跳到內容
開始內容

合作計劃

嶺大與牛津大學赫特福德學院合辦國際研究生暑期班

嶺大與牛津大學赫特福德學院合辦國際研究生暑期班

嶺大與牛津大學赫特福德學院合辦的國際研究生暑期班於6月26日在嶺大校園展開。為期三星期的暑期班旨在為學者及研究生提供一個發表重要研究成果,以及分享研究實務和檢視重要的方法論議題的平台。

 

首星期的暑期班在嶺大進行,隨後兩星期的課程則會於牛津大學赫特福德學院進行。暑期班吸引了來自本港及區內不同大學的研究生及學者參與。

 

暑期班與亞洲及英國的頂尖院校合作,為來自世界不同地區的研究生提供機會,和有共同研究興趣的夥伴建立聯繫,並向世界知名的學者學習,豐富他們的研究經驗。暑期班的其他合辦機構包括台灣國立中正大學、北京大學、華南理工大學、中山大學、寧波諾丁漢大學以及浙江大學。

 

嶺大副校長兼林文贊比較政策講座教授莫家豪教授在致歡迎辭時指出,透過到訪如牛津大學等國際頂尖大學,以及與區內頂尖學府的學者及學生作學術交流,對於豐富研究生的學習經驗相當重要。

 

暑期班的首天舉行了「跨學科研究的方法論議題研討會」,讓資深的研究人員一起討論一些跨學科研習的重要議題,豐富了參加者在傳統科學為本的學術探索以外的視野。

 

來自英國橋劍大學的教育社會學教授Susan Robertson教授在研討會上以「從不同學科看社會世界的挑戰及他們傾向使用的方法論」為題作演講,而布里斯托大學教育學教授Roger Dale教授則以「從『零基』方法到比較教育」為題作介紹。莫家豪教授接著分享了他有關「智慧城市、創新及創業在香港:個案研究」的文章,並審視了香港政府推動創新、創意及創業的主要政策及策略。莫教授又檢視了創新及科技局的成立,對推動大學的知識轉移,以及香港和深圳在發展落馬洲河套地區上的合作。

 

為表彰Roger Dale教授在批判教育研究方面的卓越學術成就,研討會舉行了一個簡單儀式,由之前曾經與Roger Dale教授共事的學者分享Roger Dale教授如何影響他們的學術和研究工作。

 

在嶺大進行的一星期暑期班課程包括一系列有關各種研究和方法論議題的工作坊,以及學生的簡佈會、參觀訪問和其他聯誼活動。

Postgraduate Summer School

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Engagements

Lingnan University and Hertford College of the University of Oxford co-host International Postgraduate Summer School

Lingnan University and Hertford College of the University of Oxford co-host International Postgraduate Summer School

The International Postgraduate Summer School co-hosted by Lingnan University and Hertford College of the University of Oxford commenced on 26 June on Lingnan's campus.  The three-week Summer School aims to provide a platform for scholars and research postgraduate students to present their major research findings, share research practices and reflect upon essential methodological issues.

 

The first week of the Summer School is conducted at Lingnan University followed by a two-week programme at Hertford College, University of Oxford.  It attracted the participation of students and faculty members from different universities in Hong Kong and the region.

 

In collaboration with leading institutions in Asia and the UK, the Summer School offers the opportunity for students across different parts of the globe to establish their own research clusters with others who have shared research interests and to learn from world-renowned scholars to enrich their research experiences.  Other co-organisers of the Summer School include National Chung Cheng University, Peking University, South China University of Technology, Sun Yat-sen University, The University of Nottingham, Ningbo and Zhejiang University.

 

In his welcoming remarks, Prof Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Vice-President and Lam Man Tsan Chair Professor of Comparative Policy pointed out the importance of enhancing postgraduate students’ learning experience through international visit to leading universities like University of Oxford and engaging in academic exchanges with scholars and fellow students from leading institutions in the region.

 

On the first day of the Summer School, the Symposium on Methodological Issues in Interdisciplinary Research was held.  It brought together experienced researchers to discuss some critical issues on interdisciplinary studies which enriched participants’ horizons from traditional discipline-based academic exploration.

 

Prof Susan Robertson, Professor of Sociology of Education, The University of Cambridge delivered a presentation on “The Challenge of Looking at Social Worlds through Disciplines and their Preferred Methodologies” at the Symposium, while Prof Roger Dale, Professor of Education, The University of Bristol presented on the topic “Towards a ‘Zero-based’ Approach to Comparative Education”.  Prof Joshua Mok Ka-ho then shared his recent research related to “Smart City, Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Hong Kong: A Case Study Approach”, examining the Hong Kong government’s major policies and strategies to promote innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship.  He also reviewed the establishment of the Innovation and Technology Bureau which promotes  knowledge transfer in universities, and the collaboration between Hong Kong and Shenzhen for the development of the Lok Ma Chau Loop.

 

To celebrate the significant academic achievements of Prof Roger Dale in critical educational studies, a ceremony was held with scholars who have worked with him before. They shared how Prof Dale’s works have influenced their academic and research careers.

 

The one-week programme at Lingnan University also includes a series of workshops on various research and methodological issues, as well as student presentations, field visits and social activities.

Postgraduate Summer School