Programme Structure

Programme Structure

The Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) Programme combines a core curriculum, bespoke language training, and Social Science foundation courses together with Major required and elective courses and free electives.

The following summary table describes the programme structure for students who pursue the programme on a full-time four-year basis. More details about the programme structure can be found here (please refer to the section of Faculty of Social Sciences). More information about Lingnan University’s Core Curriculum and Language Training is also available.


Course CategoryTotal Number of Credits
Core Curriculum
Common Core12
Cluster Course15
English Language12
Chinese Language/Putonghua6
Social Sciences Foundation12
Major Required Courses12/15*
Major Elective Courses18/21*
Junior Research Project3
Free Electives27

*Please refer to the individual major curriculums


Minor Programmes

In addition to our Majors, students may register for one or two Minor Programme(s). Details of the Minor Programmes offered by the Faculty of Social Sciences and other Faculties/Units can be found here


Minor Programmes


Course offerings

The four Departments (Department of Psychology, Department of Economics, Department of Government and International Affairs, Department of Sociology and Social Policy) under the Faculty of Social Sciences contribute courses for the Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) Programmes. To browse the current courses on offer please follow the links below:


Economics (ECON) | Government and International Affairs (GOV) | Psychology (PSY)

Sociology (SOC)  | Social Sciences (SSC) | Health and Social Services Management (HSM)


The descriptions for all courses offered at Lingnan University can be found here.





Government and International Affairs

Sociology & Social Policy

Information for Prospective Students 


Taught Postgraduate

Research Postgraduate


Tel: (852) 2616 7176 / (852) 2616 7552

E-mail: [email protected]