跳到内容
开始内容

活动花絮

香港真人图书与岭大学生对谈:「前」途还是「钱」途?

香港真人图书与岭大学生对谈:「前」途还是「钱」途?

「真人图书」在香港愈趋普及,概念是让愿意分享的人,坐下来与听众细谈往事,从自身经验给予建议。

 

岭南大学邝森活图书馆在4月24日向香港真人图书馆借来两本真人图书,冀为同学带来一点点心灵鸡汤。

 

一位是资深电视节目编导,另一位则热衷於推广本地农业,分别透过分享职业生涯、前途规划方针和各种挑战,启发学生的思维。

 

「大学毕业后,我在电视台当助理编导,开展影片制作的事业。」在电视电影行业打滚了十多年的Pan说,「后来也参与过行政和广告的工作;现时我是一位自由创作者,主力制作纪录片。」。

 

在没有YouTube和手机应用程式的童年,陪伴她成长的是儿童节目《430穿梭机》,对「电视」的憧憬油然而生。

 

「潜移默化让我对『公仔箱』充满幻想,立志要踏足电视行业。」Pan说,随后成为儿童节目组的一员。

 

电视行业的演化

 

她指出,随著时代变迁,儿童节目再不只是茶余饭后的欢笑娱乐,更加讲究教育价值。

 

「现今世代,家长会质疑为何要让孩子花时间收看卡通人物走出来唱歌、跳舞,自得其乐。』」Pan对时代的转变感受犹深,「《儿歌金曲颁奖典礼》是我的童年回忆,单纯的欢乐就是陪伴我成长的一大元素。」

 

概括而言,她认为香港广受世界各地不同资讯的影响,观众自然会追求高质素的电视节目。而香港传媒特别擅长制作资讯性的纪录片,配合与众不同的观点和思维,揭示不平凡的生活点滴。

 

「电视节目对於香港观众来说,除了是一种娱乐,更加是学习知识的渠道,了解人性真实的一面。」Pan说。

 

寻找第二人生

 

她坦言,制作是需要金钱堆砌而成,资金是影响节目质素的关键。虽说电视电影制作行业的人工并不怎么理想,但梦想无价,也是一展创意抱负的好机会。

 

Pan现时埋首制作纪录片,涉猎的范畴包括音乐、安老等。

 

「专心对成功固然重要,但同时也应该发掘其他嗜好。」她分享道,「当时移世易,所专注的逐渐式微时,你有其他专长才不至於为挣扎人生而感到旁徨。」

 

转型并形容自己正在享受第二人生的Pan,深信科技只是工具,最重要还是人的思维。

 

「人总需要娱乐。我相信:媒体平台会死,但视频内容本身是不死的。」

 

听天由命的有机耕种

 

另一本到访的真人图书Nicole,主理本地农产品小店「田嘢」。在过去一年半里,该店透过共购计划实践「社区支持农业」,充当本地农夫与消费者的桥梁,每星期为约50个本地家庭安排有机蔬菜包,推广本地农业。

 

「每个季节都有时令蔬果,但一切都是『听天由命』。」Nicole回想道,「上年天气反常,由4月的旱,缺乏雨水滋润大地让农作物萌芽;后来到6、7月又经历了一场严重水浸;然后9月迎来超强台风『山竹』,一次又一次摧毁所有刚萌芽的农作物。有段时间我们无奈要暂停供应蔬菜包。」

 

小店在出售农产品的同时,更加希望让社会明白农夫的辛酸,了解以农业维持生计的艰苦。

 

「我们支持有机耕种,减少使用化学营养剂;运用天然的方法保持土壤健康,降低虫害,农夫们的收成较好,收入自然也较理想。」

 

为了推广有机耕种,Nicole更在销售的过程中「教导」消费者有关农产品的资讯。出售的蔬果品种、来自哪个农场、来自哪个农夫的劳力、种植方法和时间、出品质素未如理想的原因,小店都一一如实告知客户。

 

传统面条新味道

 

她亦细诉与传统工场合作的故事,为推广本地农业多走一步。

 

「湾仔有家70多年历史、一直追求原味的粉面老字号。」她说,「他们坚持用原材料制作素面、瑶柱虾子面和胡椒面等,不添加任何人造色素。」

 

田嘢遂与粉面厂磋商合作,提供本地有机农作物,交由粉面老店制作原味面条。

 

「想不到老人家一口答应,花心机为不同食材调制面条配方,包括蕃茄、姜黄和南瓜。」Nicole说。老前辈都身体力行为推广本地农业出一分力,年青一代又岂能纸上谈兵呢?

 

她亦提及,现时所赚取的酬劳可能连刚毕业大学生的薪酬水平都不如。但她深信在生命中,忠於自己比一切重要。长远来说,工作所带来的满足感,以及能够与值得敬佩的人一起共事,比赚到多少金钱来得更有价值。

 

香港真人图书馆於2011年成立,为香港现时唯一注册於创立真人图书馆的机构Human Library Organization的相关组织。负责人庞一鸣表示,真人图书馆是起源於丹麦的全球运动,旨在推广平等教育,减低社会各种误解和偏见。

 

「真人图书馆鼓励以即时发问和交流的形式作深度互动,驱使参加者面对各种社会现实。」庞补充道。

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Event Highlights

Career or money? Human Library Hong Kong discussed with students at Lingnan University

Career or money? Human Library Hong Kong discussed with students at Lingnan University

The concept of a “human book”, essentially someone who is happy to sit down with a group of listeners to tell stories or share advice and experience, is catching on fast in Hong Kong.

 

And on April 24, the Fong Sum Wood Library at Lingnan University was able to borrow two such “books” from Human Library Hong Kong to inform and inspire students.

 

One was a veteran production director for television programmes, the other a passionate promoter of local agriculture. And both made a big impression in outlining their career paths, guiding principles, and some of the challenges they have faced.

 

“After graduation, I took my first steps in the video industry as a production assistant with a television station,” said Pan, who has been working in the television and film industries for more than 10 years. “Later, I got involved in administration and advertising as well, and now I’m a freelancer working on documentaries.”

 

She traced his initial interest in television back to the children’s programme 430 Space Shuttle, which she watched as a youngster at a time when there was no YouTube or mobile apps.

 

“That show gave me a sense of fantasy and gradually shaped my thoughts about going into the TV industry,” said Pan, who subsequently made her mark as part of the team producing children’s programmes.

 

Evolution in the television industry

 

Times have changed, she noted, and children’s programmes are no longer just about entertainment or getting a laugh. They are also expected to promote educational values.

 

“Today, parents aren’t sure about letting their kids spend time watching a programme where cartoon characters just sing, dance and have fun,” Pan said, “But I used to watch the Children’s Song Awards Presentation in the past. And I remember simple things like that as moments of happiness when I was growing up.”

 

In general, she noted that Hong Kong is exposed to ideas and influences from different parts of the world, so it should be no surprise that audiences here expect high-quality television programmes. Moreover, the local media excels in producing informative documentaries which often reveal extraordinary stories or unexpected perspectives and mindsets.

 

“The Hong Kong audience expects television programmes to provide entertainment, but they also want channels which help them acquire knowledge and get a better grasp of truth and reality,” Pan said.

 

In search of options

 

In her talk, she didn’t disguise the fact that most productions are all about money, and that is the key to programme quality. However, no one going into the industry on the production side should expect to “coin it in”. That shouldn’t stop them pursuing their dreams, though, or realising their creative ambitions.

 

Pan is now immersed in making documentaries on a range of subjects, including music and elderly care.

 

“Staying focused is, of course, a prerequisite for success, but one should also try to explore other interests at the same time,” she said. “Then, if trends and attitudes change, you still possess other strengths and areas to move on to.”

 

Pan regarded herself as now enjoying a second life, or career. She also expressed the view that technology is simply a tool and what truly matters is the human mind.

 

“Entertainment is vital for human beings. I also believe that any media platform may eventually ‘die’, but the video content itself continues to last.”

 

Climate impact on organic farming

 

The second “human book” taking part in the event was Nicole. She runs Tin Yeah, a retail shop selling locally grown agricultural products. In the past 18 months, it has helped to connect consumers and local farmers via its joint purchase programme, thereby living up to the goals of the Community Supported Agriculture initiative. The business also arranges weekly packs of organic vegetables for some 50 households as another way of spreading the word about the benefits of local agriculture.

 

“The harvest of seasonal fruit and vegetables is determined by the climate,” Nicole said. “Last year, for instance, we had extreme weather conditions. There was April’s drought, which brought insufficient rainwater to irrigate the farmland, then severe floods in June and July, and September’s super typhoon Mangkhut. Each weather event devastated the growing plants, and there were times when we had no choice but to put a halt to making up packs of vegetables.”

 

Apart from selling produce, the retail shop also hopes to increase understanding of the realities farmers face and awareness of how hard it can be to earn a living from the land.

 

“We support organic farming that reduces the use of chemical nutrients. There are natural ways to make farmland healthier and reduce insect pests. As a result of that, farmers can achieve better yields and earn more.” 

 

To reinforce that message, Nicole makes a point of “educating” customers about what they are buying. She is always ready to talk about the various types of fruit and vegetables, where they are grown, responsible farming practices, and the reasons why some produce look different from what is found in a supermarket.

 

New kinds of traditional noodles

 

She also told a story about collaborating with a traditional manufacturer, which was another chance to promote local agriculture.

 

“There is a 70-year-old noodle factory in Wanchai, which adheres to the principle of ‘original taste’,” she said. “They insist on using only natural ingredients to make the doughs for different types of noodles and don’t use any artificial colouring.”

 

Aware of this, Tin Yeah saw a chance to collaborate by becoming a supplier of organic agricultural produce grown locally.

 

“The factory owner agreed at once and his team then came up with a new range of noodles flavoured with tomato, turmeric and pumpkin we had supplied,” Nicole said. That experience also showed that if the older generation is willing to take action to promote local agriculture, there is no reason for the younger generation to drag their feet.

 

On a separate topic, she noted that her own income might not reach the level of salary sometimes offered to fresh graduates. However, she felt that being true yourself is what matters most in life and that job satisfaction and working with people you respect is more important in the long run than how much you earn.

 

Established in 2011, Human Library Hong Kong is currently the only associate branch here of the pioneering Human Library Organization. According to its local leader PONG Yat-Ming, the human library is a global campaign which originated in Denmark to advocate equality in education and minimise misunderstandings and prejudices in society.

 

“It encourages interaction via instant questions and exchanges, while also inspiring participants to confront social realities,” Pong said.