跳到內容
開始內容

专题

定型成见在社会的传播

定型成见在社会的传播

对於人类的社交生活,信息传播是必不可少的。我们过著群体生活,需要依赖信息传播来交换资讯、建立关系,以至创建一个更文明的世界。虽然信息传播能够促进社会和谐,但另一方面亦可以散播负面信息及谣言,甚至令其威力倍增。随著脸书及网上讨论区等社交平台的盛行,网民之间盛传攻击性信息,往往衍生网络欺凌事件。我们如何才能促进社会和谐,而非助长人身攻击?

 

岭大应用心理学系助理教授杨慧兰擅长社会心理学,她致力研究信息传播与定型成见之间的关系。杨教授於2011年加入岭大,先后於2014及2015年获得「优异研究奖励计划之优异研究荣誉表彰」及「研究资助局富布莱特(香港)学人计划之资深研究学人奖」,研究成果获表扬。

 

社会上的信息传播与定型成见的维持

 

杨教授解释:「信息传播是指有两个或以上的沟通者运用言语及非言语的途径来交互沟通。若果这些沟通活动大规模地集体进行,便会促使及维持定型成见。」所谓的定型成见是指我们普遍对社会上某些群体持有某种看法和期望。定型成见可以是正面的、中性的或负面的,但很不幸我们社会上多充斥著负面的定型成见。杨教授以中国内地与香港之间的矛盾为例,进一步解释负面的定型成见是怎样自我延续及维持:「香港市民反内地的情绪愈趋严重,港人一般对内地游客和新来港人士持负面的定型观念。在日常生活沟通中,人们往往会倾向传递一些跟既有成见吻合的讯息,这样便逐渐加深并维持了对内地人士的负面成见,由中港矛盾衍生的贬义词汇就是最佳证明。」

 

在文化冲突中,定型成见发挥一定的影响力;然而,就算你不熟悉某人的背景,也会很容易单凭其体型外貌来建构第一印象,从而产生定型成见。为了解肥胖体型怎样影响第一印象,杨教授做了一个有趣的实地测试,观察人们如何产生、传承以至散播对肥胖人士的负面印象。这实验仿效传统派对游戏「以讹传讹」,以模拟我们在社交网络传递信息的过程。首先在街上随意告诉一位市民关於某肥胖人士的虚构故事,然后请他把故事转述予另一个人,故事阐述了这个肥胖人士的一些资料,有的是跟肥胖体型成见吻合的,有些是不吻合的,也有些是中性的。聆听者根据所接收的信息再转告另一个人,直至故事内容传抵最后一人。究竟他们会怎样传递信息,又会在传递过程中遗漏了甚么资讯呢?杨教授发现,大部分参与者不但强调负面的资讯,甚至夸大并捏造某些不良的资讯。杨教授指出:「实验结果显示,沟通者单凭故事主角是一名肥胖人士,便倾向传达那些与肥胖有关的负面信息,而省略了其他与肥胖无关但重要的信息,这样的信息传播偏差加深了我们对肥胖人士的定型成见」。

 

减少定型成见和偏见

 

「教育能够让我们了解个人差异,减少定型成见和偏见。岭大课程蕴含服务研习元素,让学生与多元背景的人士进行跨文化互动;有助学生明白每个人都是独特的个体,我们无须以其所属群体去定型或区分。」杨教授特别强调社交接触和沟通的重要性,因为这是改善人际关系和减少偏见的最佳方法。「我们为本科生开办了『人际关系与人际交往技巧』的通识教育课,旨在提高同学的人际交往及沟通能力,促进社交和谐」,杨教授希望引导学生欣赏社会的多样性。

 

杨教授致力探讨有关定型成见的专题,她计划进行一些新的研究项目,例如不同文化对定型成见的表达和体会。「人们只基於单一特徵例如外貌、性别或职业已经可以产生成见、偏见甚至歧视。」她希望自己的研究能令人们对定型成见及其改变有更深入的认知。

Promotes Social Harmony   Social Harmony

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Feature

Communication of stereotypes in society

Communication of stereotypes in society

Communication is essential to the social life of human beings.  We, as in a group-living habitat, rely on it for exchanging information, building relationships and creating a more civilised world.  While communication adds value to social harmony, on the other hand, messages with negative connotations or rumours sustain or even power up through ongoing propagation.  Arising from prevalence of online social platforms such as Facebook and discussion forums, cyber-bullying is typical yet devastative result of disseminating offensive messages across netizens.  What can we do to promote social harmony, instead of generating unpleasant personal insults?

 

Possessing her expertise in social psychology, Prof Victoria Yeung Wai-lan, Assistant Professor in the Department of Applied Psychology, is dedicated to investigate the relationship between communication and stereotypes.  She joined the University in 2011, winning the Honourable Mention Award in the Research Excellence Award Scheme and the Fulbright - RGC Hong Kong Senior Research Scholar Award in 2014 and 2015 respectively for her research endeavours.

 

Communication and maintenance of stereotypes in society

 

“Communication, the verbal and nonverbal interaction between two or more interdependent individuals, would contribute to the maintenance of stereotypes if conducted at a large collective level.” Prof Yeung further explained that stereotypes are socially shared beliefs and expectations we hold about certain social groups. Stereotypes can actually be positive, neutral, and negative.  Unfortunately, most stereotypes circulating in our society carry negative connotations.  To explain the stereotypes’ self-perpetuating cycle of maintenance, she quoted the Mainland China-Hong Kong conflict as an example, “there are increasing anti-Mainland sentiments among Hong Kong people.  Hong Kong people in general hold negative stereotypes of Mainland Chinese tourists and immigrants.  During daily life communication, people tend to communicate information that is consistent rather than inconsistent with the existing stereotypes.  Such communication activities gradually reinforce and maintain the negative stereotypes of Mainlanders.  This can also be reflected by the use of various derogatory terms to describe the Mainlanders.”

 

While stereotype plays its role in cultural conflicts, it emerges even if you grasp nothing about a person’s background but only his or her physical appearance.  We can easily form immediate impression of others based on their body shapes and types.  To understand how weight stereotype affects our first impression, Prof Yeung has conducted an interesting field experiment on how people develop, inherit and propagate impressions on an unfamiliar overweight individual.  Resembling a traditional party game “The Broken Telephone”, it showed random people on the street with a fictitious story about an overweight man and had them verbally reproduced the story to another person.  The story consisted of comprehensive attributes which were either consistent, neutral or inconsistent to typical stereotypes on obesity.  Based on the reproduced message, the listener carried on to tell the story to the next person until the tale reached the last person.  So, what could they recall and what had they omitted?  It came to Prof Yeung’s attention that not only did most participants emphasise the negative traits but they even exaggerated or made up the unfavourable connotations.  “The results showed us how communication maintains and reinforces the negative stereotypes of obese people, as communicators tend to transmit the obesity-related stereotypical information and drop out the counter-stereotypical information,” said Prof Yeung, explaining how the experiment simulated the process of information transmission in our social networks.

 

Reducing stereotyping and prejudice

 

“Education can enhance our understanding of individual differences, reduce stereotyping and prejudice. The service-learning element in Lingnan’s curriculum exposes students to multicultural interactions with people from diverse backgrounds, and helps students realise that individuals are unique idiosyncratic entities that are not necessarily defined by group stereotypes,” she pointed out the importance of social contact and communication as the best way to improve human relations and reduce prejudice.  “We offer a general education course entitled ‘Human Relationship and Interpersonal Skills in Organisations’ for undergraduates, aiming at brushing up our students’ interpersonal and communication skills which are conducive to social harmony.” Prof Yeung hopes to instill in her students a sense of appreciation towards diversity in society.

 

Devoted to exploring topics on stereotypes, Prof Yeung is planning to conduct some new research projects like cross-cultural differences in the expression and experience of stereotypes.  “Bias, prejudice and even discrimination could happen primarily based on a single cue such as physical appearance, gender, or occupation” she hopes her research would help people gain insights into stereotypes and stereotype change.

Promotes Social Harmony   Social Harmony