跳到內容
開始內容

專題

傑出教學獎得主緊貼學生需要和科技步伐

傑出教學獎得主緊貼學生需要和科技步伐

好的教師對自己的學術領域瞭若指掌,但傑出的教師是真正的教育家,他們緊貼學生的需要,並樂於採用新的教學法和科技。

 

經濟學系助理教授(教學)白格林教授(Gregory Whitten)是2021/22年度傑出教學獎的得主,他說:「我如何利用授課時間,這些年來一直在變化,而不同的課程會按科目內容和線上可用的資源而有所不同。」

 

圖: 傑出新晉老師教學獎得主及服務研習小組成員王沛欣教授。

 

「在多年以前,我會為所有課程製作了詳細的幻燈片,但會在上課前發放一份經過編輯、缺少了重要結論和定義的幻燈片檔,我故意省略了這些材料,目的是希望鼓勵學生自己查閱材料和/或在課堂上留心聽講,因為我會在課堂上發放整套幻燈片。」

 

Whitten

白格林教授

 

然而,白格林教授已經放棄了以幻燈片為主的授課方式,因為他注意到絕大多數學生都只用筆記來學習,不會閱讀原材料甚至是教科書。因此,這些學生不能培養自己綜合資料的能力。同時,電子書和視頻製作軟體等教學技術的發展令學生少了不購買和閱讀教科書的藉口,也讓「翻轉課堂」更容易實施。

 

「現在的課堂錄影確保學生能擁有一份與課堂幻燈片一樣的完整資料。雖然筆記是列印的,而錄影是視聽的,但從長遠來看,後者可以說對學生幫助更大,因為收看錄影要求他們發展英語聆聽方面的理解能力,」他解釋說。

 

白格林教授現在幾乎完全以翻轉課堂的方式授課,他錄製課堂視頻讓學生在自己選擇的時間觀看,並利用課堂時間播放電台新聞故事,要求學生思考和討論故事與該週課堂內容的關係。「即使我不以翻轉課堂為主要的授課模式,我仍然盡可能把新聞故事和時事納入其中。這種做法不僅能透過實際例子讓學生更容易理解抽象的學科內容,而且還鼓勵他們認識香港甚至內地以外的世界。」

 

傑出教學獎今年首設研究生教學組別,得主是市場及國際企業學系崔耕教授,他認為科技在他的研究和教學兩方面都發揮關鍵作用。

 

prof Cui

崔耕教授

 

崔教授說:「早在Moodle和Zoom出現之前,我就採用了互聯網和互動技術協助教學,我為教授的每項課程建立課程網站,以便與學生分享和更新資訊,並在授課時採用了各種混合學習工具,包括視頻、線上學習工具,以及與嘉賓講者現場互動,就新數碼經濟所面臨問題交流看法。這些混合學習及與行業領袖的交流可以將現實世界的景況帶進課堂。」

 

崔教授在電子商貿和社交媒體研究享負盛名,他採用了人工智能和機器學習等創新方法進行研究。教學與研究兼擅的崔教授,不僅與學生分享自己的研究成果,還將他們視為同事一起工作。他說:「我努力成為一個參與型的領導者,讓學生以同事和合作者的身份參與我的研究工作,這樣我可以在一起進行研究時,向他們示範嚴謹的科研程序。」

 

在嶺南大學工作的22年裡,崔教授與他的研究生合撰了19份論文,許多學生從中得到啟發成為學者、研究人員或跨國公司的行政人員。他說:「其實有很多東西是無法從教科書或閱讀中學習的,很多學習都是透過課堂和辦公時間以外的非正式交流進行的。」崔教授總是預留時間讓學生可以與他會面,他經常與學生一起午餐、郊遊及通過社交媒體交流。

 

「我的研究不僅幫助我和學生成為科技的用家,而且能夠探索和管理急劇變化的科技。對於學生的成就,我不敢邀功,但我確曾在他們事業發展的過程發揮了重要作用,」他說。

 

服務研習處總監及服務研習小組的組長高永賢教授及其組員王沛欣教授、Aloysius Wilfred Raj Arokiaraj博士、何逸栢博士和Ng Aik-min博士獲得今年的團隊獎項,高教授說:「將科技與文科結合、將設計思維融入非科技類課程、將創意培訓融入非STEAM課程,這不僅對嶺大這類博雅型大學很重要,對香港和其他地方的所有大學也很重要。」

 

自2017年加入嶺南大學以來,高教授和他的團隊改革大學的服務研習項目,使其更加以學生為中心,更加國際化,並重視其對學生和社區的長遠正面影響。他將學生的解難能力和創業精神視為服務研習項目的重點。

 

Albert Ko

高永賢教授展示其團隊發明「12度口罩」。

 

高教授說:「人道主義技術主要是應用低成本的成熟技術來解決社會問題,這是我們課程的關鍵內容之一,因為它非常切合嶺南大學的博雅教育方向,亦能體現『作育英才.服務社會』的校訓精神。」

 

現時世界上大約有10所大學致力發展人道主義技術,而嶺南大學是其中之一。

 

至於團隊和學生近期的項目,包括為劏房戶提供消毒服務對抗新冠疫情的「紫『礙』線計劃」,設計儲水水缸以解決烏干達農村乾旱問題的Asaqua,以及為聽障人士而設的透明「12度口罩」等,高教授說:「學生善用技術將他們的想法轉化為可行的解決方案,並因此而培養了對創意思維的信心。項目得以成功商業化亦正好證明了團隊的教學理念是有實效的。」。

 

在所有項目和活動中,高教授最喜歡的是聯合人道主義創業夏季學院,因為對學生影響最深遠。該學院包括為期兩周的課堂學習,然後是兩周的實地工作,學生與當地社區一起應對挑戰,共同設計解決方案。過去幾年,該項目已經讓柬埔寨、哈薩克、尼泊爾、烏干達和中國內地的社區受惠。

 

本身是工程師的高教授說:「暑期學院為服務研習創造了新的方向。在此之前,暑期活動通常是將學生送往其他大學或機構進行交流和體驗,但沒有一個用心設計、且具備架構的活動讓學生可以在其他國家和地區解決社會問題、引進人道主義技術和採納共融的商業方案。暑期學院也直接促進和實現了聯合國的可持續發展目標。」

 

科學教研組的耿紅燕博士獲得今年的傑出新晉老師教學獎,她說:「經常有學生問我在博雅大學修讀科學的原因,我的答案是科學教我們理解世界的方法。學生學習科學時,除了知識體系,更重要的是能夠運用科學推理和慎思明辨。」

 

Helen Geng

耿紅燕博士

 

為了將她的教學理念付諸實踐,耿博士制定了一個四步程式,即把科學帶入課室、使學生具備科學推理能力和科學素養、通過學習和生活運用所學知識,以及為社會服務和作出貢獻。「科學是讓我們理解世界的一種方式,但不是唯一的方式。通過與學生分享這一點,正好與大學致力培養學生的慎思明辨和全人發展互相呼應。」

 

王沛欣教授是另一位傑出新晉老師教學獎的得主,也是高永賢教授獲獎團隊成員之一,她認為科學教研組老師的任務是要讓沒有科學背景的學生對科學無所畏懼,並對來學習科學感到興奮,正如王教授所說,這是「很有挑戰性,但也別具意義」。

 

王教授負責「測繪多變世界與電子地圖製作」和「氣候變化與人類健康」兩項課程,她採用了最新的技術,例如以網絡協助測繪地圖、全球定位系統和地理資訊系統,以及資料分析工具,讓學生在處理有關環境和社會的重大問題時,即使未能完全掌握技術,也可以懂得如何操作。王教授的項目「在智慧綠色校園應用網路地理資訊系統(Web GIS)進行智慧學習」以其創新元素和教學成果,獲頒教學發展補助金。

 

「就影響而言,我認為每個學生都是獨一無二的,隨著學生的成長,我自己的世界觀和價值觀也會受到影響。這個教學獎鞏固了我的信念,也驅使我要更加努力工作,繼續探索更多創新的教學工具和機會,包括元宇宙和遊戲式學習,以促進校園和社區的智慧教育和可持續教育,」王教授說。

 

嶺南大學傑出教學獎評審小組由每個學院的教職員和學生代表組成,對候選人和團隊進行評審,並選出優勝者以表彰他們的教學質素、創新能力和成果。

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Feature

Teaching Excellence awardees keep abreast of students’ needs and technology

Teaching Excellence awardees keep abreast of students’ needs and technology

Good teachers certainly know all about their own fields, but excellent teachers are true educators, who keep abreast of their students’ needs, and are willing to adopt new pedagogies and technology.

 

“My use of lecture time has changed over the years, and differs across courses as a function of the subject material and the availability of online resources,” says Prof Gregory Whitten, Assistant Professor of Teaching, Department of Economics, recipient of a Teaching Excellence Award 2021/22.

Photo: Prof Paulina Wong Pui-yun, recipient of the Outstanding Teaching Award for Early Career Faculty and member of the Service-Learning team.

 

“In early years, I created detailed lecture slides for all classes, but released, prior to lectures, an edited slide file where key conclusions and definitions were missing. I omitted such material deliberately to incentivise students to read material on their own and/or to pay attention in lecture when I would reveal the full slides,” he says.

 

Whitten

Prof Gregory Whitten

 

However Prof Whitten has moved away from slide-focused lectures as he has noted that an overwhelming-majority of students use only notes to study and have stopped reading primary material and even textbooks.  Hence, these students do not develop the ability to synthesise information on their own. At the same time, the development of teaching technology such as e-books and video-making software has given students fewer excuses not to buy and read textbooks and made flipped classrooms easier to implement.

 

“Lecture recordings now ensure that students have a complete file of information presented in lectures, comparable to lecture slides. Though notes are printed while recordings are audiovisual, the latter format can, arguably, help students more in the long run as recordings require them to develop listening comprehension skills in English,” he explains.

 

Prof Whitten now delivers classes almost exclusively in a flipped-classroom manner, where he records lecture videos for students to watch in their own time, and spends class time playing radio news stories and asking students to reflect and discuss the story vis-à-vis that week’s lecture content. “Even if I do not conduct a class primarily in a flipped classroom mode, I still incorporate contemporary news stories and current events whenever possible.  This practice not only makes abstract subject content easier to understand with practical examples, it also encourages students to learn about the world outside Hong Kong or even the Mainland,” he says.

 

To Prof Cui Geng, Professor, Department of Marketing and International Business, and winner of the inaugural Postgraduate category in this year’s Awards, technology plays a crucial role both in his research and his teaching.

 

Prof Cui

Prof Cui Geng

 

“Even long before the advent of Moodle and Zoom, I adopted the Internet and interactive technologies for teaching,” Prof Cui says. “I have maintained a course website for each course I have taught to share and update information with the students, and employed various blended learning tools in conducting the classes, including videos, online learning tools, and live interactions with guest speakers to exchange thoughts on issues facing the new digital economy. These practices of blended learning and exchanges with industry leaders brought the real-world contexts to the classroom.”

 

A prominent researcher on e-commerce and social media, Prof Cui has adopted innovative methods such as artificial intelligence and machine learning in his research; as a scholar-teacher, he not only shares his research findings with students, but also works with them as colleagues. “I strive to be a participative leader, involving students in my own research and getting involved in theirs as a colleague and collaborator, so that I can show them the process of rigorous scientific research as we work on these topics together,” he says.

 

In his 22 years at Lingnan, he has co-authored 19 publications with his research postgraduate students, and inspired many to become scholars, researchers or executives at multinational corporations. “Actually there are a lot of things you can’t learn from textbooks or by reading. A lot of learning is informal -- learning outside the classroom, outside office hours -- based on informal conversation.” Prof Cui always makes himself available, and spends time with his students at lunch, on outings, and communicating through social media.

 

“My research helps me and the students, making us not just users of the technology, but thinkers and managers of fast-changing technology. I cannot take credit for the success of my students, but I have played an instrumental role in their career development,” he says.

 

“Infusing technology with liberal arts context, design thinking into a non-technology curriculum, creativity training into non-STEAM programmes, is important, not only to liberal arts universities like Lingnan, but all other local universities in Hong Kong and beyond,” observes Prof Albert Ko, Director, Office of Service-Learning, and leader of the Service-Learning team which received the team category award with members Prof Paulina Wong Pui-yun, Dr Aloysius Wilfred Raj Arokiaraj, Dr Jasper Van Holsteijn and Ng Aik-min.

 

Since joining Lingnan in 2017, Prof Ko and his team have revamped the University’s Service-Learning programme to be more student-centred, internationalised, and focused on long-term positive impact on students and communities, and he places problem-solving and entrepreneurial spirit for students at the core of this.

 

Albert Ko

Prof Albert Ko in his team's invention '12° Masks'.

 

“Humanitarian Technology seeks to apply low-cost mature technology to solve social problems,” Prof Ko says. “It is one of the key elements of our programmes, as it fits Lingnan’s liberal arts education setting and its motto ‘Education for Service’ very well.”

 

There are around 10 universities in the world dedicated to humanitarian technology, and Lingnan is one of them.

 

Referring to some of the latest projects conducted by the team and students, including Project Ultra Violite – disinfection units to combat COVID-19 in subdivided flats, Asaqua – water storage tanks to tackle drought in rural Uganda, and 12° Masks – transparent face masks for the hearing-impaired, Prof Ko says “In these projects, students develop creative confidence as they gain the relevant technological skills in turning their ideas into functioning solutions. The successful commercialisation of projects is a testament to the efficacy of the team’s teaching philosophy,” he adds.

 

Of all his team’s projects and programmes, the Joint Humanitarian Entrepreneurship Summer Academy is Prof Ko’s favourite in terms of impact on students. The Academy consists of two weeks learning in class, followed by two weeks of active field work, where students work with local communities on challenges and co-design solutions. In the past, the programme has benefitted communities in Cambodia, Kazakhstan, Nepal, Uganda, and Mainland China.

 

“The Summer Academy has created a new landscape for Service-Learning. Until now, summer programmes usually sent students to other universities or institutions for exchanges and experience, but there was no well-designed, structured programme for students to address social problems, introduce humanitarian technology and adopt an inclusive business approach in other countries and regions. This promotes and achieves United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals directly too,” Prof Ko, an engineer by training, explains.

 

“I am often asked by students about the reasons for studying science in a liberal arts university,” recipient of Outstanding Teaching Award for Early Career Faculty Dr Helen Geng Hongyan from the Science Unit says. “My answer is that science teaches us a way of understanding our world. When studying science, besides a body of knowledge, it is more important students should be able to reason scientifically and think critically.”

 

Helen Geng

Dr Helen Geng Hongyan

 

To put her teaching philosophy into practice, Dr Geng developed a four-step process, that is, to bring science into the classroom, to equip students with scientific reasoning and literacy, to apply what they have learned by studying and through life, and to serve and contribute to our society. “Science is one way, rather than the only way, to understand our world. By sharing this with students, I echo the critical thinking and the whole-person development that the university strives to achieve.”

 

To Prof Paulina Wong Pui-yun, another recipient of the Outstanding Teaching Award for Early Career Faculty who was also in Prof Albert Ko’s winning team, her mission as a teacher in the Science Unit is to engage students with a non-science background to be fearless about science, and excited about coming here to learn, which is “challenging but rewarding”, as Prof Wong puts it.

 

For her two courses, Mapping Our Changing World, and Climate Change and Human Health, Prof Wong has adopted the latest technologies, such as web-based mapping,

 

GPS, and GIS, as well as data analysis tools for students to manoeuvre if not master technology while addressing key environmental and social issues facing the world. For innovation and teaching outcomes, Prof Wong was awarded the Teaching Development Grant entitled “The Application of Web Geographic Information System (Web GIS) in Students’ Smart Learning on a Smart Green Campus”.

 

“In terms of the impact, I believe each student is unique, and as students grow, my own worldviews and values will also be influenced. The teaching award solidifies my beliefs and inspires me to work even harder, and to look forward to exploring more innovative teaching tools and opportunities, including Metaverse and Game-based Learning, to foster smart and sustainable education on campus and in the community,” Prof Wong says.

 

The LU Teaching Excellence Awards Scheme Selection Panel, comprised of staff and student representatives from each faculty, reviews and selects shortlisted candidates and teams in recognition of their teaching quality, innovativeness and outcomes.