跳到內容
開始內容

嶺青成就

[專訪] 中文辯論隊揚威大專盃 隊員傳授換位思考必殺技

[專訪] 中文辯論隊揚威大專盃 隊員傳授換位思考必殺技

辯論界年度盛事「大專辯論賽2019」圓滿落幕,嶺南大學今年力壓一眾參賽院校,重奪失落兩年的大專盃。

 

第24屆嶺南大學中文辯論隊派出周祉芊(主辯、文化研究系三年級)、鄧海銘(第一副辯、中文系四年級)、陳梓懷(第二副辯、中文系副學士課程二年級)及麥華麒(結辯、文化研究系二年級),迎戰香港教育大學,就決賽辯題「#MeToo運動對推動社會公義利多於弊」展開連場激辯。

代表反方的嶺大最終以1:4稱霸,隊員麥華麒榮膺「最佳辯論員」。

 

(左起: 陳梓懷、鄧海銘、麥華麒及周祉芊)

 

台上一分鐘,台下十年功。辯論除了要雄「辯」滔滔,也要辨清真相、從多角度「論」述社會議題。我們特意坎訪四位辯論員,分享比賽經驗及心得。

 

嶺大中辯校隊有何特色?

鄧:某些院校會安排恆常的密集式訓練,不時找來師兄師姐重點培訓現役隊員,進行多場模擬辯論。而我們這裡最大的特色是「以戰養戰」; 與其花時間綵排訓練,不如直接出賽累積實戰經驗,再作賽後檢討。重溫比賽片段時,就能觀察各自在擂台上的弱點,互相提點加以改進。

 

你們是如何備戰的?

鄧:搜集資料十分重要也最耗時。中文資料其實有限,我們需要參考外國資料,甚至是英文以外的材料。猶記得某次我負責尋找法國的案例,唯有利用網上翻譯猜測法文意思。今年有次討論「一次性塑膠」,我們就閣讀了聯合國環境署一份百多頁的英文報告。

 

周:除了搜集資料外,我們也得紀錄世界各地有關的方案、持分者的意見、權威學者研究、近期學術報告等,然後輯錄成一份完整資料方便隊員閱覽。

 

你認為辯論比賽的決勝關鍵是?

陳:我認為懂得運用資料是致勝關鍵。資料就如一堆砌圖,需要透過我們的語言技巧拼砌起來。有些資料其實並非直接與辯題有關,輔以比喻手法表達就事半功倍。曾有辯員闡述行車速度時,比喻為嬰兒爬行速度的若干倍,為觀眾留下深刻印象。

 

麥:時間分配也是決勝因素之一。任何論點都必須以最精準的語言表達出來,論點和語言技巧從來都是相輔相成。賽時有限,要懂得在論點質素和闡述時間之間取捨。

 

當對手提出很強的觀點時,你們會如何反駁? 

陳:我們通常會事先構想對手所有有機會質疑的觀點,賽前準備好反駁的理據。副辯通常就會擔當反駁的角色。

常見的反駁技巧有三種:第一,進攻就是最好的防守,以反問的方式奪回主導,要求對手正面回應相關提問。第二,在對手質疑的地方上加以解釋。第三,「受身方法」: 認同和理解對方的論點,然後換個身分思考,又或者用更宏觀的角度超越對手的觀點。這樣對手的質疑就變得渺小,而這是個最近於辯論界興起的技巧。

 

麥:我們在是次有關#MeToo運動的辯題就運用了受身的技巧。對手談到#MeToo運動能讓受害者大膽講出自己的經歷,從而走出人生陰影。我們當時接受#MeToo運動能給予她們勇氣站出來的優點,但同時以實例指出#MeToo運動卻未必能夠幫助她們走出陰影,反而更有機會引起大眾質疑他們存心作假、陷害他人。這樣不是會令受害者變得更低落嗎?

 

你認為好的辯論員具備什麼特質?

鄧:慎思明辨能力及耐性十分重要。網絡上的的文章質素良莠不齊,資料真確性往往不可靠。

 

麥:我認為是自省能力,好的辯論員需要不時了解自己的長處及短處,自強不息。

 

陳:作為隊長,我的著眼點反而是辯論隊整體的特質。好的辯論隊就要囊括不同特質的辯論員,簡單來說就是「平衡」。由擁有不同特質的辯論員所歸納出來的論點,有持平、不偏不倚的優勢。

 

在辯論中學到什麼?

周:有些時侯,我需要代表與自己立場違背的一方辯論。從中我學習到如何接受本身不認同的事物。在說服自己的同時,其實也在聆聽、理解不同人士的聲音及訴求,需要從多角度剖析真相。

 

鄧:隊員相處時少不免有磨擦,亙相為立場和論點爭持不下。這令我們學懂互相尊重,接受批評。

 

陳:我意識到一些議題根本沒有絕對的對與錯,問題只在乎觀點與角度。一些社會爭論正反映這點。

 

辯論帶給你最大的啟發是?

麥:電影《一代宗師》裡有一名句「見自己,見天地,見眾生」。見自己,辯論培養重邏輯、重真相的思維;見天地,辯論讓人從多方面認識世界;見眾生,辯論讓我們接受社會不同聲音。重點在於「見」,辯論使我走出自己的小世界,用心看見別人的小世界,一起建構屬於大家的大世界。

 

「香港大專辯論賽」由香港電台及香港專上學生聯會合辦,透過粵語辯論比賽鼓勵青少年「衝出校園,關心社會」。

Debate Team   Debate Team

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Student Achievements/Campus Life

[Interview] Chinese debate team nails down inter-collegiate victory, debaters reveal secrets of triumph

[Interview] Chinese Debate Team nails down inter-collegiate victory, debaters reveal secrets of triumph

The annual Inter-collegiate Debate Competition 2019 reached a successful conclusion with Lingnan University taking the top prize among tertiary institutions, matching its previous win in 2016.

 

The 24th Lingnan University Chinese debate team was represented by Helen Chow Tsz-chin (first debater, Year 3 Cultural Studies), Tang Hoi-ming (second debater, Year 4 Chinese), Tan Tsz-wai (third debater, Year 2 AD Chinese) and Anastasia Mak Wa-ki (fourth debater, Year 2 Cultural Studies) who rose to the challenge in the final against The Education University of Hong Kong.

(From left: Tan Tsz-wai, Tang Hoi-ming, Anastasia Mak Wa-ki and Helen Chow Tsz-chin)


They spoke against the motion “The advantages outweigh the disadvantages of the #MeToo movement in promoting social justice”. According to the judges, it was a convincing win, with a special accolade for Anastasia Mak Wa-ki who was named overall Best Debater.

 

The win was the result of long hours of practice, which helped the individual team members to speak eloquently, identify relevant points relating to social issues, argue a case from different perspectives, and approach things with a logical mindset. The four spoke afterwards about the experience and what lay behind their victory.   

 

How special is the Chinese Debate Team at Lingnan?

Tang: Some institutions arrange regular training sessions and a packed schedule, calling in former team members to help out with intense rehearsals and mock debates. What makes it special here is that we learn more by doing. Instead of training night and day, we practise and improve by taking part in actual contests. We then do a careful review of our performance to identify the things we still need to work on.

 

How do you prepare for this particular competition?

Tang: Gathering useful information and doing background research is a prerequisite, and that is what took the most time. Given the limited resources available in Chinese, we had to look through reference materials written in English and in other languages as well. One of my tasks was to check cases in France, and I had to use an online translator to understand the French. One topic this year was disposable plastics and, for that, we read a 100-page report in English from the UN Environment Programme.

 

Chow: For something like that, we would make notes on various initiatives around the world, the opinions of different stakeholders, research by leading scholars, and recent academic reports. We would then compile a concise set of references for fellow team members to rely on.

 

What is the key to success in a competition?

Tan: It all depends on how well you make use of the information you have collected. It is like putting together the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle, and a well thought out speech should present the whole picture. Some things may seem irrelevant to the motion, but can still be used as a metaphor. For example, when explaining the speed of car, a debater once compared that with a baby crawling across the floor, which made a big impression with the audience.

 

Mak: Good time management also counts for a lot. An argument only works if your explanation is precise enough. When choosing an argument you think is effective, you also have to consider the time needed to set it out clearly enough.

 

When the opponent had made a strong argument, how did your team turn the tables?

 

Tan: It is a common practice to anticipate arguments that the opponent is likely to put forward and to prepare responses in advance.

 

There are three techniques we often use. First, attack is the best form of defence. To regain the upper hand, we might raise another concern and request a direct response. Secondly, we try to clarify any ambiguity. Thirdly, we might acknowledge the other team’s perspective, but then speak from a modified position or take a more comprehensive viewpoint which goes further than they did. This minimises the force of any attack against us and, as techniques, they tend to get the attention of the judges.

 

Mak: In this competition, the opposing team argued that the #MeToo movement encourages victims to speak out about their suffering which, in turn, gives them the courage to live in hope. We agreed that support for victims can inspire courage, but we asked if the #MeToo has really been able to do this. We went on to give some real-life examples showing how people linked to the #MeToo movement had been criticised for exaggerating their cases, accused of lying, and generally insulted. None of this helped in healing their mental wounds.

 

What strengths must a good debater possess?

Tang: One of the first requirements is good critical thinking skills. You should also be patient and persistent in checking information. Online searches are convenient, but many of the articles which show up are of doubtful quality and value.

 

Mak: A good debater should always reflect on how to keep improving areas of excellence and how to work on those that are not yet up to the required standard.

 

Tan: As the captain, I pay attention to what it takes to work well as a team. Each of us has unique strengths, and a good all-round team is one that makes full use of its different assets. We helped each other to form a comprehensive view of each case and to come up with strong, unbiased arguments that could prevail against our opponents.

 

What did you learn during the process?

Chow: There were times in a debate when I had to make an argument that didn’t really fit with my own opinions. But that taught me about the need to listen to opposing voices, to figure out the rights and needs of different individuals, and to interpret reality from various angles.

 

Tang: Along the way, the team had a few quarrels, but that led to greater solidarity. We learned to appreciate criticism and respect each other.

 

Tan: I realised that there is no absolute yes or no in some controversies. It all depends on the position you have chosen to take. You see that today in many disputes about social issues.

 

How has success with the debate team inspired you?

Mak: In the movie The Grandmaster there is a famous quote about being, knowing, doing. We debate to foster a logical mindset and to be someone who addresses facts and truths. We want to know how the world works and see things from different aspects. And we do it to understand social issues and resolve them for the betterment of the society.

 

Co-organised by RTHK and The Hong Kong Federation of Students, the Inter-collegiate Debate Competition aims to inspire young people to care about the society they live in.

Debate Team   Debate Team