跳到內容
開始內容

嶺大視角

駐校音樂家Andrea MARCELLI 為校園帶來節奏、旋律和靈感

駐校音樂家Andrea MARCELLI 為校園帶來節奏、旋律和靈感

嶺大歡迎來自意大利的Andrea MARCELLI 先生到來嶺大校園,於9月19至10月31日擔任嶺大首位駐校音樂家。在羅馬出生的Marcelli先生是一位鼓手和作曲家。他畢業於L.Refice音樂學院,修讀了七年的古典單簧管和四年的爵士音樂編曲/作曲。來港前,他曾經在洛杉磯(1989-1997)、紐約(1997-2001)和柏林(2001-2018)居住,從事音樂工作。多年來他曾在五大洲不同地區演出,取得成功;也曾與世界各地的著名音樂家一起演奏,並發行了許多唱片,包括他領導演奏的六張唱片。

 

Marcelli先生選擇來香港,是出於一個獨特的個人因素。過去30年,他花了12年時間在美國生活,17年在德國,也曾在非洲和日本短暫居住,接觸過不同的文化,但他從沒有見過有其他城市像香港一樣,是一個充滿東西方特色而獨一無二的混合體。早於2014年他第一次來港演出音樂會時,已對香港留下了這個印象。他說:「我覺得自己也是一個集不同東西於一身的混合體。雖然年輕時我已決定要成為音樂家,但我也曾經考慮當畫家。在我這麼多年的音樂事業生涯中,曾經演奏過不同的樂器,由古典單簧管到爵士鼓。」他認為未來的世界是要走向多元化。

 

那麼,Marcelli先生為什麼選擇嶺大?他覺得他在嶺大可以自由決定教授什麼,是非常難能可貴。嶺大與他之間相互的信任,正是他接受擔任駐校音樂家的重要因素。一方面,嶺大相信他有能力為校園帶來新的音樂元素,令師生受惠;另一方面,Marcelli先生看到了在這裡與學生建立聯繫的許多可能性。他認為嶺大的學生都友善有禮,而他很開心可以在這個充滿活力的校園裡工作。他回憶說:「我第一天抵達香港,便立即從機場去到嶺大。我走進課室時,心裡想著怎樣能夠與這裡的學生聯繫起來。至目前為止,我在嶺大有一個美好的開端。」

 

Marcelli先生來到嶺大,是要給學生帶來這個訊息:節拍和旋律都具有治療作用。音樂本身可以幫助我們以平靜的方式克服困難。它就像一個安全的島嶼,我們每天都可以來到這個島,靜靜地反思。很多時候,我們聽的音樂是來自收音機或互聯網,我們讓別人掌管了自己所聽的音樂。然而,尋找我們真正熱愛的音樂是很重要的。Marcelli先生提議我們通過演奏樂器來尋找自己真正喜歡的音樂。他把演奏樂器比擬為坐在火車上,跟著火車的節奏前進。當大家一起自由地演奏音樂時,便可以通過音樂與其他人進行對話,一起體驗尋找的過程。這就是Marcelli先生試圖與嶺大學生分享的訊息。

 

駐校期間,Marcelli先生逢星期三和四給不同學生群上課。他也教導一個由20位樂器演奏家組成的創意樂團。在10月10日,他與其他本地及國際音樂家聯合演出一個音樂會。在過去幾個星期,Marcelli先生盡可能讓最多學生參加他的課堂。他的目標是幫助學生找到自己的靈感,以及發掘他們的創造力。他說:「在日常生活或工作當中,我們以某些平常的方式做某些事情,直到我們遇到了障礙。為了克服這個障礙,我們必須找到一個解決方法。這個時候,我們便需要創造力。我希望學生能夠發現自己的創造力,並且意識到他們不僅能夠將創造力應用於工作,還能應用在生活其他方面。」

 

除了教學和表演外,Marcelli先生還喜歡徒步探索校園周圍的環境。他在嶺大校園背後健行遠足,步行了近2公里上山,並在屯門小徑走了600級樓梯呢!

/f/upload/34427/Insights-Andrea Marcelli_3.jpg   Musician-in-Residence Andrea Marcelli brings new rhythm, melody and inspiration to campus

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Insights

Musician-in-Residence Andrea MARCELLI brings new rhythm, melody and inspiration to campus

Musician-in-Residence Andrea MARCELLI  brings new rhythm, melody and inspiration to campus

Lingnan welcomed Mr Andrea MARCELLI from Italy, who has been appointed the University’s first Musician-in-Residence from 19 September to 31 October. A drummer and composer, Mr Marcelli was born in Rome and graduated from the Conservatory L.Refice after training in Classical Clarinet for 7 years and Jazz Arrangement/Composition for 4 years. Before arriving in Hong Kong, he lived and worked as musician in Los Angeles from 1989 to 1997, in New York until 2001, and in Berlin since. Throughout his career, he has earned success from his extensive performances on five continents, playing with renowned musicians around the world and releasing many albums – including six in which he played as a leader.

 

Mr Marcelli has chosen to come to Hong Kong for a unique personal reason. Having travelled the world for the last 30 years – 12 years in USA, 17 in Germany, and the rest in Africa and Japan, he has seen and lived in different cultures, yet he never finds another city quite the same as Hong Kong where there is an inimitable mix of western and eastern characteristics. He already got this impression on Hong Kong on his first visit to the city for a concert in 2014. “I also see in myself a blend of different things,” said Mr Marcelli, “For even though I decided to become a musician, I once considered becoming a painter as well. In my music career, I have also played a variety of instruments from classical clarinet to jazz drums for many years.” In his view, diversity is a direction that the world is going toward in the future.

 

Why did he choose to come to Lingnan? Mr Marcelli feels that he particularly values the freedom to teach what he wanted at Lingnan. The trust between the University and him was an important factor for his acceptance of the position. On the one hand, Lingnan believed in his ability to bring new musical elements to the campus which benefit the staff and students; on the other hand, he saw numerous possibilities for him to connect with the students – who are kind and respectful – and work with them in an uplifting campus environment. “On my first day in Hong Kong, I went straight from the airport to the classroom at Lingnan,” he recalled, “The question on my mind when I walked into the classroom was how I could connect with the students here. It has so far been a beautiful beginning for me at Lingnan.”

 

During his time at Lingnan, Mr Marcelli brought a message to students: Rhythm and melody have healing effects. Music itself can help us get through difficulties in a peaceful way. It acts like a safe island where we can go to every day, and reflect on ourselves. Oftentimes, music is given to us by the radio or the Internet, and we let someone else take charge of what we listen. However, it is important to search for the kinds of music that we really feel passionate about. The solution that Mr Marcelli proposes is to go through this search process by playing instruments. He compares playing instruments to sitting on a train and going along with the rhythm of the train’s motion. When playing freely with one another, we may have a dialogue with other human beings through music and experience the search together – this is what Mr Marcelli tried to share with Lingnan students.

 

During his residence at Lingnan, he had been instructing on Thursdays and Wednesdays to groups of students. He also taught a creative ensemble made up of around 20 instrumentalists. On 10 October, he collaborated with other local and international musicians to perform in a concert. During the past weeks, Mr Marcelli tried to include as many students as possible in his lessons. Throughout his work, he aimed at helping students find their own inspiration and discover their creativity. “We did certain things in a certain usual way in our normal daily life or in our job, until we stumble upon an obstacle. To overcome the obstacle, we must find a solution and that is when we need creativity. I hope students can discover creativity within themselves, and realise that they are able to not only apply it to a job, but also other aspects of life,” said Mr Marcelli.

 

Apart from teaching and performing, Mr Marcelli enjoyed exploring the environment around the campus on foot. He actually went hiking behind the campus, walking almost 2km up the hill and another 600 stairs up from the Tuen Mun trail!

/f/upload/34427/Insights-Andrea Marcelli_3.jpg   Musician-in-Residence Andrea Marcelli brings new rhythm, melody and inspiration to campus