跳到內容
開始內容

專題

長期服務忠誠貢獻 見證嶺大成功故事

長期服務忠誠貢獻 見證嶺大成功故事

嶺大最近頒發長期服務獎予服務達15、20、25、30和35年的同事,以感謝他們多年來對嶺大的忠誠服務和貢獻。今年獲獎的同事共有37位。

 

於總務處工作的陳昌和加入了嶺南大家庭達35年之久,見證嶺南由一所專上學院發展至大學的歷史。「印象最深刻的莫過於初入職時,仍在司徒拔道的嶺南學院正積極籌備升格大學的各樣準備,猶記得當時各崗位上的同事都奮力工作,人人都付出了百份百的信心和努力去成就現在大家所見的大學模樣。」他回憶說。

 

Edmond

鄭國漢校長(右) 恭賀並感謝服務嶺大35載的陳昌和。

 

熱愛足球的他,經常與同事和校隊切磋球技,又或在節日時相約慶祝耍樂,視嶺南為第二個家。「在嶺南,不論崗位和職位,大家都和睦相處無分階級,如一個大家庭一樣。希望這嶺南精神和情誼會延續至後繼的每一代嶺南人。」陳昌和感謝曾經和他在嶺南共事的每一位,並寄語「相知相見,聚散有時,珍惜現在」。

 

Edmond Chan

陳昌和 (後排右六) 熱愛足球,經常與同事和校隊切磋球技。

 

社會科學院院長暨聯益應用心理學講座教授蕭愛鈴教授亦與陳昌和一樣,於嶺南工作了35個寒暑。受老師及當小學教師的母親影響下,蕭教授自小便立志當教師,到差不多修畢碩士學位時,她入職嶺南擔任助理講師。

 

Prof Siu

蕭教授感恩自己的身教,啟發到學生以認真勤奮的態度去學習及從事研究工作。

 

回望自己的學術生涯,蕭教授十分慶幸能找到自己最感興趣的研究範疇—職業壓力,並在其中發光發熱。她除與多位國際著名學者合著論文外,還是國際學術期刊的編輯,又獲史丹福大學評為全球首2%的科學家。最近,蕭教授在 Research.com最佳科學家排行榜中,在心理學領域的中國科學家中排名23。

 

Prof Siu  

蕭教授 (左一) 於1986加入嶺南執教高級程度會考心理學科。相片攝於1987 畢業禮。

 

蕭教授認為現在的學生相對較有創意。「以前,學生往往只跟著老師的指示去找資料及學習,現在變化比較大,這其實是好事,因為這樣他們更有創意,會以不同的形式去做匯報。」她感恩自己的身教,啟發到學生以認真勤奮的態度去學習及從事研究工作,當中亦有些學生繼承了她的衣缽,成為心理學家及學者。「每個新年定有幾名舊生致電給我拜年,這令我十分滿意。」事實上,蕭教授自己也著重「飲水思源」,至今仍不時與她的中學老師聯絡,亦當上其中學母校的校董會成員。

 

 

對在1991年加入嶺大的中文系教授李雄溪教授而言,嶺南宿舍及舍堂教育的發展給予他深刻的感受。「最初宿舍位於掃管笏的軍營,遠離校園,到95 年搬來的時候,有南宿北宿六棟,而今日我們已有十棟宿舍,我很高興能參與這些發展和貢獻當中。」曾任兩宿舍舍監及協理副校長(學生事務)的李教授說。

 

Lee Hung Kai

李教授於1991年加入嶺南。

 

他認為宿舍是博雅教育很重要的組成部分。「住宿可以讓同學學懂溝通技巧、如何跟宿友相處、解決困難的能力等,因為不少『小朋友』自小受到家庭的保護,搬出來後面對困難時,他們就要學習如何解決。宿舍生活亦令他們學懂如何去為他人著想,而且宿舍有來自五湖四海的同學,這可大大擴闊他們的眼界。」就如2004中文系畢業生劉智仁,今天成為出色的婚禮統籌師及司儀,李教授認為是宿舍教育及整個嶺大系統訓練出來的。

 

Lee

李教授認為老師對學生的影響,不一定是在學術上的。

 

李教授一直以韓愈的「傳道、受業、解惑」為其教學理念。「老師對學生的影響,不一定是在學術上的。很多時候學生未必清楚自己的方向,但透過跟他們地相處、交往,令他們確立到自己的路向,這是更重要的。如因我的影響而發展到某些興趣,而該興趣又對他們的個性、人格的成長有貢獻的話,就是成功了。」

 

協理副校長(項目)及市場及國際企業學系教授呂漢光教授加入嶺南前,曾在商界及政府工作。念碩士時接觸到研究工作後,他毅然放棄高薪厚職,踏上研究及教育的工作,轉眼就是30年。「做研究的滿足感遠遠比金錢大。做學者,不論職級如何,大家也可交流。自己的研究在期刊或專著出版、在圖書館找到,是件十分開心的事。」和聯邦儲備局前主席合著書籍、著作被多間海外及本地大學納入教科書或參考書名單,是其中令呂教授最引以為榮的成就。

 

Prof Lui

呂教授加入嶺南前,曾在商界及政府工作。

 

 

教學上,呂教授十分重視學生獨立思考的培訓。「我的課會有辯論環節或匯報,安排題目給學生做研討及分組討論。答案對與錯並不重要,最重要是去讓他們學習自己收集及歸納資料,然後說出他們的意見。意見的對與錯很難判決,因為今日錯,十年後可能是對的,但自己收集資料、分析、作出一個理智、自己認為合理的判斷,這系統永遠可套用在他們的學業及未來的專業道路上。」

 

多年來,呂教授對在學習上有困難的學生多加留意。「事實是,成績好壞也只是學業,而我最要緊是教人。我會花多點精神照顧這些學生,希望他們有更好的出路,而這是其他行業做不到的。當你看到他們畢業,收到他們的問候電郵,你會很欣慰的。」

 

Lui Hon-kwong

呂教授(右一)相信理智判斷的訓練,有助學生學業及未來專業道路上的發展。

 

過去30年,呂教授見證嶺大由教學為主的專上學院,轉型至教學、研究、社會影響力並舉的大學。呂教授亦因為工作崗位的不同,需要減少研究及教學時間以應付行政工作。「希望退休前在嶺大留下多一些足跡,作出多點貢獻。」呂教授說。

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Feature

Long-serving colleagues contribute their best to Lingnan’s success

Long-serving colleagues contribute their best to Lingnan’s success

The University recently presented Long Service Awards to staff members who have worked here for 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years. This year there were 37 colleagues awarded.

 

Edmond Chan Cheong-wo from the Office of the Comptroller joined the Lingnan family 35 years ago, so he has witnessed Lingnan going from a tertiary institute to a university. “The most memorable thing is, when I first joined Lingnan College, which was still on Stubbs Road, it was actively preparing to upgrade to become a university. I still remember how hard all my colleagues worked then, and everyone was 100 per cent confident and focused on developing the university the way it is today,” he recalled.

 

Edmond Chan

President Leonard K Cheng (right) confers award to Edmond for his 35-year service.  

 

A football enthusiast, Edmond often played with colleagues and the school team, and he joined in the big gatherings and parties. He regards Lingnan as his second home. “In Lingnan, regardless of their position or job, everyone lives in harmony and treats others fairly -- like a big family. I hope this Lingnan spirit and friendship will continue to be passed on to each generation of Lingnanians.” Edmond thanked those who worked with him in Lingnan, both those present and those who have left, and said he hopes everyone can “cherish the present”.

 

Edmond Chan    

Edmond (Standing, 6th from right) enjoys playing football with collegues and the school teams. 

 

Prof Siu Oi-ling, Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Lam Woo & Co Ltd Chair Professor of Applied Psychology, has also been with Lingnan for 35 years. Inspired by her teacher and her mother, a primary school teacher, she had aspired to be a teacher since she was a child. When she had almost completed her master’s degree, she joined Lingnan as an assistant lecturer.

 

Prof Siu Oi Ling

Prof Siu is grateful that her conscientiousness and diligent attitude have inspired students to study and engage in research.

 

Looking back on her academic career, Prof Siu believes she was very fortunate to have found the research field -- occupational stress -- that interests her the most and in which she excels. In addition to co-authoring papers with a number of internationally renowned scholars, she is also an editor of an international academic journal. Recently, Prof Siu was ranked in the World’s Top 2% Scientists by Stanford and was named 23rd in Top Scientists in China in Psychology by Research.com.

 

Prof Siu in 1987 

Prof Siu (1st from left) joined Lingnan in 1986 teaching A-level psychology. Photo taken at the graduation in 1987.

 

Prof Siu says that today’s students are more creative than previous generations. “In the past, students often only followed teachers’ instructions to find information and study, but now there are a lot of changes, which is actually a good thing, because they are more creative, always finding new ways to make presentations.” She is grateful that her conscientiousness and diligent attitude have inspired students to study and engage in research. Some students have even followed in her footsteps, and become psychologists or scholars themselves. “Every Chinese New Year, several old students call me with New Year’s greetings, which makes me very satisfied.” In fact, Prof Siu, who believes in “drinking water and thinking of the source”, still keeps in touch with her own secondary school teachers and serving the school as its council member.

 

 

For Prof Lee Hung-kai, a Professor of Chinese who joined Lingnan in 1991, the development of the Lingnan hostels and residential education matter most. “At first, our hostel was temporarily located in the barracks in So Kwun Wat, far away from the campus. When we moved here in 1995, there were six hostel buildings in the south and north quarters of the campus. Today we have 10. I am very happy to have been involved in and to have contributed to this,” said Prof Lee, who has been warden of two hostels and Associate Vice-President (Student Affairs) of LU.

 

Lee Hung Kai

Prof Lee joined Lingnan in 1991.

 

Prof Lee believes that residential education is an important part of a liberal arts education. “Hostel life allows students to learn communication skills, and how to get along with their peers, as well as problem-solving skills. Because many children have always been protected by their families, when they move away from home and face difficulties, they have to learn how to solve them. The hostel life also makes them more considerate, and allows them to meet students from all over the world, thus broadening their horizons.” He regards Tim Lau, a 2004 graduate of the Chinese Department, who has become an excellent wedding planner and emcee, as a role model honed by Lingnan’s residential and entire liberal arts education.

 

Prof Lee Hung Kai

Prof Lee believes that the influence of teachers on students is not necessarily only academic.

 

Ancient Chinese writer Han Yu’s view that a teacher is someone who “transmits knowledge, provides for study and dispels confusion” has been at the centre of Prof Lee’s teaching philosophy. “The influence of teachers on students is not necessarily only academic. In many cases, students may not know which path to follow. It is important to inspire and guide them through engagements and interactions. If they can develop certain interests and hobbies under my influence, and if such interests contribute to the growth of their personalities and characters, then they are successful.”

 

Associate Vice-President (Projects) and Professor at Department of Marketing and International Business Prof Lui Hon-Kwong worked in business and the government before joining Lingnan. After doing research while studying for his master’s degree, he resolutely decided to give up his highly paid job, and has now been with LU for 30 years, concentrating on research and education. “The satisfaction of doing research is far greater than money. As a scholar regardless of rank, everyone can communicate and exchange ideas. It is a great satisfaction to have your research published in journals or monographs and kept in libraries.” Included in his prodigious output, the book he co-authored with a former Federal Reserve chairman, and work mentioned in the reading lists of overseas and local universities are what Prof Lui considers his greatest achievements.

 

Prof Lui

Prof Lui worked in business and the government before joining Lingnan.

 

In teaching, Prof Lui attaches great importance to developing students’ critical thinking. “My classes have debate and presentation sessions, and I arrange topics for students to research for group discussions. It doesn’t matter if their answer is ‘right’ or ‘wrong’; the most important thing is to show them how to learn to collect and summarise information and materials by themselves, and then express their opinions. It is difficult to judge right or wrong, because what may be wrong today may be right in ten years’ time. But the practice of collecting information, analysing it, and making a rational judgment can always be applied in their future studies and careers.”

 

Over the years, Prof Lui has paid more attention to students who have problems with their studies. “The truth is, good or bad grades only apply to academia, and the most important thing for me is to teach them as people. I spend more energy taking care of students who have problems, hoping to help them to shape a brighter future. This is what other professions cannot achieve. When you see them graduate and receive their greeting emails, you are very satisfied.”

 

Prof Lui Hon Kwong

Prof Lui (1st from right) insists that the practice of collecting information, analysing it, and making a rational judgment can always be applied in students' careers.

 

Over the past 30 years, Prof Lui has witnessed the transformation of Lingnan from a teaching-focused tertiary institution into a university that offers quality teaching, research and social impact. And Prof Lui himself has spent less time on research and teaching and more on administrative work due to changing roles and responsibilities. “I hope I can leave more ‘footprints’ at Lingnan University, and make more contributions before I retire,” he said.