跳到内容
开始内容

专题

尤德奖学金得主何玛莉 克服拔毛发癖逆境自强

尤德奖学金得主何玛莉 克服拔毛发癖逆境自强

岭南大学主修心理学的三年级生何玛莉,荣获学界著名的尤德爵士纪念基金奖学金2018/19,以表扬其卓越的学术成就及对认知障碍症患者的关爱。

 

「我对获奖深感荣幸,所带来的喜悦实在是笔墨难以形容。」何表示,「同时也赋予我继续努力追寻梦想的勇气;这笔奖学金能够帮补生活开支,让我可更专注於服务长者的义务工作。」

 

何是本年度全港来自不同大学仅七位得奖者之一;她勇於克服由公开试压力而生的焦虑疾病,也积极面对作为少数族裔的种种挑战,赢得评审的表彰。

 

说到过去所经历的一大难关,她认为莫过於备战香港中学文凭试的日子。

 

「回想中五至应考公开试那段时间,我同时兼顾不同的生活困境。」当时经常温习至通宵达旦的她说,「当中最深刻是由学业压力衍生的焦躁不安,后来更出现反覆拔除毛发的焦虑症状,最终患上拔毛发癖。」

 

那时,母亲的支持就是何的最强心理后盾,陪伴她一起跨越障碍。

 

「妈妈一直在身边守护我,助我战胜焦虑所带来的问题,让我从不感到孤单。」她说,「我甚至不敢想像,没有她的话我该如何克服弱点,以正面态度应付压力。当然,我也兴幸当时没有放弃自己,并重新站起来。从那时起,我相信自己的能力,深信自己是个意志坚定、热切而且坚毅不屈的人,永不轻言放弃。」

 

作为过来人,她对受精神疾病困扰的痛苦感同身受,希望对患者少一点误解、多一点关怀。

 

「我意识到,世界上很多地方都普遍缺乏对精神健康的关注,大众常对精神病患者敬而远之,觉得精神疾病是一件羞耻的事。」她说,「负面标签彼彼皆是,随之而来的社会偏见让精神病患者对病情难以启齿,错失接受适切治疗的黄金时间。」

 

在香港这个国际都市,何享受也尊重中国与巴基斯坦的共同文化,不过同时也为社会上对少数族裔的标签和偏见感到沮丧。她认为,人们倾向受媒体渲染影响,甚少亲身接触、真正聆听少数族裔的心声。

 

基於社会各种偏见,患上精神疾病的少数族裔所承受的情绪负担,就更苦不堪言。

 

「我想将来成为精神健康辅导员,特别针对认知障碍症的范畴。认知障碍症在香港愈趋普及,患者人数也有上升趋势;我尤其希望主动接触那些母语非中文、英文的病患者。」

 

她计划开展社区项目,协助认知障碍症患者建构社群,透过每星期的聚会教导他们学习适应认知障碍症,活出生命色彩,并且拉近来自不同少数族裔患者的文化差异。

 

「我想为他们组织『第二个家』,一个互相信任、尊重、关怀的家。」何说。

 

何现正於英国利兹大学当交流生,放眼世界之余,亦学习尊重和包容不同文化。

 

「我非常欣赏英国人积极推广精神健康的概念,他们认为身心健康同样重要。」她说,「出国交流的体验让我明白,无论遇上任何挑战,都必须对自己抱有信心,相信自己的力量。想要取信於人,必先取信自己,相信自己能够走得更远。」

 

尤德爵士纪念基金在1987年成立,每年颁发奖学金予本地全日制本科生及文凭课程学生,表扬学术成绩杰出且具社会承担的优异生。今年,每名得奖学生会得到一笔过港币40,000元的资助。

From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi   From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi

From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi   From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Feature

From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi

From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi

Mariam Bibi, a psychology major in her third year at Lingnan University, has been awarded a prestigious Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship 2018/19, which recognises academic excellence and her commitment to helping people with dementia.

 

“Words cannot describe how honoured and grateful I am to receive such recognition,” Bibi says. “I feel empowered and encouraged to keep working towards my dreams. With the scholarship, I can worry less about living expenses and focus more on volunteering and serving the elderly.”

 

One of only seven recipients this year of the territory-wide honour for students from eligible local universities, Bibi has overcome an anxiety disorder arising from the stress of public exams and the challenges of being from an ethnic minority in Hong Kong.

 

She still recalls the time back in secondary school, when gearing up for the Diploma of Secondary Education (DSE) exams, as one of the toughest of her life.

 

“From Secondary 5 until the DSE, I went through a lot of different situations all at once,” she says, noting that she would stay awake revising until 4am. “One was the academic pressure, which led to anxiety problems, and I ended up suffering from trichotillomania [hair-pulling disorder].”

 

However, staunch support from her mother, who was always there to assist, made it possible to pull through.

 

“She helps me overcome my anxiety issues and makes sure I never feel alone,” Bibi says. “Without her, I would not have overcome my challenges and been able to deal with the stress. Apart from my mother, I also give myself some credit for riding out the situation. Since then, I have always believed in what I am - a determined, passionate and a patient person. Giving up is never an option for me.”

 

Those times also made her more understanding and compassionate towards others with some kind of disorder.

 

“I am concerned about the general lack of awareness about mental health and how badly mental illness is stigmatised all around the world,” she says. “The stereotypes associated with it - and the social prejudice against patients with mental illness - make it a taboo subject, so people don’t speak about it and seek proper consultation in good time.”

 

While Bibi enjoys and embraces both the Chinese and Pakistani cultures in Hong Kong, she is sometimes disappointed by the negative stereotypes and prejudices that come along with being from an ethnic minority. She notices that people judge things by what they have seen or hear in the media and don’t rely enough on personal experience.

 

She notes too that, given certain social prejudices, the emotional burden imposed on someone from an ethnic minority group doubles if they suffer from mental health problems.

 

“I hope to be a mental health counsellor in future, in particular helping people with dementia. It is a growing concern in Hong Kong and the number of patients living with it is on the rise. I especially hope to reach out to those whose first language is neither English nor Chinese.”

 

She notes that the next step is to start up a project to bring together people with dementia as a community. The aim is to teach them to live beyond dementia through weekly gatherings and to bridge the cultural gap between of different ethnicities who are living with dementia.

 

“I want them to have a place which they can trust and call their second home,” Bibi says.

 

In general, she hopes to make life easier for the individuals involved, while also seizing the opportunity to raise awareness and stamp out the stigma surrounding dementia by telling the real-life stories of those who suffer.

 

Currently on an exchange programme at the University of Leeds in Britain, Bibi sees international learning as another way to promote acceptance and embrace other cultures.

 

“I have been inspired by the way people promote mental health in the UK and how it is given equal priority with physical health,” she says. “The programme has also reinforced my view that, no matter what, you should always believe in yourself and your abilities. You can then convince others by setting an example and showing how far you can reach.”

 

Established in 1987, the Sir Edward Youde Memorial Fund offers annual scholarships to local undergraduates and diploma students doing full-time programmes. It looks for outstanding academic performance and a demonstrated commitment to society. Each recipient will receive a one-off grant of HK$40,000 this year.

From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi   From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi

From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi   From trichotillomania patient to Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship winner: the story of Mariam Bibi