跳到内容
开始内容

学者新闻

杰出知识转移项目 改善香港少数族裔求职问题

杰出知识转移项目 改善香港少数族裔求职问题

香港少数族裔的求职者常会受到不公平的待遇,最近,岭大的学者就在一项新的研究中列出一系列方案,以期能改善这种情况。

 

岭大文化研究学系梁旭明教授在「香港少数族裔青年求职模式及支援服务实况」这个研究项目中,除深入地探讨少数族裔( 特别是南亚裔人士 )在求职时所遇到的困难外,同时亦探讨如何能即时提升他们的受雇机会。

 

此项与天主教香港教区「 教区劳工牧民中心 - 九龙」合作的研究,同时审视现届政府在支援少数族裔求职及改善问题的效能。「项目的重要性在於它能直接满足社区的需要。」梁旭明教授说。梁教授以这个研究项目,获得岭大卓越知识转移奖项。

 

除以问卷形式访问少数族裔,项目亦包括五组小组讨论。由於少数族裔只占香港人口约8%,如何能有效接触到他们,是项目首要解决的问题。梁旭明教授在五个大型的非政府组织帮助下,花了四个多月的时间,以滚雪球抽样(snowball sampling)的方法进行研究。「这是结合学术及社区联系的有效方法。 」她说。

 

研究报告在去年发布,得到政府及其他公共组织的关注及重视,此外,因传媒广泛报道,亦大大增加了大众对少数族裔求职议题的关注。

 

梁旭明教授指出,研究其中一项重要发现,是香港雇主在刊登招聘广告时,或许会因为不在意而失之偏颇,影响了少数族裔的求职机会。例如,大部分的招聘广告只会以中文刊登或发布,而那些职位并不需要应徵者拥有高程度的中文语文能力。

 

研究亦发现,很多少数族裔在求职时会依赖朋友的推荐及介绍,久而久之,他们会很刻板及单一地受雇於某些行业,例如是建筑业。当这循环不断重复时,他们亦会自我标签,让外界误以为他们只能担当那些工作。

 

此外,招聘及就业中心(如劳工署)也可扮演更主动的角色。例如,他们可加强对雇主的教育,及鼓励他们建立一个族裔多元的工作环境。「我们期望调查可反映少数族裔求职时遇到的复杂情况。」

 

梁旭明教授建议,政府应在2018/19年财政预算中,拨发5亿元以增强对少数族裔求职的支援。当中,政府可选择委托非政府组织,在少数族裔人数较多的社区开展全方位的就业服务。

 

与劳工署的「残疾人士在职培训计划」及「中高龄就业计划」相似,政府可鼓励及资助雇主雇用少数族裔人士。第一步可以是推行见习及试用计划。「各界只要作出少许改变,就能大大改善他们的求职环境。」

 

梁旭明教授指出,职业培训及工作坊能帮助少数族裔融入香港整体的劳动市场。

 

研究另一重点,是与一个非政府组织筹划了一系列剧场、音乐及表演工作坊予年轻少数族裔人士参加。「他们从中能学习到表达及汇报的技巧,从而建立自信。」梁旭明教授说。「无论是何种工作或岗位,这些都是十分重要的个人技能。」

 

在此项研究之前,梁旭明教授亦曾与一非政府组织合作,在屯门区搜罗有关在该区工作及生活的少数族裔的故事,以增强大众对他们为香港所作的贡献的认识。当中的活动包括筹办一系列文化导赏团,让参加者到一些少数族裔的家庭及由他们营运的商店作探访及交流,藉此加深彼此的认识。

 

「透过与社区组织合作, 我希望可以拉近大学 (教与研) 及地区不同人士的距离。」梁旭明教授说。

Professor Lisa Leung Yuk-ming enhances ethnic minority’s employability with her award-winning project   Professor Lisa Leung Yuk-ming enhances ethnic minority’s employability with her award-winning project   Professor Lisa Leung Yuk-ming enhances ethnic minority’s employability with her award-winning project

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Scholar Updates

Enhancing employability of ethnic minorities

Enhancing employability of ethnic minorities

Hong Kong’s ethnic minority jobseekers often face obstacles to employment, but a new Lingnan University study highlights a number of ways to improve their prospects.

 

In her groundbreaking research project, Prof Lisa Leung Yuk-ming of Lingnan University’s Department of Cultural Studies has taken an in-depth look at the difficulties some groups face in finding work.

 

Titled “Job seeking practices of South Asian youths in Hong Kong - Evaluation of employment support services”, the study focused mainly on jobseekers of Southeast Asian background and the steps needed to enhance their immediate employability and overall prospects.

 

In partnership with the Catholic Diocese of Hong Kong Diocesan Pastoral Centre for Workers - Kowloon, Leung also considered the effectiveness of existing government support mechanisms and how they too could be improved.

 

“The project is important because it fulfils a real need in the community,” says Leung, who received a Knowledge Transfer Excellence Award funded by Lingnan University for exemplary projects under the internal Knowledge Transfer Project Fund.

 

The research methodology included a survey questionnaire, and five focus group interviews. As ethnic minorities comprise less than 8 per cent of Hong Kong’s population, Leung had to find a way to target the community. She did so via “snowball sampling” with the help of five gatekeeper NGOs over a four-month period. “This is an effective way of combining academic work with community engagement,” Leung says.

 

Published late last year, her research findings have been acknowledged by government departments and NGOs. The work has also received widespread media coverage, which has helped to raise public awareness about the kind of difficulties ethnic minority jobseekers often encounter.

 

For instance, Hong Kong employers may not be aware of how unintended bias in job adverts can deter ethnic minority applicants. For example, a high proportion of the job ads are only available in Chinese, including those for jobs which don’t really require a high level of Chinese proficiency.

 

The research also showed that many people from ethnic minorities rely on word-of-mouth job referrals to find work. This results in them becoming “employment stereotyped” for work in just a few sectors, such as the construction industry. And by repeating the same cycle of job seeking and employment, the ethnic minority community also contributes to a downward spiral of “self-stereotyping,” which leads to the belief that these are the only types of jobs they can secure.

 

In addition, the study highlighted how job centres operated by the Labour Department could play a more active role. In particular, they could do more to educate employers, encouraging them to create a more ethnically diverse workplace.

 

“We hope our survey demonstrates some of the complexities ethnic minorities face when looking for jobs,” says Leung, also noting the recommendations to improve the design and delivery of existing government employment support services.

 

These recommendations include allocating a portion of the HK$500 million earmarked for enhancing support for ethnic minorities, which was announced in the 2018-19 Budget. It could be used specifically to enhance employment support services for ethnic minority jobseekers by commissioning NGOs in districts with larger ethnic minority communities to operate integrated employment assistance services.

 

Similar to the Labour Department’s “On the Job Training Programme for People with Disabilities” and the “Employment Programme for the Elderly and Middle-aged,” employers could also be encouraged to launch incentive and support schemes geared towards hiring more ethnic minority jobseekers. A first step could be to offer internships and trial programmes.

 

“With just a few relatively small changes, the job-seeking environment for ethnic minorities could be significantly improved,” says Leung.

 

She adds that the survey also highlighted areas where job training seminars and workshops could be designed to prepare ethnic minorities for Hong Kong’s job market.

 

Another area of Leung’s research involves working with an NGO to organise theatre, music and performance workshops for ethnic minority teenagers.

 

“The participants develop presentation skills and improve their self-esteem and confidence,” she says. “These are important life skills that young people can use in many different situations, regardless of the career paths they follow.”

 

Previously, as a way to raise awareness about the contribution ethnic minorities make to Hong Kong society, Leung, in collaboration with an NGO, researched the family stories of certain individuals living and working in the Tuen Mun district. This initiative culminated in a series of cultural appreciation tours, where members of the public were invited to visit families and businesses operated by ethnic minorities.

 

“By working with community partners, I hope to bring about stronger connections between the University as educator and researcher, and different community stakeholders,” she says.

 

Professor Lisa Leung Yuk-ming enhances ethnic minority’s employability with her award-winning project   Professor Lisa Leung Yuk-ming enhances ethnic minority’s employability with her award-winning project   Professor Lisa Leung Yuk-ming enhances ethnic minority’s employability with her award-winning project