); or 79 (internet-based test). A band score of 6.5 or above in the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is also accepted.

An eye-opener to the world

In order to address the ubiquitous phenomenon of globalisation as well as the incessant change in the spheres of psychology and society, the programme tailors its curriculum to offer its students the interdisciplinary learning environment they need. According to Wong, courses such as “Globalisation, Policy and Society” and “Internationalising Education: Institutional Strategy and Development” elaborate on education policy-making and strategic topics beyond Asia, while the “Regional Study on Education Management in Greater China and East Asia” module examines the development of education management in neighbouring countries of Hong Kong.

Other from diverse classroom learning, students who take part in the Regional Study course will travel to regions such as Taiwan and other cities in Southeast Asia during a one-week intensive study tour. Through talks and group projects, students are given extensive exposure to the education policies and developments in adjacent cities. Apart from that, summer and winter school experiences at leading institutes in the US and the UK will keep students abreast of the latest progression of education management.