跳到內容
開始內容

嶺青成就

獎學金得主於柏克萊開拓國際視野

獎學金得主於柏克萊啟發國際視野

在滙豐海外獎學金2019/20共$300,000港元的資助下,主修歷史的二年級生歐陽家熹Connor(圖,最左者)正於美國柏克萊加州大學展開為期一年的海外學習,從中培養環球視野,了解不同文化。

 

意欲成為博物館策展人的Connor認為,「出國交流不是為了吃喝玩樂,它應具教育性、資訊性及啟發性的」。他與我們分享最近的生活及學習體驗。

 

你為何喜歡歷史?有特別感興趣的時期或範疇嗎?

我喜歡了解人與人之間的互動,以及社會階級和功能的形成。

 

我特別愛好鑽研歐亞貿易史、中國科技史及歐洲現代史。中國現代史亦是我最近愛讀的範疇。

 

博物館有何吸引之處?你最喜博物館是?

博物館是集回憶與知識一身的公共空間。不管我們是在沙田欣賞粵劇,或是到尖沙咀鑑賞漢朝古墓俑,都可透過展覽、蒐集及保藏古物,建立共同的身分,或是一份共享的回憶。

 

我不會忘記在沙田香港文化博物館展出的宋瓷,傑出的中國陶瓷工藝讓身為中華文化一分子的我感到自豪。嶺南畫派大師趙少昂為鳥兒賦予生命的作品也教我難忘。

 

最令我印象深刻的博物館體驗,就是香港海事博物館的貿易史展覽。該展覽正正反映學術研究如何與市民生活息息相關,把課堂知識融入博物館或相關機構中。

 

你認為現代科技如何能夠提升參觀博物館的體驗?

數碼科技無疑能為觀眾帶來刺激,也正因如此,在應用於博物館時更要審慎而行。

 

只要善用數碼媒體,甚至其他更先進的技術如3D全息投影或互動展品,要寓教育於娛樂並非天方夜譚。例如「唐長安」展覽運用數碼媒體重塑出整個城市,配合有關唐代基建與市集百態的實體展品,就是最佳例子。

 

若在展覽加入遊戲元素希望達到教育目的,但最後淪為只供玩樂的工具,反而會讓展覽失去焦點而失色。

 

總括來說,數碼媒體的潛在價值毋庸置疑,但策展者不應只著眼於其表面效果,反而應該思考如何善用數碼媒體提升整個展覽的質素,將實體或文字展品串連起來。

 

柏克萊加州大學之旅如何?跟在嶺大學習相比,有甚麼異同嗎?

一切都很順利。認識新朋友、上課、煮食、從事新的學術研究。靈感來了就寫寫論文甚至小說。

 

兩所大學最不同的地方是學習環境。在柏克萊,課堂十分具競爭性,不論是同學互動,還是課後溫習,我都感受到同學們奮力追求卓越的學習氛圍。無形的壓力雖然有時會令人喘不過氣,但也推動我積極裝備自己。

 

沒有滙豐海外獎學金,我絕對沒有機會獲得這些體驗。我亦感激嶺大一直給我的支持及教導,令我獲益良多。

Scholarship awardee gains inspiring experience at UC Berkeley  Scholarship awardee gains inspiring experience at UC Berkeley

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Student Achievements/Campus Life

Scholarship awardee gains inspiring experience at UC Berkeley

Scholarship awardee gains inspiring experience at UC Berkeley

In the US on a one-year overseas study trip at UC Berkeley, Connor Christopher Auyeung Ka-hei (Left in the picture), a second-year History major, with a HK$300,000 sponsorship from the prestigious HSBC Overseas Scholarship 2019/20, expects the journey to give him a global outlook and cultural understanding.

 

Connor, who plans to be a museum curator, believes that “an exchange trip is not meant to be entertainment; it should be educational, informative and inspiring.” He talks to us recently about his life and study experience.

 

Why do you like history? Is there any period or area that you are particularly interested in?

I like understanding how people interact, form hierarchies and function.

 

I am attracted to trade history in Eurasia, and Chinese technological history as well as modern European history. Recently, I have been reading up on modern Chinese history.

 

How do museums impress you and make you want to be a curator? Which is your favourite?

Museums are publicly accessible storages of memory and knowledge. Think of listening to Cantonese Opera in Sha Tin or looking at Han-era tomb figurines in Tsim Sha Tsui — we exhibit, collect and preserve things, because that is how we build up a common identity, or at least a common memory.

 

I don’t think I shall ever forget how splendid the Sung porcelain ware in the Hong Kong Heritage Museum in Sha Tin is — it makes me proud to be part of a Chinese culture capable of such outstanding craftsmanship — or how Zhao Shao’ang’s Lingnan-style painting makes birds come to life in such ingenious ways.

 

My all-time most exciting visit to a museum, however, was reading about the history of trading at the Hong Kong Maritime Museum. It just shows how academic research ties into public life, and how classroom knowledge should be incorporated into the public knowledge in museums and affiliated institutions.

 

In your opinion, how can modern technologies play a part in enriching visitors’ museum experiences?

Digital technology is undoubtedly a stimulating medium, which is why using it in a museological context must be carefully thought out.

 

When we are preparing an exhibition, is it meant for education? Or is it meant to entertain? Balancing the two, while far from impossible, requires wise use of digital media as well as other even more recent forms like holographic projection and interactive exhibits. A good example would be deploying digital media to reconstruct a whole city, such as Tang Chang’an, which itself is supplemented by material exhibits of Tang infrastructure and urban life.

 

A game that is supposed to educate but only entertains in an exhibition does not drive the message home; in fact it may even blur the whole point.

 

All in all, digital media is so powerful and stimulating that it should not be used for its own sake, but to enhance the quality of the exhibition, bridging the gaps between other material or text presentations.

 

How are you finding UC Berkeley? Any similarities or differences with life at Lingnan?

So far I’m doing fine, meeting new people and attending classes; in between, I cook, delve into new academic research and occasionally write essays and even fiction when inspiration comes.

 

As for the difference, I’d definitely point to the academic culture. Everything in class is a lot more competitive: in both interaction and after-class revision, you can feel students’ determination to do their best. The pressure, while not always a welcome sensation, keeps me well on my toes, and I get on with it.

 

Without the sponsorship, it is impossible for me to experience all these. I am also grateful for the support and guidance from Lingnan throughout my study.

Scholarship awardee gains inspiring experience at UC Berkeley  Scholarship awardee gains inspiring experience at UC Berkeley

 

More in Student Achievements/Campus Life