Subsite Background

Minor Programmes under 4-year System

In addition to a Major Programme, a student may register for one or two Minor Programme(s). The following Minor Programmes are offered:

AccountingGovernment and International Affairs (renamed to Government and Politics from 2023-24)
Animation and Digital ArtsGovernment and Politics
Artificial Intelligence and EthicsHistory
Behavioural ScienceHong Kong Studies
BusinessHuman Resource Management
Business PsychologyInformation Technology
China Business Studies (Registration suspended from 2022-23) (Discontinued from 2024-25)International Affairs
China’s Regional Development (Registration suspended from 2020-21)International Studies (renamed to International Affairs from 2023-24)
Chinese StudiesKorean Language and Culture
Chinese WritingLaw in Business
Cinema StudiesLogistics and Decision Science
Creative Media IndustriesMarketing
Creative Technologies in Music and Community (from 2024-25)Media Culture and Marketing (Registration suspended from 2019-20)
Cultural StudiesMusic and Cultural Sustainability
Data SciencePerformance Studies (Registration suspended from 2024-25)
EconomicsPolitical Science (renamed to Government and International Affairs from 2019-20 Year 1 Intake)
EntrepreneurshipPublic Policy
Environmental and Scientific LiteracyRisk and Insurance Management
Environmental StudiesSocial Innovation and Social Studies
Film and Visual ArtsSmart Cities
FinanceSocial Media Management
Financial Services Marketing (Registration suspended from 2021-22) (Discontinued from 2024-25)Sociology
Gender and Sexuality StudiesTranslation
Global BusinessTranslation, Cross-Cultural Studies, and Corporate Communication 
Global Economics and Banking (from 2024-25)Visual Studies (renamed to Film and Visual Arts from 2024-25)


The registration for a Minor Programme should be done by the end of the add/drop period in the first term of the final year of study. Normally a Minor Programme requires students to take 15 credits of courses. 

A student may use the credits assigned for free electives in the curriculum of his/her registered programme of studies to take courses leading to a Minor Programme. Double counting of course credits by using free electives leading to fulfillment of requirements for a Minor programme is allowed. From the 2020-21 academic year, the number of courses to be double counted between Core Curriculum Cluster courses and each Minor is limited to two.

While courses in a Minor Programme can be granted credit transfer/course exemption and recognised for fulfillment of curriculum requirements of the Minor Programme, normally a student may not be granted credit transfer/course exemption for more than 50% of the required number of credits for the Minor Programme.

A student who, upon graduation, has successfully fulfilled the requirements specified in the curriculum of the Minor Programme(s) for which he/she has registered will have the title of his/her Minor Programme(s) indicated in his/her transcripts.