跳到內容
博雅教育成就一生
開始內容

傳媒

Andreas Wimmer教授於嶺大傑出公開講座分享對國族建立研究的見解

2018 年 12 月 10 日

Andreas Wimmer教授於嶺大傑出公開講座分享對國族建立研究的見解

 

嶺南大學社會學及社會政策系於2018年12月10日舉行傑出公開講座,並邀得美國哥倫比亞大學Lieber社會學及政治哲學教授Andreas Wimmer教授以「國族建立:為何一些國家成功,另一些則未能成事?」為題發表演講。

Wimmer教授除了在哥倫比亞大學任教外,亦曾於美國普林斯頓大學、加州大學洛杉磯分校,以及波恩、納沙泰爾與蘇黎世大學擔任學術要職。其研究議程跨越社會學、政治學和社會人類學等學術範疇,並運用了人種學領域研究、比較歷史分析和定量研究等方法。

在講座當中,Wimmer教授精闡解答了為何某些國家得以實現國族融和,另一些則出現種族不平等,甚至是分隔主義或種族之間的衝突。他使用了數據庫及個案研究詮釋其國族建立的理論,並專注於民間社會組織的傳播、語言同化的現象以及不同國家在提供公共財貨方面的能力。Wimmer教授的研究透過長期歷史及全球比較觀點,檢視了以下的課題:國家如何建立與國族怎樣形成?個體如何劃定民族和種族界限?這些過程會導致甚麼種類的政治衝突?

是次傑出公開講座的出席人數相當踴躍,當中包括來自其他大學的眾多學者及研究生;而嶺大校長鄭國漢教授、副校長莫家豪教授、社會學及社會政策系系主任Roman David教授亦有撥冗出席。

 

Andreas Wimmer教授於嶺大傑出公開講座分享對國族建立研究的見解 Andreas Wimmer教授於嶺大傑出公開講座分享對國族建立研究的見解

Skip to Main Content
Liberal Arts Education Transformation For Life
Start main Content

Media

Professor Andreas Wimmer shares his insights on researching nation building at Distinguished Public Lecture in Lingnan University

10 Dec 2018

Table of event information

Professor Andreas Wimmer shares his insights on researching nation building at Distinguished Public Lecture in Lingnan University

 

The Department of Sociology and Social Policy in Lingnan University hosted a Distinguished Public Lecture on 10 Dec 2018 and invited Professor Andreas Wimmer, Lieber Professor of Sociology and Political Philosophy at Columbia University, to speak on “Nation Building: Why Some Countries Come Together While Others Fall Apart”.

In addition to teaching at Columbia University, Professor Wimmer has held academic appointments at renowned institutions such as Princeton, UCLA and the Universities of Bonn, Neuchatel and Zurich. He has pursued his research agenda across the disciplinary fields of sociology, political science and social anthropology, and through various styles of inquiry including but not limited to ethnographic field research, comparative historical analysis and quantitative research.

In his talk, Professor Wimmer gave insightful answers to the question why national integration was achieved in some countries while ethnic inequality or even separatism and inter-racial conflicts were seen in others. He used datasets and case studies to expound on his theory of nation building that focuses on the spread of civil society organisations, the phenomenon of linguistic assimilation and the states’ capacity to provide public goods. His research brings a long-term historical and globally comparative perspective to the questions of how states are built and nations formed, how individuals draw ethnic and racial boundaries, and which types of political conflicts result from these processes.

Professor Leonard K Cheng, President of Lingnan University, Professor Joshua Mok, Vice-President of Lingnan University and Professor Roman David, Head of Department of Sociology and Social Policy attended the lecture. The Distinguished Lecture also attracted many academics and postgraduate students from other universities to participate.

 

Professor Andreas Wimmer shares his insights on researching nation building at Distinguished Public Lecture in Lingnan University Professor Andreas Wimmer shares his insights on researching nation building at Distinguished Public Lecture in Lingnan University